weather icon Clear

DIVISION IV SOFTBALL HONORS: Indian Springs’ Heather Thormahlen tabbed as MVP

Indian Springs’ pitcher Heather Thormahlen was selected as the Division IV Southern League’s Most Valuable Player.

The senior right-hander led the Thunderbirds to the Southern Region title and a 16-9 overall record. Thormahlen, who helped Indian Springs to state titles in 2011 and 2012, went 2-for-3 with an inside-the-park home run, two stolen bases and two RBIs in Indian Springs’ 11-3 victory over Smith Valley in the state tournament losers’ bracket semifinal. She also tossed a complete game on the mound, striking out five with walking one.

The Thunderbirds eventually were eliminated in the losers’ bracket final by Eureka, 12-3, but Thormahlen was 2-for-3 with two triples, a run, and an RBI.

Thormahlen was joined by teammates Veronica Allen, Haley Bass, Cheyenne Noyes, Natasha Cruz, and Hannah Thormahlen on the all-league first team. Also making the squad was Pahranagat Valley’s Kennedy Huntsman, Brook Higbee, and Randi Jones, as well as Tonopah’s Megan Donham, Julia Klapper, Deanna VanPoucke, Kayla Galli, and Syndey Maughan. Indian Springs coach Lynn Dale was selected as Coach of the Year.

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.