42nd World Series of Poker will begin last day of May

The 42nd World Series of Poker will begin on May 31 with the first of a record 58 bracelet events, culminating with the tournament’s world championship match in July.

The first event will be the first-ever $25,000 buy-in Heads-Up No Limit Hold’em Championship that will be open to a maximum of 256 players.

No limit hold’em events with buy-ins of $1,500 on Saturdays and $1,000 on Sundays will be held throughout June.

The tournament takes place at the Rio, using the resort’s 58,000-square-foot Pavilion Room and the 38,000-square-foot Amazon Room. The final number of tables in play is subject to regulatory approval, but is expected to be similar to the 370 that were utilized in 2010.

The $10,000 buy-in No Limit Hold’em World Championship Main Event begins at noon on July 7, the first of four starting days running through July 10. Players will compete until July 19, when the final table of nine is determined.

The nine players will return to the Rio on Nov. 5-7 to play for the championship title.

Last year’s Main Event drew a field of 7,319 players and was won by Jonathan Duhamel, a little-known professional from Canada who collected more than $8.9 million.

The 2010 World Series of Poker drew a record 72,966 entrants to 57 events with a prize pool of more than $187.1 million.

Contact reporter Howard Stutz at hstutz@reviewjournal.com or 702-477-3871.

News Headlines
Home Front Page Footer Listing
You May Like

You May Like