weather icon Clear
RJ App
Vegas News, Alerts, ePaper

BOWLING: Pineda leads Tech girls to second consecutive Division I-A state championship

Tech senior Crystalene Pineda finished off the final frame of her high-school bowling career Thursday afternoon at the Orleans Bowling Center with tears filling her eyes and her hands covering her mouth.

She not only led her team to its second-straight Division I-A state championship, but for the second consecutive season, the Roadrunners did not drop a game.

“We’ve gone undefeated for two years straight and it’s been an honor for me to be a part of that,” Pineda said. “And since it’s my last year, it’s been mind boggling.”

Tech defeated Cheyenne 9-0, topping the Desert Shields 1,760-1,584 in total pin count. The Roadrunners won the three games 558-520, 562-498 and 640-566.

“There are no words to describe…but it’s slowly sinking in,” said Pineda, who bowled a high series of 510 in the championship game.

Said Tech coach Jim Marra: “I was really happy and excited (for Crystal) because she earned it. She’s deserved to win these two titles, because she’s been the backbone the last two years.”

Emi Leong (466), Sophia Murray (409) and Elisa Loden (375) also bowled for the Roadrunners.

Lauren Dominguez was the high bowler for Cheyenne with a 435 series.

In the boys’ bracket, Boulder City defeated Cheyenne 7-2, with the Eagles outscoring the Desert Shields, 2,312-2,207. The Eagles won the first two games, 756-714 and 828-762, while Cheyenne eked out the third game, 731-728.

Teagan Smale paced the Eagles with a 609 series, highlighted by a 235 in the first game. Also bowling for the Eagles were Randall Berkheimer (588), Eddie Feeney (566) and Dylan Amico (549).

Cheyenne’s Brandon Duffy led all bowlers with a 626 series after he bowled a 224 in the third game.

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.
2019 Best of Nevada Preps Awards — VIDEO

Find out the winners of the male and female athletes of the year, the coach and team of the year, winners of each sport’s athlete and coach of the year, and two special awards.