Erik Haula faces fight to keep spot on Knights’ second line

Updated September 11, 2018 - 7:45 pm

Sunday night’s blockbuster acquisition of Max Pacioretty is the latest step in Golden Knights general manager George McPhee’s revamping of the team’s second line.

Erik Haula was on the unit last year alongside David Perron and James Neal, both of whom departed via free agency this summer.

Pacioretty likely will play wing on the second line with fellow newcomer Paul Stastny in the middle.

Alex Tuch is the leading candidate to join them as the Knights try to improve a group that struggled defensively last season.

Haula, who spoke to reporters Tuesday during the Knights’ charity golf tournament at Bear’s Best Las Vegas, doesn’t seem ready to concede his spot days before camp officially opens.

“I think of myself as a top-six forward, and that’s my mindset going into camp,” he said.

That decision will be made by coach Gerard Gallant, but Haula is excited to compete for his spot. He’s also pleased with the addition of Pacioretty.

“He’s an elite goal scorer,” Haula said. “I think he’s going to fit in that spot (vacated by Neal) really well. He’s a really good addition. He can skate and he’s a big body and I think he’ll fit right in.”

Glass breaks out

Top prospect Cody Glass scored two goals Tuesday in the Knights’ final game of the Vegas Rookie Faceoff, a 7-2 win over the Los Angeles Kings.

The tallies were his first of the three-game event and came hours after meeting with director of player development Wil Nichol.

“I wasn’t playing like a sixth overall pick in those first two games,” said Glass, a first-round pick in 2017. “That’s what was frustrating me the most. Today, I came out with an edge. I really want to be strong with the puck and play an NHL-style, and I feel I did that.

“(Nichol) pulled me aside this morning. He could see I was getting frustrated. I’m good at not showing it, but he’s one of those guys that can just tell and he got it out of me. He knows how to calm you down and get the best out of you. Credit to him because I wouldn’t have had the game I had without him.”

Rocky Thompson, who served as coach of the rookie team, was pleased with Glass’ play even before he got on the scoreboard.

“I think Cody’s been playing extremely hard and competing very hard this week,” Thompson said. “Tonight was just the night where he kind of separated himself.”

One area of Glass’ game that is severely lacking is his combat skills.

He praised linemate Keegan Kolesar for having his back and fighting Austin Wagner of the Kings not long after Wagner got back on the ice following his penalty for going after Glass.

“I’m not a guy who gets into the rough stuff, so it’s nice having a guy like Keegan on my line,” Glass said. “He was protecting me. He’s always got my back. That’s why he’s such a good leader and why he’s wearing an ‘A.’ I’m not a fighter.”

Glass said he may have to think about stepping up his skills in that area should he find himself on the Knights in the near future.

“The UFC headquarters aren’t too far away,” he joked. “I may have to get in there a few times a week. I don’t know, maybe if I can gain like 20 more pounds, I might think about fighting.”

The Knights are more concerned with his progress on the ice, which seemed to take a big step forward this week.

Propped up

The Westgate sports book posted several individual proposition bets Tuesday featuring Knights players for the upcoming season.

Pacioretty’s goal total opened at 30.5, the same as the total for Jonathan Marchessault. William Karlsson’s number is slightly higher at 32.5.

There are also wagering opportunities for total points scored by Stastny (50.5) and Reilly Smith (63.5).

Goaltender Marc-Andre Fleury’s win total was listed at 28.5.

Wagering is also available on who will lead the Knights in goals. Karlsson is listed as the favorite at 9-to-5.

More Golden Knights: Follow all of our Golden Knights coverage online at reviewjournal.com/GoldenKnights and @HockeyinVegas on Twitter.

Contact Adam Hill at ahill@reviewjournal.com or 702-277-8028. Follow @AdamHillLVRJ on Twitter.

ad-high_impact_4
Golden Knights Videos
Golden Knights Gallant on the team's 4-1 loss to the Blues
Vegas Golden Knights head coach Gerard Gallant discusses the team's 4-1 loss to the St. Louis Blues and says what kind of impact he expects Nate Schmidt to make upon his return.
Coach Gerard Gallant Speaks After Morning Skate
Before playing the St. Louis Blues tonight Gerard Gallant speaks with the media after the Golden Knights morning skate at City National Arena | November 16, 2018.
Coach Gallant Speaks with the Media After Practice
City National Arena | November 15, 2018.
Golden Edge: Fleury Shuts Out Anaheim
Vegas Golden Knights beat the Anaheim Ducks 5-0. Marc-Andre Fleury gets his third shutout on the season in his shiny new pads. Adam Hill, Dave Schoen, and Ben Gotz report from T-Mobile Arena.
Gallant on the Golden Knights win over the Ducks
Gerard Gallant discusses how key the home victory over the Anaheim Ducks was for the Vegas Golden Knights.
Golden Knights after their 5-0 win over the Anaheim Ducks
Vegas Golden Knights players talk about the 5-0 win on their home ice over the Anaheim Ducks.
Gerard Gallant On Haula And Stastny Status
Golden Knights head coach Gerard Gallants speaks after practice about the status of Erik Haula and Paul Stastny.
Golden Edge: Alex Tuch Interview
Adam Hill and Ben Gotz interview Golden Knights forward Alex Tuch.
Golden Edge Mailbag With Alex Tuch
Golden Knights' Alex Tuch is LIVE in-studio for our VGK Mailbag with reporters Ben Gotz and Adam Hill!
Golden Edge: November 12 Practice
Ben Gotz and David Schoen discuss Nate Schmidt's return to practice, Gallant's absence, and Erik Haula's injury.
Nate Schmidt On Suspension
Golden Knights Defenseman Nate Schmidt talks about his suspension.
Golden Edge: Knights Coming Home After Loss To Boston
Golden Knights beat writer David Schoen goes over the Knights loss to the Boston Bruins.
Golden Edge: Pacioretty makes his return to Montreal
Max Pacioretty makes his return to Montreal, but it is former Golden Knight Tomas Tatar who scores the game winner for the Canadiens defeating the Knights 5-4. David Schoen reports from Montreal.
Golden Edge: Knights Beat Senators On The Road
Golden Knights beat reporter David Schoen goes over the Golden Knights win against the Senators.
Knights defenseman Nate Schmidt discusses his suspension
Golden Knights defenseman Nate Schmidt discusses his suspension after practice in Ottawa (Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Gallant on Toronto loss
Gallant on Pacioretty
Gallant on how season has gone
Pacioretty on possible return
Golden Edge: Knights Shutout the Hurricanes
The Golden Knights defeat Carolina 3-0, with Marc-Andre Fleury marking his 50th career shutout. Adam Hill and Ed Graney report from T-Mobile Arena.
Marc-Andre Fleury and William Carrier on the Knights Win Over Carolina
November 3, 2018 at T-Mobile Arena.
Coach Gallant Presser
Gerard Gallant speaks after the Knights defeat Carolina 3-0 at T-Mobile Arena November 3, 2018.
Golden Edge: Knights Feeling Blue After Loss In St. Louis
Golden Knights beat reporter David Schoen goes over the Knights 5-3 loss to the St. Louis Blues.
Gallant and Marchessault on Perron
Coach Gerard Gallant and Golden Knights Jonathan Marchessault comment on former Knights player David Perron (Dave Schoen/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Coach Gerard Gallant on former Knights player David Perron
Coach Gerard Gallant on former Knights player David Perron (Dave Schoen/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Marchessault on Perron
Gallant on consistency after a loss to the Nashville Predators
Coach Gerard Gallant says the Golden Knights are playing well in stretches, but consistency has been a problem. (David Schoen/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Fleury on commercial
Marc-Andre Fleury talks about a commercial that features him in disguise as Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins.
Fleury on wig
Marc-Andre Fleury puts on a blond wig at the end of practice to get some laughs.
Golden Edge: Knights Fall To Predators
Golden Knights beat reporter David Schoen goes over the Knights 4-1 loss to the Nashville Predators.
Golden Edge Mailbag - October 30, 2018
Adam Hill and Ben Gotz answer your burning questions about the Golden Knights.
Golden Edge: Marchessault Hits Penalty Shot in OT
The Golden Knights defeat the Ottawa Senators 4-3 in overtime. Ben Gotz, Adam Hill, and David Schoen report from T-Mobile Arena.
Gallant says team's tenacity led to OT win over the Senators
Vegas Golden Knights head coach Gerard Gallant discusses the Golden Knights win over the Ottawa Senators in overtime and how Ryan Reaves and Alex Tuch's contributions helped.
Golden Knights talk OT win, ready for road games
The Vegas Golden Knights talk about winning in overtime against the Ottawa Senators and how they will carry over that momentum on their upcoming road games.
Golden Edge: Knights Fall To Tampa, Pacioretty Exits Game
Adam Hill, Ben Gotz and David Schoen go over the Knights loss to the Tampa Bay Lightning.
Golden Knights locker room post following loss to Lightning
The Vegas Golden Knights agreed following their loss to the Tampa Bay Lightning that they need to play more aggressive and be more consistent throughout the game to come out victorious.
Gallant says Golden Knights need to play hungrier
Following the Vegas Golden Knights loss to the Tampa Bay Lightning head coach Gerard Gallant says the team needs to play hungrier and be more consistent to get wins.
VGS themed games from AGS at G2E Global Gaming Expo
A Golden Knights-themed slot machine was on display Tuesday at the G2E Global Gaming Expo as AGS showed two products that came out of a 3-year contract with the Knights. A video roulette game featuring a Knights helmet and an enormous slot machine were on the floor along with Knights cheerleaders, the Drumbots and Chance, the Knights' mascot. (Mat Luschek/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Golden Knights talk after practice
Marc-Andre Fleury, Max Pacioretty and Cody Eakin in the locker room on Wed. October 3, 2018.
Vegas Golden Knights show support at blood drive
Members of the Vegas Golden Knights NHL team showed up for a community blood drive on the first anniversary of the Las Vegas shooting, Oct. 1, 2018. (Mat Luschek/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Nevada Task Force One Cheers Golden Knights
Nevada Task Force One Cheers Golden Knights
Lucas Elvenes is ranked as one of the Golden Knights' top prospects
Lucas Elvenes is ranked as one of the Golden Knights' top prospects after a breakout season in Sweden. He slid to the fifth round in the 2017 draft after being projected to be selected much higher. “I wasn’t happy about being a fifth-rounder. But it was good for me, too, because I didn’t have so much pressure when I came here," Elvenes said. Elvenes posted five goals and 16 points in 28 games while playing in the top league in Sweden. The Knights signed Elvenes to a three-year, entry-level contract in June.
Golden Knights rookie camp - Day 2
The Golden Knights held their second day of rookie camp at City Arena in Las Vegas. Bizuayehu Tesfaye/Las Vegas Review-Journal @bizutesfaye
TOP NEWS
News Headlines
Add Event
Home Front Page Footer Listing
Circular
You May Like

You May Like