weather icon Clear

1A SOUTHERN LEAGUE: Harrison leads 10 Wolverines to honors

It’s not often a softball team has 10 players receive all-league honors.

But that was Henderson International’s distinction when Class 1A Southern League coaches recently voted on all-league teams.

Sophomore pitcher Lee Harrison was named Player of the Year to highlight the awards for the Wolverines, who won the 1A state championship Saturday in Reno.

“I’d say regardless of 4A, 3A, 2A, 1A, they’re some of the most solid softball players,” Henderson International coach Mimie Hall said. “They’re well deserved.”

Entering the state tournament, Harrison led the Wolverines (30-4) in batting average (.589), home runs (8) and RBIs (63), and was 13-4 with an 0.80 ERA and 89 strikeouts in 88 innings. She pitched a no-hitter with eight strikeouts in a 9-0 win over Carlin in the 1A state title game.

Hall said the sophomore Harrison became a better leader by word and example when the team joined the 1A Southern League this year.

“She’s able to lead the team not only physically but verbally as well,” Hall said. “She’s able to really lead.”

Freshman first baseman/pitcher Hailey Schulz, sophomore second baseman Alyssa Ayers, sophomore third baseman Pamela Sakuma, sophomore shortstop Brittany Huff, sophomore outfielder/pitcher Natasha Chapman and sophomore catcher Kendal Short received first-team all-league honors.

Second-team recognition went to sophomore outfielder Ashlyn Barela, sophomore outfielder Lindsay Seberry and freshman outfielder Alex Battest.

Pahranagat Valley’s Mike Sparrow earned Coach of the Year honors after guiding the Panthers to an 8-4 league record and within one win of a state tournament berth.

The first team was rounded out by Lake Mead pitcher Lynzee Freund, catcher Amanda Wellman and designated hitter Annabelle Liston; Pahranagat Valley pitcher Addie Canning and outfielder Roxie Lasike; and Indian Springs outfielder Kristina Espinoza.

Second-team honors went to Indian Springs pitcher Brandi Bryl and catcher Heather Thormahlen; Tonopah pitcher Britney Klapper; Pahranagat Valley first baseman Alyssa Stirling, second baseman Jamey Brede, third baseman Stevie Horrocks, shortstop Kyla Mortensen and designated hitter Tami Spencer; and Lake Mead utility player Emma Khachikian.

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.
2019 Best of Nevada Preps Awards — VIDEO

Find out the winners of the male and female athletes of the year, the coach and team of the year, winners of each sport’s athlete and coach of the year, and two special awards.

Cougars’ Ashley Ward earns Gatorade honor

The senior is the second consecutive Coronado player to earn the Gatorade Nevada Player of the Year award, joining former teammate Tatum Spangler.

All-state teams to be announced in June

All-state teams in all eight spring sports will be released one per day, beginning on June 6 with boys golf.

Class 4A: Shadow Ridge wins first state championship

Jasmine Martin retired 12 of 16 batters and led a 15-hit attack to help the Mustangs to a 13-3, five-inning victory over Coronado on Saturday in the Class 4A title game.

Small schools: White Pine outlasts Lincoln County

White Pine scored 13 runs in the final four innings to roll to a 15-10 win over the Lynx in the opening round of the Class 2A state tournament at The Meadows.