weather icon Mostly Cloudy
RJ App
Vegas News, Alerts, ePaper

4A GIRLS ALL-LEAGUE: Versatile Walker snares Northeast League MVP award

To some girls basketball fans, LaBrea Walker flew well under the radar this season.
The Northeast League, though, had no choice but to take notice of Desert Pines’ senior guard.
Unquestionably the Jaguars’ leader, Walker was named the Northeast League’s Most Valuable Player by league coaches.
Play, score, set up teammates to score, rebound, defend, Walker did a lot of everything for the Jaguars, who finished 17-12 overall and won the Northeast League regular-season title with a 12-2 record. She averaged 25 points and almost eight rebounds per game.
“She was like a LeBron James or a Kobe Bryant to her teammates insofar as she got everybody involved and made everybody better,” said Desert Pines coach Mel Washington, the Northeast coach of the year. “She was an all-around player.”
Desert Pines’ TaQuiyyah Boyles joined Las Vegas’ Shomari Harris and Courtney Ladson, Canyon Springs’ Kenosha Wright, Chaparral’s Janae Neuville and Valley’s Estelle Wilson on the All-Northeast first team.
Centennial swept the Northwest League’s top awards, with Alexis Byrd named player of the year and Karen Weitz coach of the year.
The Bulldogs also put Shannon Brown and Courtney Hayes on the first team. Joining them are Palo Verde’s Jasmin Kiley, Legacy’s Breanah Manley and Shadow Ridge’s Elisha Hensey.
Bishop Gorman took both of the Southwest’s top awards, as Aaryn Ellenberg took home player of the year and Sheryl Krmpotich coach of the year.
Gorman players also took half the first-team spots, with Chelsie Pitt, Amber Lane and Zhane Dikes honored. Bonanza’s Alice Pitts, Durango’s Cherelle Hicks and Sierra Vista’s Jeanette Jackson also were named to the top unit.
Green Valley’s Jazmine Jarvis was named the Southeast’s player of the year, and Foothill’s Mike Collins was the coach of the year.
On the Southeast first team are Liberty’s Amanda Delgado and Jade Washington, Green Valley’s Sarah Pickus, Foothill’s Bri Higgins and Silverado’s Shea Collins.
Class 4A Girls All-League Teams
Northwest League
First Team
Courtney Hayes, Centennial; Jasmin Kiley, Palo Verde; Shannon Brown, Centennial; Breanah Manley, Legacy; Elisha Hensey, Shadow Ridge.
MVP–Alexis Byrd, Centennial.
Coach of the Year–Karen Weitz, Centennial.
Second Team
Alyssa Amoruso, Palo Verde; Erika Lang, Arbor View; Ashley Klemz, Centennial; Taryn Hicks, Cheyenne; Aubriana Hayes, Legacy.
Southwest League
First Team
Chelsie Pitt, Bishop Gorman; Amber Lane, Bishop Gorman; Zhane Dikes, Bishop Gorman; Alice Pitts, Bonanza; Cherelle Hicks, Durango; Jeanette Jackson, Sierra Vista.
MVP–Aaryn Ellenberg, Bishop Gorman.
Coach of the Year–Sheryl Krmpotich, Bishop Gorman.
Second Team
Daytril Beals, Bonanza; Auburn Smith, Desert Oasis; Megan Tullis, Durango; Alyson Kunzi, Pahrump Valley; Johnie Pride, Sierra Vista.
Northeast League
First Team
TaQuiyyah Boyles, Desert Pines; Shomari Harris, Las Vegas; Kenosha Wright, Canyon Springs; Janae Neuville, Chaparral; Estelle Wilson, Valley; Courtney Ladson, Las Vegas.
MVP—LaBrea Walker, Desert Pines.
Coach of the Year–Mel Washington, Desert Pines.
Second Team
Natresha Bernard, Las Vegas; Aisha Momodu, Rancho; Christina Davis, Valley; Shante Thomas, Canyon Springs; Maijah Williams, Rancho; Jessica Walton, Valley; DaNisha Wedlow, Sunrise Mountain; Claudia Meneses, Desert Pines.
Southeast League
First Team
Sarah Pickus, Green Valley; Shea Collins, Silverado; Bri Higgins, Foothill; Jade Washington, Liberty; Amanda Delgado, Liberty.
MVP–Jazmine Jarvis, Green Valley.
Coach of the Year–Mike Collins, Foothill.
Second Team
Natalie Lainhart, Silverado; Marquichea Burns, Basic; Danielle Christenson, Green Valley; Kailai Brantner, Basic; Cheryl Harless, Foothill; Destiny Whitehead, Liberty.

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.