UNLV shares glory when team awards are handed out

UNLV football coach Bobby Hauck shared the glory when handing out awards at the football team banquet Sunday night at the South Point Hotel.

Six players shared the most valuable player awards: quarterback Caleb Herring and wide receiver Devante Davis on offense, linebacker Tani Maka and safety Peni Vea on defense, and defensive back David Greene and linebacker Marc Philippi on special teams.

Herring and running back Tim Cornett shared shared the Bill “Wildcat” Morris Most Inspirational Award.

Defensive tackle Alex Klorman and receiver Maika Mataele shared the “Doc” Tobler Senior Award.

Other awards went to defensive tackle Tyler Gaston, the Rene Arceneaux Award for academic progress; linebacker Tim Hasson, the Robert Cline Award for the senior who demonstrated a strong commitment to the team, university and community; and linebacker Dominic Morales, the Jack Gilmore Coaches Award for a walk-on player who excelled on the field.


Rules for posting comments

Comments posted below are from readers. In no way do they represent the view of Stephens Media LLC or this newspaper. This is a public forum. Read our guidelines for posting. If you believe that a commenter has not followed these guidelines, please click the FLAG icon next to the comment.


Due to an increase in uncivil behavior and dialogue the Review-Journal has temporarily disabled the comment boards. The Review-Journal will use the time to evaluate the effectiveness of the comment boards and find an appropriate time to reintroduce them to reviewjournal.com.