Democratic hopefuls prevail in contests for all five Clark County offices

Democratic candidates won five races for Clark County offices as Republicans failed to get a foothold at the ground level.

The county assessor’s seat attracted a slew of candidates when Mark Schofield decided to retire after 18 years at the post.

Fellow Democrat Michele Shafe, assistant director in the office, won with 53 percent of the vote.

Republican Gerrit Hale received 39 percent , while independent candidate Brent Howard got 4 percent . Libertarian Sean Morse and Independent American Party candidate Curtis Christianson both got 2 percent .

In the recorder’s race, Democratic incumbent Debbie Conway was the clear victor with 53 percent of the vote. Republican Jim Edwards drew 42 percent , Alphonso Aguilar got 3 percent and Libertarian Kris McKinster received 2 percent .

Laura Fitzpatrick easily kept her job as treasurer. The Democratic incumbent pulled in 62 percent of the vote, beating Republican Mike Javornicky, who mustered 38 percent .

The public administrator race pitted Democratic incumbent John Cahill against Republican Jack Clark, Libertarian Wayne Rudolph and Dana Brown of the Independent American Party.

Cahill came out on top, with 51 percent of the vote. Clark finished a distant second with 43 percent , while Brown received 4 percent and Rudolph got 2 percent .

In the county clerk’s contest, Democrat Diana Alba drew 56 percent of the vote, compared with Republican Scott Austin’s 41 percent and Libertarian Russell Chey McDonald’s 3 percent .

Alba was appointed interim county clerk last year after Shirley Parraguirre, an 11-year clerk, died of leukemia.

Contact reporter Scott Wyland at or 702-455-4519.

News Headlines
Local Spotlight
Home Front Page Footer Listing
You May Like

You May Like