CARSON CITY — Cell phone users, beware. The Assembly, on a 24-17 vote on Memorial Day, passed an already Senate-approved bill that will outlaw the use of hand-held cell phones and texting by all drivers starting Jan. 1.
Under the bill, violators will be assessed $50 fines for the first offense, $100 for the second and $250 for the third and subsequent offenses. Police will start issuing warning to violators on Oct. 1, but the fines would not be imposed until 2012.
The Assembly tacked a minor amendment onto the bill, which must be approved before the measures goes to Gov. Brian Sandoval for his signature or veto. Sandoval’s policy has been not to reveal what he will do until the bill rearches his desk.
If he signs the bill, Nevada would be the 31st state to outlaw texting by all drivers. Eight others prohibit only teen-agers from texting. And Nevada would become the ninth state to prohibit the use of cell phones by all drivers unless they use hands-free devices.
Contact Capital Bureau Chief Ed Vogel at firstname.lastname@example.org or 775-687-3901.