Rabbi reflects on 30 years with Southern Nevada Jewish community

Vegas Voices is a weekly series highlighting notable Southern Nevadans.

Rabbi Sanford Akselrad never really harbored a burning desire to become a Las Vegan.

But life can be funny and Akselrad this year is celebrating his 30th year ministering not only to members of Congregation Ner Tamid — Nevada’s largest Reform synagogue — but more indirectly, to countless Southern Nevadans who have benefited from the community service programs he has helped establish.

Still, it was hardly a given that Akselrad would become a rabbi, even if his father was a prominent Bay Area rabbi for decades. But, he says, “by ninth grade, I realized that was my calling.”

In June 1984, he was ordained from Cincinnati’s Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion and took a position as an associate rabbi in Columbus, Ohio.

“After a few years, it came time for me to leave my work there and make my way West to be close to family,” says Akselrad, who’s originally from Palo Alto, California, and whose wife, Joni, is from Reno.

Even though an interview at Congregation Ner Tamid beckoned, “I said, ‘I’m not going to Las Vegas. That’s Sin City,’ ” Akselrad says. His wife reminded him that she grew up in Reno and all was well. “I said, ‘I guess you’re right,” so she prevailed on me to do the interview.”

Akselrad interviewed at Congregation Ner Tamid in Henderson in September 1987, about a week shy of his 30th birthday. “I came out on Thursday and by Sunday we had marked out a deal,” he says. “And on Feb. 1, (we) had moved from the winter of Ohio to the desert.”

Akselrad turns 61 in October. He and Joni have two children, CJ and Sam, a daughter-in-law, Ana, and a granddaughter, Genevieve.

Review-Journal: What did you see here that allowed you to move beyond that “Sin City” notion?

Akselrad: When I came here, of course they showed me the Strip, but, in reality, I realized that it was just a Jewish community that wanted to bring up their kids and raise them in the Jewish tradition and wanted a rabbi to lead them. (Ner Tamid) was a very small congregation of 60 families (now more than 600). At the time, there were three congregations, now there are almost 30 in Las Vegas. There were about 20,000 Jewish families, and now there are about 80,000 and I felt there was a lot of potential here.

What are some big changes you’ve seen over the past 30 years?

There are a few things that happened in Las Vegas that are unique and there are some that mirror what’s going on in Judaism in general. We are a very transient community, which I think is unique … There’s also a tendency for us to be a community where people come to retire and they’ve done their Jewish duty in other communities where they were heads of synagogues or sisterhoods or men’s clubs or members of the board. And they came here, retired and don’t want to get involved — been there, done that, that was a prior life.

You’ve been involved in many community service and interfaith activities here. Do any in particular stick out?

One of the things I’m proudest of was an “a-ha!’ moment I had during the recession when somebody came to me looking for help to find a job. Honestly, people have asked me for help to find work over the years, and I never was very successful, and I felt bad telling this person I couldn’t help them. … I started Project Ezra. It created a vocational service program that partnered with owners of Jewish businesses and other people involved in the Jewish community who were aware of jobs. … We’ve placed over 600 people over the years who have found good-paying jobs.

Many denominations have difficulty attracting young people. Is that an issue for Southern Nevada’s Jewish community?

Everyone is facing the same issue, where people today like to, if you will, create their own religious tradition, borrowing what they remember as children, picking up some things from reading, mostly, and they will say, “I am spiritual, but not religious. I like to go hiking, I like to meditate, I like to read, but I don’t really have the need to go to a church or synagogue.” That’s very different than when I began my career. I think the next generation of rabbinical leaders are going to have to be dynamic and creative in order to respond to this generation. (Laughs) I often tell them, “If you’re not into organized religion, you should join me. I’m very disorganized.”

Any thought of retiring?

I intend to serve the congregation for a long time. I’m not looking toward retirement, but the 60s do give one time to pause, to not only reinvent but define new challenges and also new personal experiences. My wife has been on me for 28 years to get a hobby. … A few years ago, I began to ride a bike, and, believe it or not, it’s allowed me to connect with some of the younger members of my congregation. (Laughs) My dad had a program called “Walk and Talk with the Rabbi.” Mine is “Bike and Ride with the Rabbi.”

Getting to know: Rabbi Sanford Akselrad

Hobbies

Bike riding, tennis and photography.

Place to take out-of-town visitors

We take them to the Las Vegas Strip, of course, but for those who are into the outdoors, we always take them to Red Rock.

Favorite food

Lemon meringue pie or anything chocolate.

Favorite type of music

I always listen to more of the mellow music, the likes of James Taylor and Jim Croce. Easy listening for the most part. I also listen to a lot of Jewish music. I’ve recently become enamored with a Jewish bluegrass group, Nefesh Mountain.

Everyday ritual

Just saying prayers, probably. And reading the newspaper, then praying again (laughs).

Favorite vacation destination

New York City. We go a couple of times a year.

Favorite sports team

I never really had time to be a big sports fan, but I did become enamored with the Golden Knights. Now I’m a big Golden Knights fan. And I’m from the Bay Area — I was born in Oakland — so I think I’ll be a Raiders fan.

What are you reading right now?

Bob Woodward’s book (“Fear: Trump in the White House”)

Favorite movies

Sometimes I will see movies for reflection and meaning, like “Schindler’s List.” But, for the most part, I watch movies for escapism, so it will be an action-style movie so I don’t have to think about anything.

What don’t people know about you?

I am a big “Star Trek” fan. I have in my office a little tribute to “Star Trek.” Of course, the original series, (William) Shatner and (Leonard) Nimoy were Jewish and a lot of the values of “Star Trek” were really Jewish values. The Vulcan hand salute is Jewish. It’s the priestly benediction. That’s where Leonard Nimoy got that from.

I never leave the house without …

My cellphone

Phobia

I’m not big on heights.

What alternate profession might you have pursued?

I’d probably become an attorney. Or now that I know more about myself, I probably would become a psychologist or psychiatrist.

Contact John Przybys at jprzybys@reviewjournal.com. Follow @jjprzybys on Twitter.

ad-high_impact_4
Local
Las Vegas charter school excels in areas of greatest need
Mater Academy Mountain Vista charter school students excel despite the fact that half the students are English language learners and all qualify for free or reduced-price lunches. (K.M. Cannon/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @KMCannonPhoto
People in Mesquite deal with a massive power outage
People in Mesquite respond to a major power outage in the area on Monday, Jan. 21, 2019. (Mat Luschek/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
New MLK freeway onramps
How to navigate the trio of new freeway onramps from Martin Luther King Boulevard. (Mick Akers/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Extreme weather closes Scenic Loop in Red Rock Canyon
High winds and flooding closed the Scenic Loop in Red Rock Canyon National Conservation area Thursday. Minor flooding across Highway 159 caused drivers to slow, but didn't close the road. (K.M. Cannon/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @KMCannonPhoto
Learning live-saving techniques in Stop the Bleed class
Leslie Shaffer, an AMR paramedic, shows how to control bleeding during a Stop the Bleed course at the Summerlin Library. The class is designed to teach anyone how to control and stop life-threatening bleeding. (Mia Sims/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Mount Charleston Gets Heavy Snow, Fog
Mount Charleston saw heavy snow today, and fog in lower elevations as a cold front swept across the Las Vegas Valley. (Benjamin Hager/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Tourists enjoy rain in downtown Las Vegas
Tourists break out the umbrellas. But Brian Herting of Lincoln, Nebraska, dons shorts and a T-shirt, as he makes his way through downtown Las Vegas. (K.M. Cannon/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @KMCannonPhoto
Thick fog blanketed Las Vegas Valley on Tuesday
Thick fog blanketed Las Vegas Valley on Tuesday. The National Weather Service.forecast called for a 50 percent chance of rain. (Bizuayehu Tesfaye/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @bizutesfaye
Time lapse video of fog covering the Strip
The Las Vegas Strip is shrouded in fog Tuesday, Jan. 15, 2019. (K.M. Cannon/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @KMCannonPhoto
Tony Spilotro's Las Vegas home for sale — VIDEO
The former Las Vegas home of Chicago mob enforcer, Tony Spilotro, is now for sale. Spilotro, who was portrayed by Joe Pesci in the film Casino, is the original owner of the home at 4675 Balfour Drive, built in 1974. (Samia DeCubas/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Buffalo Drive And Mountains Edge Parkway Fatal
Las Vegas police and the Nevada Highway Patrol are investigating a fatal crash in the southwest valley on Saturday afternoon. (Richard Brian/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
UNLV's Joel Ntambwe on his play
UNLV forward Joel Ntambwe talks about his play at this point in the season. Video by Mark Anderson/Las Vegas Review-Journal
Sam Schmidt chats about hectic off-season
IndyCar team owner Sam Schmidt and lead driver James Hinchcliffe chat about the hectic off-season at the SpeedVegas high-performance driving facility outside of Las Vegas, Nevada, on January 10, 2018. (Ron Kantowski/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
R-J's Mark Anderson on UNLV's victory
Review-Journal sports reporter Mark Anderson recaps UNLV's victory at New Mexico. Video by Mark Anderson/Las Vegas Review-Journal
UNLV's Noah Robotham on the win at New Mexico
UNLV guard Noah Robotham talks about winning at New Mexico on Jan. 8, 2019. (Mark Anderson/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
UNLV's Kris Clyburn on big 3 vs. New Mexico
UNLV guard Kris Clyburn talks about his key 3-pointer against New Mexico. (Mark Anderson/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Marvin Menzies on beating New Mexico
UNLV basketball coach Marvin Menzies talks about UNLV's win at New Mexico on January 8, 2019. (Mark Anderson/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
New HOV Ramp Scheduled to Open in March
New HOV ramp scheduled to open in March of 2019.
American Preparatory Academy part of charter school growth in Las Vegas
American Preparatory Academy in Las Vegas has a waiting list of students who want to attend. (K.M. Cannon/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @KMCannonPhoto
Wheelchair tournament at UNLV
Cesar Robledo talks about wheelchair basketball and what it means for players to compete during the Wheelchair Basketball Division I-II Tournament at UNLV in Las Vegas, Sunday, Jan. 6, 2019.
Snow in Henderson on New Year's Eve morning
Light snow flurries in Anthem Highlands in Henderson on Monday morning, the last day of 2018.
Marvin Menzies on UNLV's trip to Hawaii
UNLV basketball coach Marvin Menzies talks about the upcoming trip to Hawaii. Video by Mark Anderson/Las Vegas Review-Journal
Raiders Stadium Timelapse
Construction on the new Raiders stadium continues in Las Vegas.
Pinecrest Academy Horizon principal wins Milken Educator Award
Tony Sanchez on UNLV's recruiting class
UNLV football coach Tony Sanchez talks about his early signing class. Video by Mark Anderson/Las Vegas Review-Journal
The Magical Forest at Opportunity Village
Opportunity Village's Magical Forest added 1 million lights and a synchronized music show visible from all over the forest this year. The holiday attraction, which began in 1991, has a train, rides, food and entertainment along with the light displays. (Heidi Knapp Rinella/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Siegel Cares delivers bagels to families in need
Since Thanksgiving, Mark Lenoir of Siegel Cares, has been delivering leftover Bagelmania bagels to families staying at the Siegel Suites.
Dan Barnson steps down
Arbor View football coach Dan Barnson stepped down Friday after 12 seasons at the helm. Under Barnson, the Aggies won 104 games and became one of the top programs in Las Vegas. The Aggies went 12-2 in 2018 and won a region championship for the first time in program history. Barnson loves Friday nights, but said the 12-month commitment was getting exhausting.
NFR 2018 Highlights
NFR 2018 highlights from every round of this years rodeo.
NFR 2018 Round 10 Highlights
NFR 2018 Round 10 Highlights of the 2018 Wrangler National Finals Rodeo from the Thomas & Mack in Las Vegas, Nevada. (CBS Sports Network/PRCA)
Tony Sanchez wraps up the UNLV season
UNLV football coach Tony Sanchez wraps up the season. Video by Mark Anderson/Las Vegas Review-Journal
Life
Barber sets up shop in grandfather’s old shop
Andres Dominguez’s new barber shop is filled with memories of his grandfather, who ran the El Cortez landmark for more than 30 years. (John Przybys/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Life and times of a 90-year-old horse player
Leo Polito of Las Vegas describes meeting legendary jockey and trainer Johnny Longden on the beach at Del Mar. Mike Brunker/Las Vegas Review-Journal.
Learning the history of singing bowls
Presentation at Summerlin Library teaches residents about the history of singing bowls (Mia Sims/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Learning live-saving techniques in Stop the Bleed class
Leslie Shaffer, an AMR paramedic, shows how to control bleeding during a Stop the Bleed course at the Summerlin Library. The class is designed to teach anyone how to control and stop life-threatening bleeding. (Mia Sims/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Vicki Richardson speaks about on the power of art
Artist and arts advocate Vicki Richardson talks about the power of art to inspire and challenge. (John Przybys/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
DressCoders pairs tech with haute couture
DressCoders is a startup focused on haute couture garments. The company uses illuminated thread that is washable and can be sewn right into the fabric. (Mat Luschek/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
CES 2019: Brava infrared oven
In cooking with the Brava infrared oven,there’s no preheating. the bulbs can reach 500 degrees in less than a second. (Heidi Knapp Rinella/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Sinks Merge Style And Utility
Study could determine cause of Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s diseases
Dr. Aaron Ritter, director of clinical trials at the Cleveland Clinic Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health, discusses his research on how inflammation in the brain impacts Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s diseases. (Jessie Bekker/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Holocaust survivors talk about tragedy and friendship
Janos Strauss and Alexander Kuechel share their perspectives on life. (John Przybys/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
'Siegel Cares' Santa delivers toys to kids at Siegel Suites in Las Vegas
Siegel Cares, the charitable wing of The Siegel Group, delivered toys to families at their apartment complexes in Las Vegas. (K.M. Cannon/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Revisiting “Christ the King” sculpture
A longtime admirer of the sculpture at Christ the King Catholic Community in Las Vegas shares her perspective. (Bizuayehu Tesfaye/Las Vegas Review-Journal @bizutesfaye)
Henderson couple adds another school to their generosity
Bob and Sandy Ellis of Henderson, who donate to several Clark County School District schools, have added Matt Kelly Elementary in Las Vegas to their list of schools where every student gets new shoes, socks and a toy. (K.M. Cannon/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Terry Fator Christmas House
Arguably better than a hotel holiday display, is Terry and Angie Fator's home located in southwest Las Vegas.
UNLV Winter Graduation Packs Thomas & Mack
UNLV's 55th winter commencement ceremony included approximately 2,146 undergraduate and graduate students who recently completed their studies. (Benjamin Hager/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Build-A-Bear comes to Reed Elementary School
Students participated in a Build-A-Bear-Workshop at Doris Reed Elementary School in Las Vegas, Thursday, Dec. 13, 2018.
Rev. Father Seraphim Ramos talks about Greek Orthodox icons during an interview with the LVRJ
Rev. Father Seraphim Ramos talks about Greek Orthodox icons during an interview with the Las Vegas Review-Journal at St. John the Baptist Greek Orthodox Church. Bizuayehu Tesfaye/Las Vegas Review-Journal @bizutesfaye
Masjid Ibrahim Islamic Center art depicts names of God
Masjid Ibrahim Islamic Center founder Sharaf Haseebullah talks about new diamond-shaped art panels featuring some of the 99 names of Allah at the main entrance the Las Vegas mosque. (K.M. Cannon/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Holiday poultry with Tim and Chemaine Jensen of Village Meat & Wine
Tim and Chemaine Jensen of Village Meat & Wine explain the different types of poultry available for the holidays. (Heidi Knapp Rinella/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Catholic Charities hosts early Christmas meal
Students from the Bishop Gorman High School football and cheerleader team helped to serve food at the Christmas meal sponsored by the Frank and Victoria Fertitta Foundation at Catholic Charities of Southern Nevada on Sunday. (Rachel Aston/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Incarcerated Christmas
This is the fourth year HOPE for Prisoners has worked with the Nevada Department of Corrections to create a Christmas for prisoners to visit their families. (Rachel Aston/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
2018 Homeless Vigil
Straight From The Streets holds its 23rd annual vigil to remember the 179 homeless individuals who died in Clark County this year.
Getting through the Holiday blues
Psychologist Whitney Owens offers advice on keeping your mental health in check during the Holiday season in Henderson, Thursday, Dec. 13, 2018. (Caroline Brehman/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Operation Homefront Holiday Meals for Military
Operation Homefront Holiday Meals for Military program gave meal kits to 200 families at Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 10047 in Las Vegas Wednesday, Dec. 12, 2018. It all started with a chance encounter in a supermarket in Utica, N.Y., near Fort Drum. A soldier, his wife and infant had a handful of grocery items they couldn't afford. A Beam Suntory employee picked up the $12 cost for the groceries. The program has grown from providing 500 meal kits to military families in 2009 to providing more than 7,000 nationally this holiday season.K.M. Cannon Las Vegas Review-Journal @KMCannonPhoto
An elegant Tea Party for substance abuse and homeless women
An elegant Tea Party for substance abuse and homeless women at WestCare Women Children Campus in Las Vegas. Bizuayehu Tesfaye/Las Vegas Review-Journal @bizutesfaye
Former 51s manager Wally Backman chats about new job
Former Las Vegas 51s manager Wally Backman talks about his new job with the independent league Long Island Ducks during the Baseball Winter Meetings in Las Vegas, Nevada, on Dec. 10, 2018. (Ron Kantowski/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Inside the kitchen at Springs Preserve
The staff of Divine Events do party preparation in the kitchen at Divine Cafe at Springs Preserve. With nine parties the following day, this is a particularly busy time for the crew. (Heidi Knapp Rinella/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Pearl Harbor survivor Edward Hall talks about his memories of Dec. 7, 1941
U.S. Army Corps Edward Hall, a 95-year-old survivor of Pearl Harbor talks about his memories of that horrific day. Bizuayehu Tesfaye/Las Vegas Review-Journal @bizutesfaye
Roy Choi on cooking for Park MGM employees
As he prepares to open his new restaurant Best Friend later this month at Park MGM, celebrity chef Roy Choi took the time to cook for the resort’s employees Tuesday. (Al Mancini/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Best Friend Menu Reveal Wednesday
Chef Roy Choi tells us what to expect from Wednesday’s Facebook Live Menu Reveal for his new Park MGM restaurant Best Friend. (Al Mancini/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
TOP NEWS
News Headlines
Home Front Page Footer Listing
Circular
You May Like

You May Like