weather icon Clear

CLASS 2A HONORS: Gosse picks up MVP awards

It’s hard to imagine Garrett Gosse doing more for any athletics program than he does at The Meadows.
After a year that saw him take Class 2A first-team all-state honors in football and basketball, baseball coaches recently voted the junior pitcher the Most Valuable Player in the 2A Southern League.
Gosse also shared 2A state MVP honors with Yerington junior catcher Jarrod Adams.
“It’s like having an extra coach,” said Frank DeSantis, who coaches the Mustangs’ baseball and football teams. “He couldn’t have done it without his (baseball) teammates, and he knows that. But it’s a great honor for him. He’s just a super kid.”
Gosse helped The Meadows (24-7-1) to a share of the regular-season Southern League title with Needles and a spot in the 2A state playoffs.
The right-hander routinely came up big for the Mustangs, including an 18-strikeout effort March 19 in a 7-3 win over Victor Valley Christian (Calif.).
The Meadows also landed junior infielder/pitcher Brandon Thomas on the all-state first team, and senior catcher Ryan Wells was named to the second team.
First-team all-state honors also went to Needles senior utility player Ryan Andrews, junior pitcher/infielder Matt McAndrews, junior outfielder Austin Baldwin and senior infielder Andrew Mathews; Laughlin senior pitcher/infielder Andre Prosise; and Lincoln County junior pitcher Ryan Lloyd.
The all-state second team included Needles sophomore catcher Mason Cisneros, Laughlin sophomore pitcher Corey Beggs and Lincoln County senior utility player Taylor Price.
The 2A state Coach of the Year was Yerington’s Stephen Schreibeis, who guided the Lions to their first state title since 1973.
DeSantis was voted 2A Southern League Coach of the Year.

Class 2A All-State
First Team
Alex Vogt, Whittell; Ryan Andrews, Needles; Matt McAndrews, Needles; Mike Garner, Yerington; Alex Potnick, Whittell; Austin Baldwin, Needles; Andre Prosise, Laughlin; Brandon Thomas, The Meadows; Ryan Lloyd, Lincoln County; Andrew Mathews, Needles; Cole Aiazzi, Yerington; Tommy Kinsey, Yerington.
Second Team
Mason Cisneros, Needles; Ryan Wells, The Meadows; Taylor Price, Lincoln County; Corey Beggs, Laughlin; Chip Bouchard, Incline; Julian Washalefsky, Whittell; Dwight Douglas, Battle Mountain; Ryan Salazar, Battle Mountain; Jared Jensen, Pershing County; Tyler Peeples, Yerington.
Most Valuable Players – Garrett Gosse, The Meadows; Jarrod Adams, Yerington.
Coach of the Year – Stephen Schreibeis, Yerington.
Class 2A All-Southern League
First Team
McAndrews, Needles; Andrews, Needles; Baldwin, Needles; Cisneros, Needles; Mathews, Needles; Wells, The Meadows; Thomas, The Meadows; Ryan Lloyd, Lincoln County; Price, Lincoln County; Prosise, Laughlin; Beggs, Laughlin.
Second Team
Justin Diamond, The Meadows; Devin Truscott, Needles; Jared Enderle, Needles; Nathan Hetrick, Needles; Austin Brown, The Meadows; Alex Capozzoli, Mountain View; Damiano Bellejos, Lincoln County; Brandon Wright, Lincoln County; Alec Lloyd, Lincoln County; Tyler Morrison, Laughlin.
Most Valuable Player – Garrett Gosse, The Meadows.
Coach of the Year – Frank DeSantis, The Meadows.

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.