Golden Knights’ James Neal returns to Nashville a wiser player

Updated December 7, 2017 - 4:32 pm

NASHVILLE, Tenn. — The incidents will never be expunged from James Neal’s permanent record. Three suspensions in four years, along with three fines from the NHL.

And a reputation as one of the dirtiest players in the league.

“I was getting suspended too much,” Neal said this week.

But following a trade to the Nashville Predators in the summer of 2014, Neal spent three seasons learning to curb a bit of the old ultraviolence and repairing his tarnished image.

SHORT DESCRIPTION (Las Vegas Review-Journal)

The 30-year-old forward arrives at his former home a fully reformed player when the Golden Knights (17-9-1, 35 points) meet the Predators (18-7-3, 39 points) at 5 p.m. Friday at Bridgestone Arena.

”He was a good player. You can tell just by the way he’s off to this year,” fourth-year Nashville coach Peter Laviolette said Thursday. “He’s an effective player. He puts the puck in the back of the net. He’s done it his whole career.

“He was here from the time I got here. He was part of the leadership group, part of the reason why, I believe, we kept taking steps forward and steps in the right direction.”

Neal was suspended for two games for boarding as a member of the Dallas Stars during his second season in the league in 2009.

While with the Pittsburgh Penguins, he was slapped with a one-game suspension during the 2012 Eastern Conference quarterfinals for separate hits on Philadelphia’s Sean Couturier and Claude Giroux during Game 3.

Neal also was given a five-game suspension in 2013 for kneeing Boston’s Brad Marchand in the head.

“You’ve got to harness it for sure, and when I was younger I don’t think I did it right sometimes,” said the 6-foot-2-inch, 221-pound Neal. “I would get too wound up in the game, and find myself in bad positions. Hitting guys at the wrong times, doing things at the wrong times, and being late to checks.

“But I think as I’ve grown as a player, and as I’ve matured and become older, you learn. You’ve got to be smart with where you are, especially with how fast the game is now.”

Neal was dealt from Pittsburgh to Nashville during the 2014 draft and scored 77 goals in 219 games while helping the Predators reach the Stanley Cup Finals last season.

More significantly, Neal hasn’t run afoul of the NHL’s Department of Player Safety since a fine for “diving” almost three years ago.

He credits former Predators captain Mike Fisher, who retired in August after 17 seasons in the league, for helping with his maturation.

“He plays the game as hard as anybody but never crosses the line,” Neal said. “He’s an unbelievable guy, a great player, great role model. He’s a guy that I definitely learned to look up to.”

Neal was plucked from the Predators in the expansion draft and has 14 penalty minutes to go with 13 goals and 21 points in 27 games. He will be an unrestricted free agent at the end of the season, which for now leaves his long-term future with the Knights unclear.

“I take it day by day and enjoy this,” Neal said. “I have a chance to play on an expansion team in Las Vegas. I never thought I’d be driving 20 minutes down the 215, turn onto the Las Vegas Strip, it’s pretty special. I’m just taking it all in.”

Neal ranks 15th on the Knights in hits (13), but still brings plenty of oomph to the lineup.

On opening night in Dallas, he cleaned out the Stars’ Tyler Seguin from the side of the net with a hard hit.

During the Knights’ 5-2 win at Vancouver on Nov. 16, Neal won a battle behind the net against 6-5, 220-pound Erik Gudbranson to help set up Erik Haula’s go-ahead goal.

Neal fought off Anaheim’s 6-6, 219-pound defenseman Jaycob Megna to get at a rebound and score the opener in Tuesday’s 4-3 shootout win over the Ducks.

“You want guys playing with an edge, and that’s the way he’s played all the time,” Knights coach Gerard Gallant said. “And that’s the way sometimes he gets the room in front of the net and down low. He’s a physical player when he plays that type of game, and the bigger the game, the bigger he is.”

More Golden Knights: Follow all of our Golden Knights coverage online at reviewjournal.com/GoldenKnights and @HockeyinVegas on Twitter.

Contact David Schoen at dschoen@reviewjournal.com or 702-387-5203. Follow @DavidSchoenLVRJ on Twitter.

ad-high_impact_4
Golden Knights Videos
Golden Edge Mailbag - October 16th, 2018
Ben Gotz and Adam Hill answer your Golden Knights questions.
Golden Edge: Eakin Scores Winning Goal During Final Road Trip Game
Golden Knights beat reporter David Schoen goes over the Knights final game of the road trip against the Philadelphia Flyers
Would the NFL be accepted abroad?
Review-Journal columnist Ed Graney takes to the streets of London, England, ahead of the Oakland Raiders facing the Seattle Seahawks to find out if the NFL is accepted, if the game is understood and what its fan base is like outside of the United States.
Golden Edge: Phil Kessel Has Hat Trick in Win Over Knights
The Pittsburgh Penguins defeat the Las Vegas Golden Knights 4-2. Ben Gotz and David Schoen report from Pittsburgh.
Golden Edge: Knights Lose First Stanley Cup Rematch
The Golden Knights lose 5-2 against the Washington Capitals and fall to 1-3 on the season. David Schoen and Ben Gotz report from Washington.
Golden Edge: Mailbag — October 9, 2018
Adam Hill is joined by Ben Gotz via skype from Washington, D.C. to answer questions submitted from Golden Knights fans.
Gallant on Washington Capitals rematch
Golden Knights Coach Gerard Gallant plays down the connection between Wednesday's game against the Washington Capitals and the Stanley Cup Final results last season.
VGS themed games from AGS at G2E Global Gaming Expo
A Golden Knights-themed slot machine was on display Tuesday at the G2E Global Gaming Expo as AGS showed two products that came out of a 3-year contract with the Knights. A video roulette game featuring a Knights helmet and an enormous slot machine were on the floor along with Knights cheerleaders, the Drumbots and Chance, the Knights' mascot. (Mat Luschek/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Golden Edge: Knights Fall to Sabres 4-2
The Sabres defeat the Golden Knights 4-2 with 3 goals in the second period. Ben Gotz and David Schoen report from Buffalo.
Golden Edge: Knights Beat Wild In Shootout
Ben Gotz and David Schoen go over the Knights comeback win against the Minnesota Wild. The Knights won 2-1 in a shootout against the Minnesota Wild. (October 7, 2018)
Golden Edge: Knights Fall In Season Opener
Elaine Wilson, Adam Hill, Ben Gotz and David Schoen go over the Golden Knights 5-2 loss to the Philadelphia Flyers in their season opener. (Videographer: Heidi Fang, Edited By: Nathan Asselin)
Golden Knights React To Season Opener Loss
Golden Knights react to their 5-2 loss against the Philadelphia Flyers.
Gold Carpet Before Golden Knights Season Opener
John Katsilometes is on the gold carpet before the Golden Knights season opener.
Golden Knights talk after practice
Marc-Andre Fleury, Max Pacioretty and Cody Eakin in the locker room on Wed. October 3, 2018.
Golden Edge: Last Practice Before Season Opener
Adam Hill and David Schoen at City National Arena during the Golden Knights' morning skate and media day before the opener Thursday against the Philadelphia Flyers.
Media Day: Gerard Gallant and George McPhee Presser
Head coach Gerard Gallant and GM George McPhee talk about Alex Tuch, Cody Eakin, Nate Schmidt, and the start of season number two for the franchise.
Golden Edge: Mailbag — October 2, 2018
Ben Gotz and Adam Hill answer questions submitted from Golden Knights fans.
Vegas Golden Knights show support at blood drive
Members of the Vegas Golden Knights NHL team showed up for a community blood drive on the first anniversary of the Las Vegas shooting, Oct. 1, 2018. (Mat Luschek/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Golden Edge: Knights Beat Kings 2-0
Adam Hill and David Schoen report from T-Mobile Arena after the Knights beat the Kings 2-0.
Golden Edge: Shea Theodore Returns to Practice
Adam Hill, Ben Gotz, and David Schoen are at the Golden Knight's practice where Shea Thedore is suited back up for the first time this season.
Golden Edge: Mailbag — September 25, 2018
Ben Gotz and Adam Hill answer questions submitted from Golden Knights fans.
Golden Edge: Knights Lose 5-3, but re-sign Shea Theodore
Bryan Salmond is in studio while Ben Gotz, Adam Hill and David Schoen report from T-Mobile Arena on the Knights preseason game vs. the Colorado Avalanche.
Golden Edge: Knights Lose 5-3 but Re-Sign Shea Theodore
Bryan Salmond is in studio and Ben Gotz, Adam Hill, and David Schoen report from T-Mobile arena on the Knights preseason game vs the Colorado Avalanche.
Golden Edge: Knights Rally To Win During Shootout
Golden Knights beat reporter David Schoen goes over the Golden Knights shootout win against the San Jose Sharks.
Golden Edge: Knights Win Third Preseason Game
Golden Edge host Bryan Salmond and Golden Knights beat reporter David Schoen go over the Knights 7-2 win over the L.A. Kings.
Nevada Task Force One Cheers Golden Knights
Nevada Task Force One Cheers Golden Knights
Golden Edge: Vegas Fans Show their Love at Fan Fest
Bryan Salmond is on the red carpet at the downtown Las Vegas Events Center as the 2018-2019 Golden Knights show up for Fan Fest.
Golden Edge: Knights Back From Colorado
Golden Knights reporters Adam Hill and Ben Gotz talk about Knights preseason training camp and how Max Pacioretty is fitting in with the Knights.
Golden Edge: Mailbag — September 17, 2018
Ben Gotz answers questions submitted from Golden Knights fans.
Golden Edge: Knights Win First Preseason Game
Golden Edge host Bryan Salmond, David Schoen, Ben Gotz and Adam hill recap the Golden Knights first preseason game win against the Arizona Coyotes.
Golden Edge: First Practice
Adam Hill and David Schoen discuss the first day of practice for the Golden Knights.
Golden Knights Presser Max Pacioretty
Max Pacioretty speaks about his first impressions coming to the Vegas Golden Knights.
Golden Edge: Mailbag
Ben Gotz answers questions submitted from Golden Knights' fans about recent roster changes.
Golden Edge: Golden Knights Rookies Faceoff Against The Sharks Good
Golden Edge host Bryan Salmond breaks down the 5-4 loss the Golden Knights rookies had against the San Jose Sharks.
Lucas Elvenes is ranked as one of the Golden Knights' top prospects
Lucas Elvenes is ranked as one of the Golden Knights' top prospects after a breakout season in Sweden. He slid to the fifth round in the 2017 draft after being projected to be selected much higher. “I wasn’t happy about being a fifth-rounder. But it was good for me, too, because I didn’t have so much pressure when I came here," Elvenes said. Elvenes posted five goals and 16 points in 28 games while playing in the top league in Sweden. The Knights signed Elvenes to a three-year, entry-level contract in June.
Golden Knights rookie camp - Day 2
The Golden Knights held their second day of rookie camp at City Arena in Las Vegas. Bizuayehu Tesfaye/Las Vegas Review-Journal @bizutesfaye
William Karlsson and the Golden Knights are headed to arbitration
Of all the salary arbitration cases in the NHL this summer, none is more compelling than the one involving William Karlsson and the Golden Knights. Karlsson is seeking $6.5 million annually in arbitration. The Knights countered with an offer of $3.5 million annually. Karlsson's arbitration hearing is scheduled for Saturday in Toronto. During the hearing, the player and team present evidence. The arbitrator then has 48 hours to render a decision, and the team decides on a one- or two-year contract. Karlsson’s agent and the Knights can continue to negotiate a new contract prior to the hearing.
TOP NEWS
News Headlines
Add Event
Home Front Page Footer Listing
Circular
You May Like

You May Like