Southern Nevada Home Builders announces 2011 president, officers

The Southern Nevada Home Builders Association installed its 2011 slate of officers and directors during an installation and awards luncheon Tuesday at the Four Seasons Hotel. Southwest Gas Corp. sponsored the event.

Effective Jan. 1, Frank Wyatt of Pinnacle Home is president of the 350-member trade group; Greg Oberling of Warmington Residential is first vice president; and Scott Wright of Pulte Homes is second vice president.

Wyatt established Pinnacle Homes in Las Vegas in 1992. He has been an active member of the association since 1982 when he was a consulting engineer for SEA Engineers.

Diana Bossard of B2 Development Services continues as the association's treasurer; and Tony Stipanov of Southwest Gas Corp., continues as secretary in 2011.

The builder members on the board of directors are: Ernie Belair, Belair Homes; Mark Bivins, Inspiration Homes; Don Boettcher, Dunhill Homes, Rocky Cochran, Pardee Homes; Clinton M. Cox, Meritage Homes; Rob McGibney, KB Home; Frank Pankratz, EHB Cos.; Jeremy Parness, Lennar Homes; Brian Plaster, Signature Homes; and Tom Warden, The Howard Hughes Corp.

The associate members on the board are: Barbara Baird, B2 Developer Services; Jim Fitch, Cox Communications; David Goldstein, GeoTek; Ed Lubbers, Lubbers & Borg; Robert Sprague, Sustainable Energy Services; Ken Williams of CAMCO; and Darren Wilson, Sierra Air Conditioning.

These elected board members, along with the officers, the senior directors and past presidents, constitute the board of directors. Board members Cindy Bowen of R/S Development and David McEntire of Amstar Homes become senior directors in 2011. They have served on the board seven consecutive years and no longer need to run for re-election.

During the event, SNHBA's outgoing 2010 President Nat Hodgson of Pulte Homes presented several awards.

The Builder Member of the Year Award went to Wyatt of Pinnacle, and the Associate Member of the Year Award went to Baird, for "outstanding service to the association and the industry."

President's Special Awards for Outstanding Service to the community and/or industry went to Congresswoman Dina Titus, Clark County Commissioner Rory Reid, County Manager Virginia Valentine; State Contractors Board Executive Director Margi Grein; local building officials Ron Lynn of Clark County, Mike Bouse of Henderson, Chris Knight of Las Vegas and Greg Blackburn of North Las Vegas; and Janet Love of KB Home.

The 2010 Builder Spike Award for membership recruitment went to Hodgson as the builder member who recruited the most new members this year; there was a tie for the Associate Spike Award, which went to Karen Kelly of WestCor Cos., and David Fortner of American Clay Stabilization.

Founded in 1953 by 12 local home builders and incorporated with the state of Nevada in 1954, the Southern Nevada Home Builders Association ranks as the oldest and largest local trade organization representing the residential construction industry. Its members work in all facets of the home-building industry.


Rules for posting comments

Comments posted below are from readers. In no way do they represent the view of Stephens Media LLC or this newspaper. This is a public forum. Read our guidelines for posting. If you believe that a commenter has not followed these guidelines, please click the FLAG icon next to the comment.