Flair for Care benefit supports Nathan Adelson Hospice

American designer Monique Lhuillier was the special guest during A Flair for Care, the annual Neiman Marcus benefit for Nathan Adelson Hospice. The event took place May 3 at Wynn Las Vegas’ Lafite Ballroom and drew a capacity crowd.

The affair started at 10:30 a.m. with socializing and Champagne. Guests could buy opportunity tickets for $25 apiece, which offered 64 items by well-known designers, vacations to far-away places, fine dining, jewelry, rounds of golf and show tickets.

Gold tickets were $100 each, which included a chance to win one of 19 packages, such as gold bracelets, dinner and two-night stay at the Montage Laguna Beach, and VIP tickets for Aerosmith, Billy Joel, Jimmy Buffett and Katy Perry concerts.

The 10 Platinum tickets sold for $250 each. They offered a Chanel handbag, a custom-made suit from David August, a $5,000 gift certificate from Van Cleef &Arpels, two tickets to “The Voice: Season 7” and lunch for 10 at Neiman Marcus with fashion critic Cojo.

Guests were seated for a three-course luncheon and Susan Molasky, co-chairwoman of A Flair for Care, spoke about Nathan Adelson Hospice providing services to 3,086 patients in their home or in one of its inpatient facilities in 2013.

The luncheon’s special guest was Lhuillier, who is known for her couture bridal gowns, but for this occasion the fashion show featured her ready-to-wear collection and evening gowns.

Other speakers were Cari Marshall, who talked about the care hospice gave her late mother, Jayn Marshall; and Carole Fisher, president and CEO of Nathan Adelson Hospice. There was also comedy from TV star Brad Garrett and Cojo.

Event co-chairwomen were Jane Schorr, Sharon Jenkins and Beth Weinberger, and Nancy Nichols of Neiman Marcus.

Guests included Dena duBoef, Elaine Newton, Sue Sullivan, JoAnn Sturm, Jody Ghanem, Daryl Sullivan, Audrey Fredericks, Virginia Silveria, Linda Chambliss, Julie Gleason, Phyllis Binion, Madeleine Andress, Donna Cloobeck, Sonja Saltman, Wendy Plaster, Linda Richardson, Michael Shulman, Robyne Townsend, Flora Mason, Susan Graves, Arlene Mack, Catherine Schell, Barbara Stout, Hope Anstett, Josie Snow, Matt Novak, Stephanie Youngblood, Nancy Houssels, Caty Crockett, Mariam Afshai, Debbie Swissman, Beth Barbre, Irwin Molasky, Diane Bennett, Charli Carter, Peggy Sanders, Heidi Straus, Julie Thompson and Art Marshall.

■ Ladybug Ball: The fifth annual Ladybug Ball benefiting Nevada Blind Children’s Foundation took place May 3 at Red Rock Resort. The ball raises funds to expand educational programs for pre-elementary students and for after-school tutoring aiding children with visual impairments reach their full potential.

A record 460 guests supported the reception’s silent auction where vocalist Nike White entertained. Nike was born blind. She started singing at age 3 at Calvary Chapel in Las Vegas. She graduated with honors from the Las Vegas Academy and today is a senior at UNLV and a member of Phi Kappa Phi. Nike inspired the cultural programs for the Blind Children’s Foundation.

Masters of ceremonies were Kim and Dana Wagner, news anchors for KSNV-TV, Channel 3.

The Ladybug Ball 2014 honorees were Dina and Don Giancursio. Don is the CEO for UnitedHealthcare in Nevada. The Giancursios have lived in Nevada since 1996, and have strongly supported Nevada Blind Children’s Foundation since its inception.

The dinner was carefully orchestrated by Joseph Lelbowitz, executive sous chef at Wynn Las Vegas and Encore. Other participating chefs were Rick Moonen, chef/owner of rm seafood and Rx Boiler Room; Gerald Chin, executive chef of StripSteak; and Jaret Blinn, executive pastry chef at Red Rock Resort. Selected wines from Southern Wine &Spirits accompanied each course.

The live auction for 10 packages was conducted by Christian Kolberg and raised $46,650. Nashville, Tenn., recording artist and songwriter Susie Brown entertained on the guitar playing bluegrass and country music. Dancing concluded the evening.

Seen enjoying the ball were Mary Kaye Cashman, Jeff Yearick, Angela Silva, Elizabethclare Hunt, Sam Lewes, Ali Roesener, Elaine Roesener, Karen and Morgan Cashman, Staci Garcia, Michelle Konstantarakis, Franz Kallao, Stacy Wedding, Thomas McGrath, Georgette Cohen, Patricia and Mike Morrissey, Linda Maneen, Leslie Jones, along with Lori Moroz-White, executive director of the organization, and Robert Anderson, board president.