Buckley names Assembly committee chairs

CARSON CITY — Assembly Speaker Barbara Buckley, D-Las Vegas, announced today the names of legislators that she has appointed to chair the 11 Assembly committees at the 2009 Legislature.

Eight of the chairs of the Assembly, which continues to be under Democratic control, will remain the same as during the 2007 session, but three will be new.

Assemblyman Marcus Conklin of Las Vegas will chair the Commerce and Labor Committee, replacing John Oceguera of Las Vegas, who returns as the Assembly majority leader.

Assemblywoman Debbie Smith of Sparks will chair the Health and Human Services Committee, replacing Sheila Leslie of Reno, who will serve as Assembly majority whip.

Assemblyman William Horne of Las Vegas will become chairman of the Assembly Corrections, Parole and Probation Committee. He replaces David Parks of Las Vegas, who was elected to the state Senate on Nov. 4.

Buckley said she made the appointments after consulting leading members and sought to place legislators on committees where they had the greatest interest and expertise.

“Our leadership team recognizes that with term limits, there will be big changes in the Legislature in 2011,” said Buckley, who also will be affected by term limits.

She said they are committed to preparing new leaders for the 2011 session and veteran legislators have agreed to work with them.

Returning as Assembly chairs are:
—Morse Arberry of Las Vegas, Ways and Means
—Bernie Anderson of Sparks, Judiciary
—Bonnie Parnell of Carson City, Education
—Ellen Koivisto of Las Vegas, Elections, Procedures, Ethics and Constitutional Amendments
—Marilyn Kirkpatrick of North Las Vegas, Government Affairs
—Jerry Claborn of Las Vegas, Natural Resources, Agriculture and Mining
—Kathy McClain of Las Vegas, Taxation
—Kelvin Atkinson of Las Vegas, Transportation


News Headlines
pos-2 — ads_infeed_1
post-4 — ads_infeed_2
Local Spotlight
News Video
Home Front Page Footer Listing
You May Like

You May Like