CARSON CITY — State officials say they will miss the Legislature’s April 1 deadline to begin accepting applications from medical marijuana providers and growers.
Marla McDade-Williams of the state Health Division said regulations must be approved before the agency can accept applications.
“We may have staff on board April 1, but we’re looking to the summer before we can open requests for applications,” she told the Nevada Appeal.
Williams, who will manage the program for the Health Division, said she doubts the state will license facilities to provide patients with medical marijuana until September or October.
After the division writes the regulations, they must be approved by the state Board of Health and the Legislative Commission. They also must be reviewed by the Legislative Counsel Bureau.
Once the regulations win approval, Williams said, applicants have 30 days to submit paperwork to become a cultivator; manufacturer of marijuana-based products such as edibles; testing lab; or dispensary. The state then has a 90-day period to review applications.
Although Nevada voters approved a constitutional amendment allowing medical marijuana in 2000, patients had no legal way to obtain the drug.
The Legislature this year established a system for dispensing medical marijuana to patients with a state-issued card.