weather icon Drizzle

State champions for the 2017-18 winter season

Updated June 28, 2018 - 12:13 pm

Here is a recap of every team that won a state title during the 2017-18 winter sports season.

For select sports, an individual champion is listed. Check out the fall edition here, and stay tuned for the spring edition.

Boys basketball

Class 4A: Bishop Gorman defeated Bishop Manogue, 62-41.

Class 3A: Desert Pines defeated Cheyenne 48-44 in overtime.

Class 2A: Democracy Prep defeated Battle Mountain, 72-48.

Class 1A: Spring Mountain defeated Mineral County, 50-36.

Girls basketball

Class 4A: Centennial defeated Liberty 74-65 in overtime.

Class 3A: Churchill County defeated Lowry, 60-45.

Class 2A: White Pine defeated Lincoln County 44-39 in overtime.

Class 1A: Pahranagat Valley defeated Wells, 58-43.

Boys bowling

Class 4A: Spring Valley defeated Foothill, 7-2.

— Las Vegas’ Kyle Wilson won the individual state tournament with a 755 series.

Class 3A: Del Sol defeated Chaparral, 9-0

— Tech’s Brendan Lindsey won the individual state tournament with a 674 series.

Girls bowling

Class 4A: Basic defeated Spring Valley, 7-2

— Valley’s Savannah Decker won the individual state tournament with a 695 series.

Class 3A: Tech defeated The Meadows, 9-0.

— Tech’s Eri Leong won the individual state tournament with a 582 series.

Flag football

Class 4A: Coronado defeated Shadow Ridge, 33-18.

Class 3A: Cheyenne defeated Virgin Valley, 20-6.


Class 4A: Spanish Springs defeated Green Valley, 131-125.

Class 3A: Spring Creek defeated Virgin Valley 197-99.

Class 2A: Battle Mountain defeated Pershing County, 234-194½.

— Pahranagat Valley was the top Southern Nevada finisher, placing fourth with 84 points.

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.
2019 Best of Nevada Preps Awards — VIDEO

Find out the winners of the male and female athletes of the year, the coach and team of the year, winners of each sport’s athlete and coach of the year, and two special awards.