66°F
weather icon Clear

Home cookin’ — under the sun

Four chefs show us their outdoor kitchens, offer cooking advice.

4 chefs show us their outdoor kitchens, offer cooking advice

When buying or building a home, chefs pay a lot of attention to the kitchen. In the Las Vegas Valley, many chefs spend as much time cooking outdoors as they do in the house. So as we head into the fall backyard barbecue season, we asked a few of Las Vegas’ top chefs to show us their backyard cooking setups. They also shared some al fresco culinary tips for home cooks.

John Courtney, chef of Block 16 at The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas hotel-casino, pulls out a red ...
John Courtney, chef of Block 16 at The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas hotel-casino, pulls out a red snapper from his pizza oven in his backyard in Las Vegas, Monday, Aug. 12, 2019. (Rachel Aston/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @rookie__rae

John Courtney

Executive chef, Block 16 Urban Food Hall

Backyard setup: Wood-burning pizza oven, robata grill, pellet grill and “an old-school Weber”

You do get flashpoints (with outdoor cooking) that you don’t get in traditional ovens. So you have to be careful about that.

A red snapper cooks in a pizza oven in the backyard of John Courtney, chef of Block 16 at The C ...
A red snapper cooks in a pizza oven in the backyard of John Courtney, chef of Block 16 at The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas hotel-casino, at his home in Las Vegas, Monday, Aug. 12, 2019. (Rachel Aston/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @rookie__rae

“When we built our backyard we were able to extend part of it and give us a seating area. That was what my wife asked. She wanted a seating area, and I wanted a kitchen. And I knew I wanted something wood-fired. So my dad and I went to L.A. and found this place Wildwood Ovens. And this was the largest oven he produces. It came in two crates to the house and then we lugged it all the way back here and … put the thing together, fired it, cured it and then had my tile guy come back and match the tile.”

Advice for home cooks: “You do get flashpoints (with outdoor cooking) that you don’t get in traditional ovens. So you have to be careful about that. When you’re adding charcoal or adding wood, how is your temperature changing? What is it doing to your food? And if you do happen to go with wood-fired, cover things. It never hurts to cover things up once in a while and let them continue to (cook), and then finish them and crisp them up.”

John Courtney, chef of Block 16 at The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas hotel-casino, center, gets hel ...
John Courtney, chef of Block 16 at The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas hotel-casino, center, gets help from his friend Eric Ilhuillier, left, while cooking lunch in his backyard in Las Vegas, Monday, Aug. 12, 2019. (Rachel Aston/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @rookie__rae


Rick Moonen, a celebrity chef known for his expertise in seafood and early adoption of sustaina ...
Rick Moonen, a celebrity chef known for his expertise in seafood and early adoption of sustainable fishing practices, speaks to the Review-Journal about his outdoor kitchen in front of his pizza oven in his backyard in Las Vegas, Monday, Aug. 12, 2019. (Rachel Aston/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @rookie__rae

Rick Moonen

Master development chef, Perry’s Steakhouse & Grill

Backyard setup: Wood-burning pizza oven, smoker, gas-fueled paella pan, fire pit with cauldron, two propane burners.

The No. 1 fear or concern, when cooking fish on a grill, is stickage. So obviously you want to have a grill that’s hot.

A cauldron in the backyard of Rick Moonen, a celebrity chef known for his expertise in seafood ...
A cauldron in the backyard of Rick Moonen, a celebrity chef known for his expertise in seafood and early adoption of sustainable fishing practices, in Las Vegas, Monday, Aug. 12, 2019. (Rachel Aston/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @rookie__rae

“I always wanted a pizza oven, so that’s the center of attention. That’s always been a dream of mine because I love to burn wood. … And the cauldron, I found it online, it was cheap. But then I had to season it. So I had to start fires to start to get this black coating on the inside of it. And I used animal fat to do that. So I made my own bacon in there, all kinds of stuff. And once I got it seasoned, I can leave it outdoors.”

Advice for home cooks: “The No. 1 fear or concern, when cooking fish on a grill, is stickage. So obviously you want to have a grill that’s hot. You want to brush (the grill) just before you put anything on it. Rub a little bit of oil on it with a rag — don’t go using that spray because that’s extremely dangerous. But coat your fish with flavored mayonnaise. Take mayonnaise and season it with sriracha or cumin or coriander, fennel, whatever you want to put on there. Brush that on. Put it down on a grill that’s hot, you just lay it down there and leave it there. And then it forms those carbon lines, and you just roll it over.”

Rick Moonen, a celebrity chef known for his expertise in seafood and early adoption of sustaina ...
Rick Moonen, a celebrity chef known for his expertise in seafood and early adoption of sustainable fishing practices, shows the Review-Journal his cauldron in his backyard in Las Vegas, Monday, Aug. 12, 2019. (Rachel Aston/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @rookie__rae


Hubert Keller, chef of Fleur de Lys and Fleur, cuts a rotisserie chicken in his backyard kitche ...
Hubert Keller, chef of Fleur de Lys and Fleur, cuts a rotisserie chicken in his backyard kitchen in Las Vegas, Thursday, Aug. 15, 2019. (Rachel Aston/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @rookie__rae

Hubert Keller

Chef/owner, Fleur by Hubert Keller, Burger Bar

Backyard setup: Custom-built wood-burning oven, gas barbecue grill, “off-the-shelf” smoker

When we bought the house about 10 years ago, the first two years I never used the barbecue.

Hubert Keller, chef of Fleur de Lys and Fleur, prepares his Forno Piombo wood burning oven in h ...
Hubert Keller, chef of Fleur de Lys and Fleur, prepares his Forno Piombo wood burning oven in his backyard kitchen in Las Vegas, Thursday, Aug. 15, 2019. (Rachel Aston/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @rookie__rae

“When we bought the house about 10 years ago, the first two years I never used the barbecue. Because I had never had the chance to use a barbecue before in my life. So it’s kind of funny, as a chef, saying that. But it’s true. And I got into it, got involved in it. And now, when I want to sit with my wife, 85 or 90 percent of the time that’s what I use to cook anything.”

Advice for home cooks: “First, heat up your barbecue. And then just clean it. It doesn’t (require) much maintenance. But when it’s really getting hot, I just brush it down. That’s the first thing. And then, things like a chicken breast or a steak, when you marinade them or you have them in oil, try to take some off the oil off. Because that’s the first thing that’s going to drip into your barbecue and set the whole thing on fire. And then, of course, it’s going to burn. So wipe it off. Just have a thin layer of oil on it. And then barbecue really hot and sear it.”

Hubert Keller, chef of Fleur de Lys and Fleur, pours rosŽ n his backyard kitchen in Las V ...
Hubert Keller, chef of Fleur de Lys and Fleur, pours rosŽ n his backyard kitchen in Las Vegas, Thursday, Aug. 15, 2019. (Rachel Aston/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @rookie__rae


Matt Silverman, chef for HEXX Kitchen + Bar, in his backyard kitchen in Las Vegas, Wednesday, A ...
Matt Silverman, chef for HEXX Kitchen + Bar, in his backyard kitchen in Las Vegas, Wednesday, Aug. 14, 2019. (Rachel Aston/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @rookie__rae

Matt Silverman

Chef/restaurateur, Hexx, Alexxa’s, Beer Park, Big Chicken, Chayo Mexican Kitchen

Backyard setup: Gas grill with rotisserie, counter-top wood-fired pizza oven, smoker, sink, refrigerator. Island with storage for knives, utensils, etc. Garden with three beds for herbs, lettuce and vegetables, assorted fruit trees and grape vines.

I have a salad spinner out here, so I can do the lettuce. You can do everything out here and never have to go inside.

Matt Silverman, chef for HEXX Kitchen + Bar, prepares rotisserie lamb on flat bread with tzatzi ...
Matt Silverman, chef for HEXX Kitchen + Bar, prepares rotisserie lamb on flat bread with tzatziki sauce in his backyard kitchen in Las Vegas, Wednesday, Aug. 14, 2019. (Rachel Aston/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @rookie__rae

“I’ve seen plenty that are much more fancy than this in town. But this I designed it to flow and to work and to actually cook and to have fun. I can pick the herbs and the vegetables here, wash them. I have a salad spinner out here, so I can do the lettuce. You can do everything out here and never have to go inside.”

Advice for home cooks: “The best piece of equipment (is) that countertop pizza oven. You can use it for everything. Pizza is probably 10 percent of what I put in there. My paella pan fits in there. I do all the roasted vegetables, roasted meats, every single thing.”

Matt Silverman, chef for HEXX Kitchen + Bar, pulls out flat bread from his pizza oven in his ba ...
Matt Silverman, chef for HEXX Kitchen + Bar, pulls out flat bread from his pizza oven in his backyard kitchen in Las Vegas, Wednesday, Aug. 14, 2019. (Rachel Aston/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @rookie__rae

Contact Al Mancini at amancini@reviewjournal.com. Follow @AlManciniVegas on Twitter.

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.
Entertainment Videos
The Hangover is served at The Crack Shack in Las Vegas - VIDEO
Khine Moore, executive chef at The Crack Shack at Park MGM in Las Vegas, makes The Hangover with a fried chicken breast or thigh dipped in honey-butter, sprinkled with Crack Seasoning and topped with an egg. (Heidi Knapp Rinella/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Dessert Before Dinner winner Becky Quan
Nine of Las Vegas’ top women pastry chefs offered original creations built around Girl Scouts Trefoils shortbread cookies Saturday night at Girl Scouts of Southern Nevada’s annual Desserts Before Dinner Gala. The top dessert, as voted on by the audience, was an homage to Good Humor’s old-fashioned Strawberry Shortcake ice cream bars created by NoMad’s Becky Quan. (Al Mancini/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Chef Sammy D is cooking again in Las Vegas
Sam DeMarco served his first public meal since returning to Las Vegas on Sunday, with a pop-up brunch at 7th & Carson. And the veteran of the First Food & Bar, Rattlecan and Sam’s American has more in store for the downtown spot. The chef, known as Sammy D. to his friends, is taking on a consulting chef role with restaurant that will see some of Sunday’s offerings added to the regular menu. (Al Mancini/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Carl’s Donuts in Las Vegas celebrates National Cream-Filled Doughnut Day
Carl’s Donuts, a Las Vegas-based company that’s been serving the city since 1966, celebrates National Cream-Filled Doughnut Day with specialties themed to fall. (Heidi Knapp Rinella/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Rick Harrison of "Pawn Stars" has a new store - VIDEO
Rick Harrison, the Pawn Stars co-star and owner of Gold & Silver Pawn, talks to the Review-Journal’s John Katsilometes about his soon-to-open Rick’s Collection retail outlet of mostly mid-century masterworks at the Grand Canal Shoppes at The Venetian. (Rachel Aston/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Pok Pok Wing at The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas serves Pad Thai Thamadaa - VIDEO
Because of popular request, the 1-year-old Pok Pok Wing at The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas serves Pad Thai Thamadaa, with shrimp, ground pork, neither or both. (Heidi Knapp Rinella/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Trial by Fire cocktail at the Golden Tiki in Las Vegas - VIDEO
Adam Rains, head bartender (also Grand Poobah and a few other things) at The Golden Tiki in Las Vegas, makes one of the bar’s tiki drinks, (Heidi Knapp Rinella/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Gordon Ramsay renovating Las Vegas steakhouse - VIDEO
Celebrity chef Gordon Ramsay is preparing to re-launch his Paris Las Vegas restaurant, Gordon Ramsay Steak. (Al Mancini/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Cats owners compete for top show awards
The annual Jazzy Cats event is taking place at the Rio Convention Center this weekend attracting cats owners from around the country and the world to compete for the top show awards. (Erik Verduzco/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Brooklyn Bowl in Las Vegas serves blackened Cajun catfish - VIDEO
Troy Remer, sous chef at Brooklyn Bowl at The Linq Promenade in Las Vegas, blackens Cajun catfish on the grill before serving it with mashed potatoes and collard greens. (Heidi Knapp Rinella/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
The Gold Encrusted Filet Mignon at Mr. Chow - VIDEO
This just may be the gold standard for the filet mignon. Mr. Chow at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas has introduced The Gold Encrusted Filet Mignon, which is coated with real 24-karat gold. (Rachel Aston/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Working as a mermaid in Las Vegas - VIDEO
McKenzie Kawano works as a mermaid at the aquarium at the Silverton in Las Vegas. (Rachel Aston/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Pinkbox Doughnuts opens third store in Las Vegas area
Las Vegas-based Pinkbox Doughnuts, which opened its third store at 9435 W. Tropicana Ave., specializes in doughnuts such as the new Station Wagon, with Butterfinger; pink-velvet Pretty in Pink; and hybrid Glazed DoughCro Bites. Heidi Knapp Rinella/Review-Journal, with image courtesy of Pinkbox Doughnuts
Starbucks brings back Pumpkin Spice early
Starbucks declares Aug. 27 the first day of fall as they make their pumpkin spice items available a full month early. (Mat Luschek/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Bachelor Party Fra Diavolo at Carmine’s in Las Vegas
Roberto Leon, a line cook at Carmine’s at The Forum Shops at Caesars in Las Vegas, makes Bachelor Party Fra Diavolo with eight pounds of lobster, a pound each of mussels, clams and shrimp, two pounds of pasta and two gallons of sauce. (Heidi Knapp Rinella/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
'American Idol' auditions in Las Vegas
“American Idol” was in Las Vegas Monday looking for singers to compete in its upcoming 2020 season. (Mat Luschek/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Las Vegan part of the Harlem Globetrotters
Scooter Christensen, who grew up in Las Vegas, will play with the Harlem Globetrotters at The Orleans in Las Vegas Sunday, Aug. 25. (Mat Luschek / Las Vegas Review-Journal)
MSG Sphere at The Venetian to cost $1.2B plus
Scheduled to open in 2021, it is expected to be busier than Madison Square Garden in New York. (Michael Quine/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Terra Rossa Returns To Red Rock. (Al Mancini/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Terra Rossa at Red Rock Resort is set to open on Aug. 26.
Hubert Keller’s Backyard Kitchen
Chef Hubert Keller of Fleur and Burger Bar shows off his backyard kitchen in Las Vegas. (Al Mancini/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Watermelon Mojitos and Chicken ‘N’ Watermelon ‘N’ Waffles at Yardbird Southern Table & Bar
Bartender Cassy Leedom and Chef Norberto Ortega make a Watermelon Mojito and Chicken ‘N’ Watermelon ‘N’ Waffles at Yardbird Southern Table & Bar at The Venetian in Las Vegas. (Heidi Knapp Rinella/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Juan’s Flaming Fajitas in Las Vegas celebrates National Fajita Day
Cook Ruben Fuentes and general manager Taylor Pulliam of Juan’s Flaming Fajitas in Las Vegas prepare steak and shrimp fajitas with the restaurant’s signature fiery treatment. (Heidi Knapp Rinella/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Pasta Shop Ristorante serves a watermelon-shrimp salad
Pasta Shop Ristorante & Art Gallery in Henderson serves a summer salad that combines watermelon with greens, feta and shrimp. (Heidi Knapp Rinella/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
The Factory Kitchen in Las Vegas makes classic affogato
Jorge Luque, pastry chef at The Factory Kitchen at The Venetian in Las Vegas, makes affogato with two simple ingredients - house-made gelato and fresh espresso. (Heidi Knapp Rinella/Las Vegas Review Journal with image from The Factory Kitchen)
The Cereal Killerz Kitchen serves over 100 cereals
Christopher Burns, owner of The Cereal Killerz Kitchen at Galleria at Sunset mall in Henderson, makes a Milk & Cookies Shake from his more than 100 varieties of cereal. (Heidi Knapp Rinella/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Black Tap Craft Burgers & Beer in Las Vegas makes a State Fair CrazyShake
Bianca Zepeva, a shaker at Black Tap Craft Burgers & Beer at The Venetian in Las Vegas, makes a State Fair CrazyShake with a kettle corn rim, caramel, corn-based ice cream, popcorn brittle, crushed kettle corn, sprinkles and a cherry. (Heidi Knapp Rinella/Review-Journal)
Balboa Pizza Company makes Thai peanut chicken wings
Irma Perez, kitchen manager at Balboa Pizza Company at The District at Green Valley Ranch in Henderson, near Las Vegas, brines chicken wings for 24 hours before roasting and frying them and finishing them in various styles such as Thai peanut. (Heidi Knapp Rinella/Review-Journal)
New Venetian pool deck
Final touches are currently being added to the hotel’s main tower pool deck, which consists of five pools. (Al Mancini/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Who is Vegas Vic? (Jason Bracelin/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Nevada State Museum Director Dennis McBride explains the origins of the Vegas icon.
Slater’s 50/50 in Las Vegas serves a 4-pound Big Island Feast Burger
Cindy Sun, general manager of Slater’s 50/50 in Las Vegas, makes the Big Island Feast Burger with 2 1/2 pounds of the house bacon/beef blend, Napa-cilantro slaw, six slices of American cheese, a can of grilled Spam, six slices of chargrilled pineapple, four fried eggs and a drizzle of teriyaki and serves it with macaroni salad. (Heidi Knapp Rinella/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
THE LATEST