Capitals coach Barry Trotz isn’t interested in team’s past failures

Updated April 1, 2017 - 7:36 pm

GLENDALE, Ariz. — Barry Trotz wasn’t around for most of the disappointments. Yet, he gets asked about them all the time.

Frankly, the Washington Capitals coach would just as soon not play historian. He’s thinking only about the present and making sure his team is playing its best hockey when the Stanley Cup playoffs begin April 12.

“I think we’ve got some focus for the most part,” Trotz said Friday. “We didn’t show it all the time against Colorado (Wednesday), but this group has shown a willingness to keep learning, and if something is wrong in our game, we try and fix it.”

Perhaps with the playoffs looming and the Capitals’ postseason history — they’ve never won the Stanley Cup in their 42-year existence — everyone in D.C. is bracing for the worst. Trotz is in his second year behind the Caps’ bench. He has missed most of the misery.

“Everybody brings the past up, and to me it’s absolutely annoying,” he said. “The past is done. You can’t change it. It’s the past. All you can do is take care of business in the present. We can’t help what happened five years ago. We can’t help what happened last year. Move on.

“Guys were asking me who the hell LaFontaine is? They don’t know. But they ask me who he is, and that’s a stupid question.”

Of course, Trotz was referring to Pat LaFontaine, whose goal in the fourth overtime gave the New York Islanders a 3-2 win in Game 7 over the Capitals in 1987, one of the most crushing defeats in the franchise’s history.

But the current Capitals players are focused on gathering momentum, though Washington was derailed Friday 6-3 by the Arizona Coyotes.

“I think we’ve done a good job of trying to play a 60-minute game,” said T.J. Oshie. “We’re playing with a lot of confidence, and we’re looking to carry it into the playoffs.”

Lars Eller said: “We’ve got a little bit of our mojo back. We’re finding ways to win games when we’re not playing our best.”

The Capitals have won seven of their past nine entering Sunday’s game against Columbus. With 111 points and five games remaining, a win over the Blue Jackets might be enough to wrap up the Presidents’ Trophy. Chicago has 107 points and four games left.

KELLER HAPPY WITH START

Clayton Keller, the Coyotes’ first-round pick from 2016 who signed with the team last Sunday after a year at Boston University, had a whirlwind first week in the NHL.

After he signed, he flew to St. Louis, where he grew up, and notched an assist in his NHL debut Monday. He was kept off the score sheet Wednesday in the rematch with the Blues, and Coyotes coach Dave Tippett gave him Friday off against Washington.

“It’s been pretty hectic,” said Keller, who is living in a hotel. “But the guys have been really supportive, and I think I did the right thing turning pro. I had a great year of college, some wonderful memories, but it’s time to test my skills against the best players in the world.”

Keller, who was part of the gold-medal winning team for the United States at the World Junior Championships, said playing against that kind of quality competition helped in his decision to sign with Arizona.

“There were great players there, and it was a tremendous experience,” said Keller, who said the gold medal is home in St. Louis. “Between the worlds and playing college, I have so many great memories.”

Tippett said the important thing for Keller is to learn and adjust his game to the faster, more physical NHL.

“He obviously has to get stronger,” Tippett said. “But the biggest thing I’ve noticed about him since he’s been with us is he looks real young but he thinks the game as a mature player. He knows the game. He understands what’s going on, and he picks things up quickly. And there’s a lot of guys helping him out.”

Keller said the plan is to stay in Phoenix this summer, work out with his teammates, find a place to live and get familiar with the area.

“I have a lot of things to work on,” he said. “I think I can get a lot done staying here.”

Steve Carp’s weekly NHL notebook appears Sundays. Contact him at scarp@reviewjournal.com or 702-387-2913. Follow @stevecarprj on Twitter.

ad-high_impact_4
Golden Knights Videos
Golden Edge: VGK Practice 10-18-2018
Adam Hill, David Schoen, and Ben Gotz discuss the Golden Knights practice, Deryk Engelland's status, and Tomas Hyka's path to the team
Golden Knights Talk To Media After Thursday Practice
Golden Knights talk to media in the locker room after practice on Thursday.
Gallant Talks After Practice On Thursday
Golden Knights head coach Gerard Gallant goes over how the lines are developing at practice.
Gerard Gallant On Win Against Sabres
Gerard Gallant talks after practice about the Golden Knights win over the Buffalo Sabres and the teams overall performance.
Cody Eakin On His Personal Improvement As A Golden Knight
Cody Eakin talks about his improvement as a Golden Knight this season and the work he put in over the summer.
Golden Edge: Knights Mood Improved After Win Against Sabres
Adam Hill, David Schoen and Ben Gotz go over how the Golden Knights are feeling after their win against the Buffalo Sabres while Alex Tuch gets a workout on the ice.
Golden Edge: Karlsson Scores First Goal; Knights Beat Sabres
Adam Hill, Ben Gotz and David Schoen go over the Golden Knights win over the Buffalo Sabres.
Golden Knights On 4-1 Win Against Buffalo
The Golden Knights react to their first win after the road trip against the Buffalo Sabres.
Golden Edge Mailbag - October 16th, 2018
Ben Gotz and Adam Hill answer your Golden Knights questions.
Golden Edge: Eakin Scores Winning Goal During Final Road Trip Game
Golden Knights beat reporter David Schoen goes over the Knights final game of the road trip against the Philadelphia Flyers
Would the NFL be accepted abroad?
Review-Journal columnist Ed Graney takes to the streets of London, England, ahead of the Oakland Raiders facing the Seattle Seahawks to find out if the NFL is accepted, if the game is understood and what its fan base is like outside of the United States.
Golden Edge: Phil Kessel Has Hat Trick in Win Over Knights
The Pittsburgh Penguins defeat the Las Vegas Golden Knights 4-2. Ben Gotz and David Schoen report from Pittsburgh.
Golden Edge: Knights Lose First Stanley Cup Rematch
The Golden Knights lose 5-2 against the Washington Capitals and fall to 1-3 on the season. David Schoen and Ben Gotz report from Washington.
Golden Edge: Mailbag — October 9, 2018
Adam Hill is joined by Ben Gotz via skype from Washington, D.C. to answer questions submitted from Golden Knights fans.
Gallant on Washington Capitals rematch
Golden Knights Coach Gerard Gallant plays down the connection between Wednesday's game against the Washington Capitals and the Stanley Cup Final results last season.
VGS themed games from AGS at G2E Global Gaming Expo
A Golden Knights-themed slot machine was on display Tuesday at the G2E Global Gaming Expo as AGS showed two products that came out of a 3-year contract with the Knights. A video roulette game featuring a Knights helmet and an enormous slot machine were on the floor along with Knights cheerleaders, the Drumbots and Chance, the Knights' mascot. (Mat Luschek/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Golden Edge: Knights Fall to Sabres 4-2
The Sabres defeat the Golden Knights 4-2 with 3 goals in the second period. Ben Gotz and David Schoen report from Buffalo.
Golden Edge: Knights Beat Wild In Shootout
Ben Gotz and David Schoen go over the Knights comeback win against the Minnesota Wild. The Knights won 2-1 in a shootout against the Minnesota Wild. (October 7, 2018)
Golden Edge: Knights Fall In Season Opener
Elaine Wilson, Adam Hill, Ben Gotz and David Schoen go over the Golden Knights 5-2 loss to the Philadelphia Flyers in their season opener. (Videographer: Heidi Fang, Edited By: Nathan Asselin)
Golden Knights React To Season Opener Loss
Golden Knights react to their 5-2 loss against the Philadelphia Flyers.
Gold Carpet Before Golden Knights Season Opener
John Katsilometes is on the gold carpet before the Golden Knights season opener.
Golden Knights talk after practice
Marc-Andre Fleury, Max Pacioretty and Cody Eakin in the locker room on Wed. October 3, 2018.
Golden Edge: Last Practice Before Season Opener
Adam Hill and David Schoen at City National Arena during the Golden Knights' morning skate and media day before the opener Thursday against the Philadelphia Flyers.
Media Day: Gerard Gallant and George McPhee Presser
Head coach Gerard Gallant and GM George McPhee talk about Alex Tuch, Cody Eakin, Nate Schmidt, and the start of season number two for the franchise.
Golden Edge: Mailbag — October 2, 2018
Ben Gotz and Adam Hill answer questions submitted from Golden Knights fans.
Vegas Golden Knights show support at blood drive
Members of the Vegas Golden Knights NHL team showed up for a community blood drive on the first anniversary of the Las Vegas shooting, Oct. 1, 2018. (Mat Luschek/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Golden Edge: Knights Beat Kings 2-0
Adam Hill and David Schoen report from T-Mobile Arena after the Knights beat the Kings 2-0.
Golden Edge: Shea Theodore Returns to Practice
Adam Hill, Ben Gotz, and David Schoen are at the Golden Knight's practice where Shea Thedore is suited back up for the first time this season.
Golden Edge: Mailbag — September 25, 2018
Ben Gotz and Adam Hill answer questions submitted from Golden Knights fans.
Golden Edge: Knights Lose 5-3, but re-sign Shea Theodore
Bryan Salmond is in studio while Ben Gotz, Adam Hill and David Schoen report from T-Mobile Arena on the Knights preseason game vs. the Colorado Avalanche.
Golden Edge: Knights Lose 5-3 but Re-Sign Shea Theodore
Bryan Salmond is in studio and Ben Gotz, Adam Hill, and David Schoen report from T-Mobile arena on the Knights preseason game vs the Colorado Avalanche.
Golden Edge: Knights Rally To Win During Shootout
Golden Knights beat reporter David Schoen goes over the Golden Knights shootout win against the San Jose Sharks.
Golden Edge: Knights Win Third Preseason Game
Golden Edge host Bryan Salmond and Golden Knights beat reporter David Schoen go over the Knights 7-2 win over the L.A. Kings.
Nevada Task Force One Cheers Golden Knights
Nevada Task Force One Cheers Golden Knights
Lucas Elvenes is ranked as one of the Golden Knights' top prospects
Lucas Elvenes is ranked as one of the Golden Knights' top prospects after a breakout season in Sweden. He slid to the fifth round in the 2017 draft after being projected to be selected much higher. “I wasn’t happy about being a fifth-rounder. But it was good for me, too, because I didn’t have so much pressure when I came here," Elvenes said. Elvenes posted five goals and 16 points in 28 games while playing in the top league in Sweden. The Knights signed Elvenes to a three-year, entry-level contract in June.
Golden Knights rookie camp - Day 2
The Golden Knights held their second day of rookie camp at City Arena in Las Vegas. Bizuayehu Tesfaye/Las Vegas Review-Journal @bizutesfaye
William Karlsson and the Golden Knights are headed to arbitration
Of all the salary arbitration cases in the NHL this summer, none is more compelling than the one involving William Karlsson and the Golden Knights. Karlsson is seeking $6.5 million annually in arbitration. The Knights countered with an offer of $3.5 million annually. Karlsson's arbitration hearing is scheduled for Saturday in Toronto. During the hearing, the player and team present evidence. The arbitrator then has 48 hours to render a decision, and the team decides on a one- or two-year contract. Karlsson’s agent and the Knights can continue to negotiate a new contract prior to the hearing.
TOP NEWS
News Headlines
Add Event
Home Front Page Footer Listing
Circular
You May Like

You May Like