Place of Honor

The small trinkets hanging on a Christmas tree can mean more to people than the wrapped gifts beneath it.

That’s the message from readers who sent in stories about their favorite Christmas ornaments. And after sorting through the 60 entries, it’s clear that those most treasured ornaments aren’t necessarily the prettiest.

The value doesn’t lie in their decorative abilities; rather, these ornaments grace the family tree year after year because of the place they hold in their owners’ hearts.

It’s hard to believe that something as simple as an old tuna fish can or a piece of tattered construction paper or a tarnished ball of glass can be such a meaningful part of a holiday that is often about the newest, brightest and trendiest things. But they are to the readers who sent in stories about the ornaments made by their children who are now grown; or the ornaments that represent a specific time and place; or those that are passed down through generations as family heirlooms.

We don’t have room to run all of the stories, so we selected 10 that represent the variety we received. The winner of our $100 drawing is Kate Gietl of Las Vegas.

LYNNE GORDON, AGE 58, LAS VEGAS

HURRICANE HUGO SANTA

It was Sept. 17, 1989 on the island of St. Croix the night Hurricane Hugo struck.

Having survived the longest night, filled with sounds of tearing metal and shattering glass, we found the nightmare was far from over as we emerged from our bathroom sanctuary to look outside on a sight I’ll never forget.

The landscape was naked and brown. Many of our neighbors’ homes were gone. Whole sections of the surrounding condo units had vanished. A refrigerator was resting on ceiling beams and plywood (was) floating in the swimming pool. Over 95 percent of the island’s buildings were inhabitable. The timeline for reopening our restaurant was months, instead of weeks; longer for our condo repairs. That December my brother brought us Christmas. He came with several huge boxes of household items, clothes, toys for our son and even a Christmas tree. My favorite gift was this construction Santa ornament, and every year it goes on our tree, reminding us that what we lost isn’t nearly as important as what we have.


SHIRLEY SARLE, AGE 64, LAS VEGAS

SILVER BELL

This ornament is precious to me because it was brought to the United States from Poland in 1928 by my grandparents. Their first stop was Ellis Island and their names are on the memorial there: Joseph and Josephine Rozanski. They moved to a small farm in a tiny town called Silverwood, Mich., Into the same home where i was born 64 years ago. My dad was serving in the Army in the Pacific then. I remember helping my grandma Rozanski decorate the freshly cut Christmas Tree each year with this and many other ornaments. My grandma gave the ornaments to me when she no longer was able to decorate a tree. I’m very happy to say that my son, daughter and her family will continue to protect and take care of my precious treasures when i am no longer able.

CHARLENE BOUGON, AGE 60, LAS VEGAS

TUNA FISH CAN ORNAMENT

Our daughter, Connie, made this ornament in third grade out of a tuna fish can, part of an old Christmas card, a wooden toothpick and some ribbon. Every year we would hang the ornament right up front for all to see on the tree. You can be sure it will be in its place of honor this year and for many years to come. When we see the ornament on the tree, it brings a smile to our faces as our beloved daughter passed away Sept. 14, 2007. She always knew she was special and destined to become an angel. She surrounded herself and her room with angels of all kinds. Little did we know she would become an angel at such a young age, 37. I treasure the memories of decorating the tree each year with her. I want to wish everyone a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. Be sure to give your children an extra hug each night before they go to bed as we never know when it might be our last chance.


MARGIE MANNING, AGE 62, NORTH LAS VEGAS

CONSTRUCTION PAPER SANTA FACE

My favorite ornament is not made of expensive handblown glass; it’s made of construction paper, googly eyes and pompoms. It’s held together by the love, skill and ability of a 5-year-old. Our son, Timmy, made this ornament when he was in kindergarten. Tim is now 34 years old. Although the paper has become as crisp as a potato chip and tape must be added every year to hold it together, I cannot part with it. This year it is even more special. Tim and his family moved to Texas last year for a new assignment with the U.S. Air Force. Although we miss him and his family terribly, we are very proud of him and his family for their service to our great country. So this year as I hang this special ornament on our tree, I will thank God and ask him to bless and keep safe all our brave men and women in our military and their families.


MICHELLE DOUGLAS, AGE 37, LAS VEGAS

PINK BEAR

It doesn’t sparkle, shimmer, glisten or gleam. It’s an ornament that won’t catch anyone’s eye, but I always hang it front and center on my tree. It was given to me by my grandmother 34 years ago. Each year I anxiously unwrap my Christmas treasure and gingerly hang it on my tree. When the season is over, I reluctantly pack it away until the next year. This ornament is very special to me because it reminds me of all the wonderful Christmases I have spent with my family. It has been involved in so many tender moments in my life: the passing of my father; my college graduation; my marriage; and the birth of my children. It has been with me at Christmas through my childhood, adolescence, adulthood and now as a parent. Although it is tattered, torn and faded, I love this sweet little ornament. Christmas wouldn’t be the same without it.


HOLLY TORRICO, AGE 23, NORTH LAS VEGAS

GREEN BALL

My husband, Greg, and I conceived a child in March of this year. Since this would be my family’s first grandbaby, the excitement was through the roof. I had an easy and uneventful pregnancy until August, when I went into full-blown, preterm labor. I was only 22 weeks. After three days of endless medications to try and stop labor, the doctor decided to let me birth my son. On Aug. 24, Liam Randall Torrico was born. He died approximately 15 minutes later. It was and will likely remain the single, most horrifying moment of my life watching him die in my arms. In September, my husband and I went to my home state of Michigan to bury his ashes. While there, we went to Bronner’s (a famous Christmas store) and had this ornament, in the color of his birthstone, created for our tree. I am looking forward to hanging it. While it will never fill my void for him, it will at least help me to remember him during the holiday season. He will forever live on in my heart.


KATE GIETL, AGE 24, LAS VEGAS

PAPIER-MACHE BALLERINA

My favorite ornament was given to me in 1987 when I was 3. While visiting New York City, my mother’s friend searched for the most "girlie-girl" ornament she could find as a souvenir for me. She found my treasured, personalized papier-mache ballerina. Every year when my parents would emerge from the basement with boxes of ornaments, I would excitedly hunt through them just to find "My Ballerina." I always insisted that she be the first ornament I hung. In 2006, I moved away from Chicago to Las Vegas. Lonely that first Christmas, I asked that my parents ship me "My Ballerina." That year she was the lone ornament hanging on a small, bubble-gum-pink, plastic Christmas tree I found at a local thrift store, but she was all I needed to bring me holiday joy. Shortly after that I met the man of my dreams, and "My Ballerina" is now an integral part of our combined Christmas decorations. For as long as I live and no matter how many memorable ornaments I collect, she will always be the first one I hang on the tree.


TIM AND PEGGY HASSELBALCH, LAS VEGAS

YELLOW BALL

This ornament was hanging on a Christmas tree in a high school auditorium 32 years ago. I remember the night like it was yesterday.

It was Christmas formal and each couple that attended had their own special ball on the tree. They went up to the tree and searched for the ball with their names on it. We have been married now for 30 years and this ornament has hung on every tree we’ve had. I hand carried it each time we moved to another home. It has been on the tree on Christmas mornings when the kids opened their presents from Santa. Now the children have grown up and this year our Christmas ball will look down on our new grandbaby. Life changes, children grow up, grandbabies come, but our love for each other is always there. Christmas balls don’t lie!


CINDY PIERRE-MORTON, AGE 41, NORTH LAS VEGAS

PORCELAIN DOG BELL

This little porcelain dog bell has been an ornament in my husband’s family for years. The reason it is special to me is because of what it did on Christmas morning of 2004. Just 12 days before, my yellow Labrador retriever, Jack, passed away. Jack and I were inseparable. We traveled all over the country together.

On Christmas morning, I sat on the couch reading the paper. No one else was awake yet. As I was reading, I heard the slight tinkling of a bell. I looked around and saw nothing. I checked on everyone else but they were still asleep. It was strange, but I did wonder.

Two weeks later when we were taking down the tree and had put all the ornaments away. My husband shook the tree to make sure we hadn’t missed anything and I heard the bell again! Deep in the back on one of the branches hung this ornament. We had forgotten it was on the tree. I was elated because now I knew what rang that Christmas morning and I’m pretty sure I know who rang it. It was Jack telling me he was OK.

DAVID GRANT, AGE 53, LAS VEGAS

RED TALKING BALL

I love obnoxious ornaments and live to buy the holiday toys that drive my friends and family crazy. I’m the guy who drives shoppers and store employees crazy, too, by pushing all the "try me" buttons on all the animated Christmas toys in the same aisle as fast as I can, just for the love of the insane symphonic holiday cacophony.

My favorite ornament is a sleeping Christmas ball that hides in the tree limbs until someone passes by and it whirs, opens its big shiny eyes and shouts "Hi there! No, I’m up here! Look up here! Merry Christmas!" It annoys my family and makes the cat jump straight up in the air. It’s wonderful.

ad-high_impact_4
Life
Barber sets up shop in grandfather’s old shop
Andres Dominguez’s new barber shop is filled with memories of his grandfather, who ran the El Cortez landmark for more than 30 years. (John Przybys/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Life and times of a 90-year-old horse player
Leo Polito of Las Vegas describes meeting legendary jockey and trainer Johnny Longden on the beach at Del Mar. Mike Brunker/Las Vegas Review-Journal.
Learning the history of singing bowls
Presentation at Summerlin Library teaches residents about the history of singing bowls (Mia Sims/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Learning live-saving techniques in Stop the Bleed class
Leslie Shaffer, an AMR paramedic, shows how to control bleeding during a Stop the Bleed course at the Summerlin Library. The class is designed to teach anyone how to control and stop life-threatening bleeding. (Mia Sims/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Vicki Richardson speaks about on the power of art
Artist and arts advocate Vicki Richardson talks about the power of art to inspire and challenge. (John Przybys/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
DressCoders pairs tech with haute couture
DressCoders is a startup focused on haute couture garments. The company uses illuminated thread that is washable and can be sewn right into the fabric. (Mat Luschek/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
CES 2019: Brava infrared oven
In cooking with the Brava infrared oven,there’s no preheating. the bulbs can reach 500 degrees in less than a second. (Heidi Knapp Rinella/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Sinks Merge Style And Utility
Study could determine cause of Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s diseases
Dr. Aaron Ritter, director of clinical trials at the Cleveland Clinic Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health, discusses his research on how inflammation in the brain impacts Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s diseases. (Jessie Bekker/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Holocaust survivors talk about tragedy and friendship
Janos Strauss and Alexander Kuechel share their perspectives on life. (John Przybys/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
'Siegel Cares' Santa delivers toys to kids at Siegel Suites in Las Vegas
Siegel Cares, the charitable wing of The Siegel Group, delivered toys to families at their apartment complexes in Las Vegas. (K.M. Cannon/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Revisiting “Christ the King” sculpture
A longtime admirer of the sculpture at Christ the King Catholic Community in Las Vegas shares her perspective. (Bizuayehu Tesfaye/Las Vegas Review-Journal @bizutesfaye)
Henderson couple adds another school to their generosity
Bob and Sandy Ellis of Henderson, who donate to several Clark County School District schools, have added Matt Kelly Elementary in Las Vegas to their list of schools where every student gets new shoes, socks and a toy. (K.M. Cannon/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Terry Fator Christmas House
Arguably better than a hotel holiday display, is Terry and Angie Fator's home located in southwest Las Vegas.
UNLV Winter Graduation Packs Thomas & Mack
UNLV's 55th winter commencement ceremony included approximately 2,146 undergraduate and graduate students who recently completed their studies. (Benjamin Hager/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Build-A-Bear comes to Reed Elementary School
Students participated in a Build-A-Bear-Workshop at Doris Reed Elementary School in Las Vegas, Thursday, Dec. 13, 2018.
Rev. Father Seraphim Ramos talks about Greek Orthodox icons during an interview with the LVRJ
Rev. Father Seraphim Ramos talks about Greek Orthodox icons during an interview with the Las Vegas Review-Journal at St. John the Baptist Greek Orthodox Church. Bizuayehu Tesfaye/Las Vegas Review-Journal @bizutesfaye
Masjid Ibrahim Islamic Center art depicts names of God
Masjid Ibrahim Islamic Center founder Sharaf Haseebullah talks about new diamond-shaped art panels featuring some of the 99 names of Allah at the main entrance the Las Vegas mosque. (K.M. Cannon/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Holiday poultry with Tim and Chemaine Jensen of Village Meat & Wine
Tim and Chemaine Jensen of Village Meat & Wine explain the different types of poultry available for the holidays. (Heidi Knapp Rinella/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Catholic Charities hosts early Christmas meal
Students from the Bishop Gorman High School football and cheerleader team helped to serve food at the Christmas meal sponsored by the Frank and Victoria Fertitta Foundation at Catholic Charities of Southern Nevada on Sunday. (Rachel Aston/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Incarcerated Christmas
This is the fourth year HOPE for Prisoners has worked with the Nevada Department of Corrections to create a Christmas for prisoners to visit their families. (Rachel Aston/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
2018 Homeless Vigil
Straight From The Streets holds its 23rd annual vigil to remember the 179 homeless individuals who died in Clark County this year.
Getting through the Holiday blues
Psychologist Whitney Owens offers advice on keeping your mental health in check during the Holiday season in Henderson, Thursday, Dec. 13, 2018. (Caroline Brehman/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Operation Homefront Holiday Meals for Military
Operation Homefront Holiday Meals for Military program gave meal kits to 200 families at Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 10047 in Las Vegas Wednesday, Dec. 12, 2018. It all started with a chance encounter in a supermarket in Utica, N.Y., near Fort Drum. A soldier, his wife and infant had a handful of grocery items they couldn't afford. A Beam Suntory employee picked up the $12 cost for the groceries. The program has grown from providing 500 meal kits to military families in 2009 to providing more than 7,000 nationally this holiday season.K.M. Cannon Las Vegas Review-Journal @KMCannonPhoto
An elegant Tea Party for substance abuse and homeless women
An elegant Tea Party for substance abuse and homeless women at WestCare Women Children Campus in Las Vegas. Bizuayehu Tesfaye/Las Vegas Review-Journal @bizutesfaye
Former 51s manager Wally Backman chats about new job
Former Las Vegas 51s manager Wally Backman talks about his new job with the independent league Long Island Ducks during the Baseball Winter Meetings in Las Vegas, Nevada, on Dec. 10, 2018. (Ron Kantowski/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Inside the kitchen at Springs Preserve
The staff of Divine Events do party preparation in the kitchen at Divine Cafe at Springs Preserve. With nine parties the following day, this is a particularly busy time for the crew. (Heidi Knapp Rinella/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Pearl Harbor survivor Edward Hall talks about his memories of Dec. 7, 1941
U.S. Army Corps Edward Hall, a 95-year-old survivor of Pearl Harbor talks about his memories of that horrific day. Bizuayehu Tesfaye/Las Vegas Review-Journal @bizutesfaye
Roy Choi on cooking for Park MGM employees
As he prepares to open his new restaurant Best Friend later this month at Park MGM, celebrity chef Roy Choi took the time to cook for the resort’s employees Tuesday. (Al Mancini/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Best Friend Menu Reveal Wednesday
Chef Roy Choi tells us what to expect from Wednesday’s Facebook Live Menu Reveal for his new Park MGM restaurant Best Friend. (Al Mancini/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
TOP NEWS
News Headlines
Home Front Page Footer Listing
Circular
You May Like

You May Like