weather icon Clear
RJ App
Vegas News, Alerts, ePaper

4A BOYS ALL-LEAGUE: Roquemore wins MVP in Southeast

Foothill guard Evan Roquemore proved he was a capable scorer last season, leading the Falcons with 14.2 points per game.
But his game didn’t become complete until this season, when the senior developed point guard skills, Foothill coach Kevin Soares said.
Roquemore was rewarded for his improved play by Southeast League coaches, who recently voted the 6-foot-3-inch floor general the league’s Most Valuable Player.
“I think in one season, from his junior year to senior year, we’ve never had anybody make a progression like he has,” said Soares, who was voted Coach of the Year. “Last year he was our leading scorer but wasn’t the main ball-handler. He really stepped into that role this year.”
Roquemore led the Falcons in points (23.3), rebounds (6.0) and assists (5.2) per game, carrying Foothill (23-7) to the Southeast title and the Sunrise Region final.
“I knew I needed to step up and lead,” Roquemore said. “They knew that I was the right person to do that.”
Roquemore said he has scholarship offers from Air Force, Eastern Washington and Southern Methodist and is drawing interest from Ball State, Hawaii, Santa Clara and UNLV.
In the Northeast, Las Vegas senior swingman Tyree Anderson and Canyon Springs junior guard Michael Thompson shared MVP and Canyon Springs’ Daryl Branham and Chaparral’s Ennis Wesley split Coach of the Year.
Palo Verde swept the top awards in the Northwest, with senior forward Moses Morgan taking MVP and Jermone Riley earning Coach of the Year.
In the Southwest, Bishop Gorman senior point guard Johnathan Loyd took MVP and Western’s Chip Nelson was named Coach of the Year.
Class 4A Boys All-League Teams
Northwest League
First Team
Moses Morgan, Palo Verde; Darington Banks, Arbor View; Aaseem Dixon, Centennial; Chris McCall, Cheyenne; Kevin Olekaibe, Cimarron-Memorial; Andrew Topham, Palo Verde.
MVP–Moses Morgan, Palo Verde.
Coach of the Year–Jermone Riley, Palo Verde.
Second Team
Ben Vozzola, Centennial; Jaylen Henry, Cheyenne; Sam Done, Faith Lutheran; Ira Haywood, Legacy; Sian Laine, Legacy; Davion Pearson, Palo Verde.
Southwest League
First Team
Johnathan Loyd, Bishop Gorman; Anson Winder, Bishop Gorman; Shabazz Muhammad, Bishop Gorman; Steven Dancy, Clark; Cameron Mich’l, Desert Oasis; Viko Noma’aea, Sierra Vista; Kentrell Washington, Western.
MVP–Johnathan Loyd, Bishop Gorman.
Coach of the Year–Chip Nelson, Western.
Second Team
Taylor Spencer, Bishop Gorman; Cameron Jefferson, Desert Oasis; Devonte Williams, Durango; Greg Gentry, Duragno; Corey Clement, Spring Valley; Sir Washington, Western.
Northeast League
First Team
Tyree Anderson, Las Vegas; Michael Thompson, Canyon Springs; Tyler Larson, Desert Pines; Jeremy Alexander, Canyon Springs; Adrian Snow, Canyon Springs; Amir Royal, Rancho; Christian Kessee, Valley.
Co-MVPs—Tyree Anderson, Las Vegas and Michael Thompson, Canyon Springs.
Co-Coaches of the Year–Daryl Branham, Canyon Springs and Ennis Wesley, Chaparral.
Second Team
Kevin Morgan, Chaparral; Khristian Kirkwood, Valley; Curtis Stewart, Eldorado; Chris Goodloe, Chaparral; Tyler Gaston, Rancho; Hasaan Henderson, Las Vegas.
Southeast League
First Team
Evan Roquemore, Foothill; Brandon Glanz, Coronado; Austin Nelson, Coronado; Jeff Coon, Del Sol; Tim Rambo, Liberty; Ruben Jackson, Silverado.
MVP–Evan Roquemore, Foothill.
Coach of the Year–Kevin Soares, Foothill.
Second Team
Tyler Dobbins, Basic; Vince Carducci, Basic; Chris Clementi, Foothill; Durrell McDonald, Green Valley; Glenn Bewley, Green Valley; Ashante Ross, Liberty; Michael Johnson, Tech.

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.