Marshall ousts Abbatangelo in close race

With all precincts reporting, Janiece Marshall edged Judge Tony Abbatangelo by about 1,300 votes in the nonpartisan race for the Las Vegas Justice of the Peace Department 3.

Abbatangelo, who has been a judge for 17 years, pleaded no contest last year to one count of misdemeanor battery domestic violence.

He was ordered to perform community service and attend domestic violence counseling for six months.

Marshall, a 47-year-old attorney who has practiced law in Nevada for almost 18 years, criticized Abbatangelo’s past and claimed it precludes him from being fair with victims of domestic violence who appear in his court.

In the Las Vegas Justice of the Peace Department 6 race, William “Bill” Kephart claimed 59 percent of the vote to Kristine Kuzemka’s 41 percent.

Kephart fills the seat left vacant by Nancy Oesterle, who is retiring.

Incumbent Justice of the Peace Karen Bennett will return for another term in the Las Vegas Department 7. Bennett took 62 percent of the vote, defeating opponent Robert Kurth, who claimed 38 percent.

With 59 percent of the vote, Suzan Baucum beat out challenger James Leslie Gubler for justice of the peace, Las Vegas Department 13.

Baucum, 50, is justice of the peace pro tem. The seat is the second new department in Las Vegas Justice Court in as many years.

In the Las Vegas Justice of the Peace Department 14 race, Deputy Attorney General Conrad Hafen defeated Deputy District Attorney Bernie Zadrowski 55 percent to 45 percent.

Hafen said he refused to accept campaign donations from lawyers to avoid any thought that he favored one lawyer over another because of money.

In Searchlight, Richard Hill defeated Dave “Batman” Thompson 53 percent to 47 percent. Hill is a retired shift supervisor and judge pro tem. In the primary, only three votes separated the two candidates.

Contact Kristi Jourdan at or 702-383-0279.

News Headlines
Local Spotlight
Home Front Page Footer Listing
You May Like

You May Like