Field set for PBR World Cup in Las Vegas

The Professional Bull Riders, Inc. is heading to Las Vegas for the 2010 World Cup presented by Dickies, the PBR’s premiere international event. For three days only, fans will see 25 of the best bull riders in the world, as they go head-to-head for $200,000 in prize money and find out who is the best bull riding nation in the world!

Being held on U.S. soil for the first time, the PBR will take over the Thomas & Mack Center on 8 p.m. Friday, 6 p.m. Saturday and 11:30 a.m. Sunday. Fans will witness world-class bull riding during six rounds of action over the course of three days, with all 25 riders competing in each round. This means that fans will have the opportunity to watch at least 50 show-stopping rides each night!

The top three scores for each country in each round will count toward the team total. The team accumulating the most points during the six rounds will be declared the winner and walk away as the best bull riders in the world.

Confirmed Team USA members include: current #1 in the PBR world standings Austin Meier (Kinta, Okla.), McKennon Wimberly (Cool, Texas), Mike Lee (Decatur, Texas), last year’s Team USA star Ryan McConnel (Colgate, Okla.) and Travis Briscoe (Edgewood, N.M.).

The final Canadian team will include Devon Mezei (Scandia, Alberta, Canada), Tyler Thomson (Black Diamond, Alberta, Canada), Vince Northrop (Davidson, Saskatchewan, Canada), Aaron Roy (Asquith, Saskatchewan, Canada) and Scott Schiffner (Strathmore, Alberta, Canada).

Team Brazil will be comprised of Guilherme Marchi (Leme, SP, Brazil), Renato Nunes (Buritama, SP, Brazil), Silvano Alves (Pilar do Sul, SP, Brazil), along with Robson Palermo (Rio Branco, Acre, Brazil) and Paulo Ferreira (Bezerros, PE, Brazil). Brazil was forced to replace Valdiron de Oliveira (Aparecida de Goiania, GO, Brazil) who is projected to miss the next few months with a shoulder injury.

Brothers Jared and Pete Farley (Kempsey, NSW, Australia) will make up the Australian squad, along with Australian-born Ben Jones (Sunset, Texas), David Kennedy (Kyogle, Australia), and Brendon Clark (Morpeth, Australia).

Team Mexico includes Francisco Morales (Jrapunto, Gua, Mexico), Nile LeBaron (Chihuahua, Mexico) and Lorenzo Rios (Guanajuato, Mexico), who join Rocky McDonald (Colonia Juárez, Chihuahua, Mexico) and Gustavo Pedrero (Jalisco, Mexico). Hugo Pedrero (Leon, Mexico) could not accept Team Mexico’s invitation to participate in the 2010 World Cup due to injuries.

Ticket prices start at $22 and can be purchased online at or at the Thomas & Mack Center box office.