weather icon Clear

WSOP player ties record with tournament win for 4th straight year

Updated June 20, 2019 - 10:02 pm

Loren Klein tied a World Series of Poker record by winning a tournament in four consecutive years.

The resident of Verdi took down the $2,500 buy-in Mixed Big Bet event Thursday at the Rio Convention Center, outlasting 217 other entrants.

He defeated Ryan Hughes of Phoenix to claim the $127,808 first prize and his fourth career bracelet.

Bill Boyd (1971 to 1974) and Doyle Brunson (1976 to 1979) are the only other players to capture bracelets in four straight years.

Contact David Schoen at dschoen@reviewjournal.com or 702-387-5203. Follow @DavidSchoenLVRJ on Twitter.

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.
Sports Betting Spotlight Videos
WSOP 2019: Hossein Ensan wins Main Event, $10M

Hossein Ensan won the 50th annual World Series of Poker Main Event and the $10 million first prize after eliminating Dario Sammartino in a heads-up duel after Alex Livingston was knocked out earlier Tuesday night at the Rio Convention Center.

Legal sports betting officially underway in New York

New York joined the growing list of states allowing wagering on sports after an upstate casino cut the ribbon on a new betting lounge Tuesday and took its first bet — $20 on the Seattle Mariners.

Sports betting legalized in New Hampshire

Republican Gov. Chris Sununu signed a bill Friday to allow mobile gambling as well as wagering at up to 10 retail locations across the state.