weather icon Clear

Silverado Girls Basketball 2013-14 Capsule Preview



Head coach: Dean Bosch, third season

2012-13 record: 9-18 (1-9 Northeast, sixth)

Returning letter winners: Four

Top players: G/F Monet Salazar (Jr.), F/C Holly Messmer (Jr.)

Outlook: The Skyhawks return only four letter winners, including only two with significant varsity experience.

Salazar averaged 3.2 points per game, and Messmer chipped in 3.0 ppg last season. Both will be asked to add some offense.

“While we will be very young, we have a group of underclassmen who have had a lot of success at the freshman and junior varsity levels,” Bosch said. “We are hopeful that they will be able to continue that success at the varsity level.”

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.
2019 Best of Nevada Preps Awards — VIDEO

Find out the winners of the male and female athletes of the year, the coach and team of the year, winners of each sport’s athlete and coach of the year, and two special awards.

St. John’s edges Centennial in GEICO Nationals semifinal

Azzi Fudd hit a game-tying jumper with 45 seconds to play then hit the winning free throws with 8.3 seconds left to lift the second-ranked Cadets to a 63-61 win over the Bulldogs in New York City.

2019 GEICO Nationals tournament glance

The schedules and results (when available) for the GEICO Nationals boys and girls tournaments are here.

NIAA to re-evaluate rule allowing appeals of forfeits

The association’s board of control voted Wednesday to have staff write a proposal and survey member schools to possibly strike the ability for teams that use an ineligible to appeal any forfeits.

Commentary: NIAA absolutely must change ‘Contribution to Victory’ rule

The Nevada Interscholastic Activities Association will hold its spring meeting Wednesday and Thursday, when at some point this will be addressed: Review of “Contribution to Victory” Rule Regarding Forfeits — For Possible Action.

Class 3A: Moapa Valley comes up just short in title bid

The Pirates’ remarkable run to the Class 3A state tournament final came up one shot short Saturday in a 45-42 loss to Churchill County at Orleans Arena. It was the Greenwave’s third consecutive state championship.