Dixon’s poise, points crucial for Centennial

Aaseem Dixon led Centennial’s boys basketball team in scoring and assists this season.

But the senior’s impact on the team went far beyond his averages of 15.9 points, 5.5 assists and 5.1 rebounds.

“He didn’t score 30, 35 like some of these players,” Centennial coach Todd Allen said. “As far as a team aspect, his presence and court awareness and his basketball knowledge just wore off on the team. The kids started to believe, and it was because of Aaseem.”

Dixon led a Centennial team that missed the playoffs last season to first place in the Northwest League this year. Area coaches rewarded his efforts by naming him the Northwest League’s Most Valuable Player and giving him a spot on the All-Sunset Region team.

Dixon was joined on the All-Sunset team by Southwest League MVP Shabazz Muhammad of Bishop Gorman, Cimarron-Memorial’s Erik Brewer, Desert Oasis’ Cameron Mich’l, Legacy’s Zach Lane, Mojave’s Andrew Lotts and Sierra Vista’s Viko Noma’aea.

Northeast League MVP Michael Thompson of Canyon Springs and Southeast League MVP Austin Nelson of Coronado highlighted the All-Sunrise Region team. They were joined by Canyon Springs’ Jared Brandon, Eldorado’s Curtis Stewart, Foothill’s Greg Cox, Liberty’s Aaron Navitsky and Valley’s Christian Kessee.

Cheyenne’s Khalid Banks and Palo Verde’s Nahjee Matlock and Eris Winder joined Dixon, Brewer, Lane and Lotts on the All-Northwest first team. Allen was named Coach of the Year.

In the Southwest, Muhammad and teammate Ben Carter were joined by Mich’l, Noma’aea, Durango’s Greg Gentry, Sierra Vista’s Maiscei Grier and Western’s Kentrell Washington on the league’s first team.

Sierra Vista’s Kent Johnson was the Coach of the Year.

In the Northeast, Thompson, Brandon, Stewart and Kessee made the first team with Chaparral’s Zach Kirschbaum, Desert Pines’ Leon Saunders and Las Vegas’ Travon Langston.

Canyon Springs’ Daryl Branham and Eldorado’s Mike Uzan shared the coaching honor.

In the Southeast, Nelson, Cox and Navitsky were joined by Green
Valley’s Earl Thompson, Tech’s Michael Johnson and Silverado’s Ruben Jackson and David Ware on the league’s first team.

Coronado coach Jeff Kaufman was Coach of the Year.

Contact prep sports editor Damon Seiters at dseiters@reviewjournal.com or 702-380-4587.

News Headlines
Add Event
Home Front Page Footer Listing
You May Like

You May Like