weather icon Cloudy

Preliminary results show CCSD trustee races close

Updated June 12, 2024 - 9:14 pm

Races for Clark County School Board will likely advance to the general election, preliminary election results show.

In nonpartisan races, including those for School Board, a candidate who receives more than 50 percent of the vote wins the seat outright. Otherwise, the two top vote-getters advance to the general election. As of shortly after 11 p.m. Tuesday night, none of the more than two dozen candidates for School Board had passed that threshold.

In District A, Emily Stevens led with 25.7 percent of the vote, followed closely by Karl Catarata, who had 24.8 percent of the vote. Mercedes McKinley trailed in third with 17.7 percent of the vote. Anna Binder held 16.9 percent of the vote, followed by Rachel Puaina, who held 14.7 percent.

In District B, Lydia Dominguez led with 30.4 percent of the vote, followed by Eileen Eady, who had 24.1 percent. They were followed by Robert Plummer, 20.6 percent, Samuel Burns, 13.8 percent, Doug Self, 5.6 percent, and Deven Singh, 5.1 percent.

In District C, Tameka Henry led with 37.6 percent of the vote, followed by Evelyn Garcia Morales, who held 29 percent. Christopher Teacher trailed in third with 13.6 percent. Frank Friends held 13.2 percent, followed by Dante Thompson, with 6.4 percent.

In District E, Kamilah Bywaters led with 21.2 percent of the vote. She was followed closely by Lorena Biassotti, who held 19.8 percent of the vote, and Ryan Kissling, 19.1 percent. Leonard Lither, Carlo Meguerian, Paula Korth-Salsman, Jeremy Setters and Matthew Tramp all held less than 10 percent of the vote as of 11:30 p.m. Tuesday.

Contact Taylor R. Avery at TAvery@reviewjournal.com. Follow @travery98 on X.

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.