weather icon Clear

CLASS 1A HONORS: League MVP Wadsworth leads host of Pahranagat Valley pitchers

Pahranagat Valley’s baseball team had no shortage of capable arms this season.

Kade Wadsworth, though, had the most to do with the Panthers’ repeat Class 1A state championship.

The junior right-hander was recognized for his stellar season when coaches voted him the Most Valuable Player in the 1A Southern League.

“The biggest thing for Kade is that he throws hard, but he just throttled it back a bit,” Pahranagat Valley coach Brad Loveday said. “He’s got plenty of velocity and break, but he dialed it back a little, which made his control pinpoint.”

Wadsworth led the Panthers to a 25-3 season that culminated with a 15-0 victory over Beatty in the 1A state finals. It gave Pahranagat Valley a sweep of 1A football, boys basketball and baseball state titles for the second consecutive season.

“They’re just quality kids,” Loveday said. “I’ve never had a year where it’s been so much fun to go to practice. They’re fun to be around.”

Wadsworth proved crucial when it counted most, tossing a two-hitter with six strikeouts in an 11-1 win over Carlin that opened the state tournament.

Also a second baseman, Wadsworth batted .341 with two home runs and 32 RBIs this season.

Pahranagat Valley also placed catcher Kale Leavitt, second baseman Cody Hosier, third baseman Tyler Higbee, shortstop Chase Hansen, and outfielders Derek Hansen and Tyson Sparrow to the all-league first team.

The first team was rounded out by Indian Springs pitcher Adam Reinke and outfielder Chasen Malden, and Trinity first baseman Damen Cook and utility player Peter Armendariz.

Coach of the Year went to Sandy Valley’s Josh Smith, who guided the Sidewinders to a 13-9 season after they won a combined 10 games in the two previous years.

All-Class 1A Southern League
First Team
P–Kade Wadsworth, Pahranagat Valley; Adam Reinke, Indian Springs. C–Kale Leavitt, Pahranagat Valley. 1B–Damen Cook, Trinity. 2B–Cody Hosier, Pahranagat Valley. 3B–Tyler Higbee, Pahranagat Valley. SS–Chase Hansen, Pahranagat Valley. OF–Chasen Malden, Indian Springs; Tyson Sparrow, Pahranagat Valley; Derek Hansen, Pahranagat Valley. UTIL–Peter Armendariz, Trinity.
Second Team
P–Xavier Pena, Indian Springs; Nathan Plaza, Sandy Valley. C–Avery Harden, Trinity. 1B–Brock Roadhouse, Indian Springs. 2B–Troy Heath, Indian Springs. 3B–Dominic Morgando, Indian Springs. SS–Josh Swisher, Indian Springs. OF–Chris Bautista, Trinity; Alfonso Santangelo, Indian Springs; Mason Hamlin, Indian Springs. UTIL–Brandon Carter, Pahranagat Valley.
Most Valuable Player–Kade Wadsworth, Pahranagat Valley.
Coach of the Year–Josh Smith, Sandy Valley.
Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.