CARSON CITY — Nevada ended its recognition of Arizona concealed-weapon permits Monday after learning the state’s training requirements were changed to standards below those required in Nevada.
The Nevada Sheriffs’ and Chiefs’ Association voted unanimously last week to end the recognition of Arizona concealed-weapon permits after a presentation by the state Department of Public Safety.
In early February, the association was notified by Las Vegas area firearms instructors that Arizona had changed its training requirements.
The changes were made by Arizona’s Legislature in 2010 and 2011. The more significant ones removed statutory minimum training requirements, statutory marksmanship and judgmental shooting requirements.
Robert Roshak, executive director of the association, said the Arizona law allows those seeking permits to take classes via the Internet, and it does away with live-fire training.
The changes created a substantially dissimilar training requirement compared with Nevada.
The Nevada Department of Public Safety must audit other states’ concealed- weapon laws and training regulations. In accordance with Nevada law, other states must have an electronic database of permit holders accessible 24 hours a day by law enforcement, and their training standards must be substantially similar to, or more stringent than Nevada’s .
The decision by Nevada to no longer honor the Arizona permits came on the same day the Nevada Senate unanimously approved a concealed-weapons measure sought by Sen. James Settelmeyer, R-Minden.
Concealed-weapons permit holders would have to pass one course only in firearms use and safety before they could carry guns under his Senate Bill 76, which goes to the Assembly.
Under current law, they must complete a training course in each kind of weapon they want to carry and conceal. But the bill would limit that requirement to one overall handgun training course .
In a short speech, Sen. Justin Jones, D-Las Vegas, said the bill will help “law- abiding gun owners.”
Roshak said Settelmeyer’s bill does not weaken Nevada’s training requirements like Arizona lawmakers did.
“It still requires you to be familiar with the weapon and firing it,” he said.
Residents of Nevada have to get a permit here to carry a concealed weapon, he said. People who move here from another state have to obtain a Nevada permit within 60 days, Roshak said.
Review-Journal writer Ed Vogel contributed to this story.