Golden Knights strengthen Wolves’ defense with deal for Philip Holm

The Golden Knights made a splash at the NHL trade deadline by acquiring wing Tomas Tatar from Detroit. But a quieter deal earlier Monday for defenseman Philip Holm figures to provide a valuable return for the Chicago Wolves.

“It gives them more depth potentially if Vegas needs him,” Chicago coach Rocky Thompson said. “But it certainly helps solidify our defense here moving forward, which we feel is a really good group.”

The 26-year-old learned of the trade Monday morning while in Colorado with the Canucks. Brendan Leipsic was sent to Vancouver and Holm was assigned to Chicago. He started started his Wolves career with a rare 11 a.m. game on Tuesday.

Holm played in 42 games with the Utica Comets before the trade and led all defensemen with 11 goals and 18 assists. He became Chicago’s leading blue-liner once he was added to the roster.

“I’m a two-way defender, I like to skate with the puck and contribute to the offense whenever I can get the shots,” Holm said. “With a new team, it’s important to get to know the system and get into playing your game right away.”

Holm has come a long way from home in the past year. It’s his first North American season after three in the Swedish Hockey League, but he already has one special tie to Vegas: he made his NHL debut at T-Mobile Arena when Vancouver played the Knights last Friday.

“I was excited, because I was just there about a week ago playing them, so I know about the atmosphere and the rink,” Holm said. “They’ve got a really good team, and it’s fun.”

Best offense is good depth

Forwards Stefan Matteau, Tomas Hyka and Paul Thompson have already spent time in Vegas this season — and post-trade deadline more could join the list.

The Golden Knights aren’t limited in their number of AHL call-ups going forward, and they could be imminent as the regular season winds down.

But there’s no worries in Chicago.

“What it tells us is that both organizations want to win, and they want to cultivate winning here,” Rocky Thompson said. “[The Golden Knights] have made some outstanding moves that not only help them, but they’ve complemented us as well, so we just have to continue to work as hard as we can and get a bit better each day.”

TJ Tynan, Brandon Pirri and Teemu Pulkkinen have all surpassed the 40-point mark on the season and have led the scoresheet all year, but the Wolves are also looking to their rookies.

The first Golden Knight, Reid Duke, was sent to Chicago earlier in the month and is still rehabbing his shoulder after surgery, but has skated with the team and could return soon.

Keegan Kolesar, a Vegas prospect, was sent to the ECHL in December but was re-promoted to the Wolves in late February. Since then, he scored his first AHL goal, plus two more and an assist.

“It shows the talent and depth of our team,” Pirri said. “When a guy goes down, others are capable of playing offensive minutes or just bigger minutes in general. It’s a workload done by committee, but at the same time, it’s opportunity, and those are the kind of players you want.”

So close, yet so far

Chicago has a .720 winning percentage since Christmas, the second-best mark in the central division. Other teams are starting to slump while the Wolves are finding consistency.

But with 21 games remaining, the playoff field is tightly bunched.

Reigning Calder Cup champion Grand Rapids trails Chicago for second place by just .02 points. Nine points separate Chicago and sixth-place Milwaukee. Only four teams make the playoffs, so it’s all the more reason for the Wolves to find a higher gear.

“If you lose two games, you’re out of it,” Pirri said. “I think we have the men to do it. We’ve gelled really well, it’s just a matter of not getting complacent. We have to work harder every game.”

More Golden Knights: Follow all of our Golden Knights coverage online at reviewjournal.com/GoldenKnights and @HockeyinVegas on Twitter.

Contact Emily Polglaze at enpolglaze@gmail.com. Follow @enpolglaze on Twitter

ad-high_impact_4
Golden Knights Videos
Golden Edge: VGK Practice 10-18-2018
Adam Hill, David Schoen, and Ben Gotz discuss the Golden Knights practice, Deryk Engelland's status, and Tomas Hyka's path to the team
Golden Knights Talk To Media After Thursday Practice
Golden Knights talk to media in the locker room after practice on Thursday.
Gallant Talks After Practice On Thursday
Golden Knights head coach Gerard Gallant goes over how the lines are developing at practice.
Gerard Gallant On Win Against Sabres
Gerard Gallant talks after practice about the Golden Knights win over the Buffalo Sabres and the teams overall performance.
Cody Eakin On His Personal Improvement As A Golden Knight
Cody Eakin talks about his improvement as a Golden Knight this season and the work he put in over the summer.
Golden Edge: Knights Mood Improved After Win Against Sabres
Adam Hill, David Schoen and Ben Gotz go over how the Golden Knights are feeling after their win against the Buffalo Sabres while Alex Tuch gets a workout on the ice.
Golden Edge: Karlsson Scores First Goal; Knights Beat Sabres
Adam Hill, Ben Gotz and David Schoen go over the Golden Knights win over the Buffalo Sabres.
Golden Knights On 4-1 Win Against Buffalo
The Golden Knights react to their first win after the road trip against the Buffalo Sabres.
Golden Edge Mailbag - October 16th, 2018
Ben Gotz and Adam Hill answer your Golden Knights questions.
Golden Edge: Eakin Scores Winning Goal During Final Road Trip Game
Golden Knights beat reporter David Schoen goes over the Knights final game of the road trip against the Philadelphia Flyers
Would the NFL be accepted abroad?
Review-Journal columnist Ed Graney takes to the streets of London, England, ahead of the Oakland Raiders facing the Seattle Seahawks to find out if the NFL is accepted, if the game is understood and what its fan base is like outside of the United States.
Golden Edge: Phil Kessel Has Hat Trick in Win Over Knights
The Pittsburgh Penguins defeat the Las Vegas Golden Knights 4-2. Ben Gotz and David Schoen report from Pittsburgh.
Golden Edge: Knights Lose First Stanley Cup Rematch
The Golden Knights lose 5-2 against the Washington Capitals and fall to 1-3 on the season. David Schoen and Ben Gotz report from Washington.
Golden Edge: Mailbag — October 9, 2018
Adam Hill is joined by Ben Gotz via skype from Washington, D.C. to answer questions submitted from Golden Knights fans.
Gallant on Washington Capitals rematch
Golden Knights Coach Gerard Gallant plays down the connection between Wednesday's game against the Washington Capitals and the Stanley Cup Final results last season.
VGS themed games from AGS at G2E Global Gaming Expo
A Golden Knights-themed slot machine was on display Tuesday at the G2E Global Gaming Expo as AGS showed two products that came out of a 3-year contract with the Knights. A video roulette game featuring a Knights helmet and an enormous slot machine were on the floor along with Knights cheerleaders, the Drumbots and Chance, the Knights' mascot. (Mat Luschek/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Golden Edge: Knights Fall to Sabres 4-2
The Sabres defeat the Golden Knights 4-2 with 3 goals in the second period. Ben Gotz and David Schoen report from Buffalo.
Golden Edge: Knights Beat Wild In Shootout
Ben Gotz and David Schoen go over the Knights comeback win against the Minnesota Wild. The Knights won 2-1 in a shootout against the Minnesota Wild. (October 7, 2018)
Golden Edge: Knights Fall In Season Opener
Elaine Wilson, Adam Hill, Ben Gotz and David Schoen go over the Golden Knights 5-2 loss to the Philadelphia Flyers in their season opener. (Videographer: Heidi Fang, Edited By: Nathan Asselin)
Golden Knights React To Season Opener Loss
Golden Knights react to their 5-2 loss against the Philadelphia Flyers.
Gold Carpet Before Golden Knights Season Opener
John Katsilometes is on the gold carpet before the Golden Knights season opener.
Golden Knights talk after practice
Marc-Andre Fleury, Max Pacioretty and Cody Eakin in the locker room on Wed. October 3, 2018.
Golden Edge: Last Practice Before Season Opener
Adam Hill and David Schoen at City National Arena during the Golden Knights' morning skate and media day before the opener Thursday against the Philadelphia Flyers.
Media Day: Gerard Gallant and George McPhee Presser
Head coach Gerard Gallant and GM George McPhee talk about Alex Tuch, Cody Eakin, Nate Schmidt, and the start of season number two for the franchise.
Golden Edge: Mailbag — October 2, 2018
Ben Gotz and Adam Hill answer questions submitted from Golden Knights fans.
Vegas Golden Knights show support at blood drive
Members of the Vegas Golden Knights NHL team showed up for a community blood drive on the first anniversary of the Las Vegas shooting, Oct. 1, 2018. (Mat Luschek/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Golden Edge: Knights Beat Kings 2-0
Adam Hill and David Schoen report from T-Mobile Arena after the Knights beat the Kings 2-0.
Golden Edge: Shea Theodore Returns to Practice
Adam Hill, Ben Gotz, and David Schoen are at the Golden Knight's practice where Shea Thedore is suited back up for the first time this season.
Golden Edge: Mailbag — September 25, 2018
Ben Gotz and Adam Hill answer questions submitted from Golden Knights fans.
Golden Edge: Knights Lose 5-3, but re-sign Shea Theodore
Bryan Salmond is in studio while Ben Gotz, Adam Hill and David Schoen report from T-Mobile Arena on the Knights preseason game vs. the Colorado Avalanche.
Golden Edge: Knights Lose 5-3 but Re-Sign Shea Theodore
Bryan Salmond is in studio and Ben Gotz, Adam Hill, and David Schoen report from T-Mobile arena on the Knights preseason game vs the Colorado Avalanche.
Golden Edge: Knights Rally To Win During Shootout
Golden Knights beat reporter David Schoen goes over the Golden Knights shootout win against the San Jose Sharks.
Golden Edge: Knights Win Third Preseason Game
Golden Edge host Bryan Salmond and Golden Knights beat reporter David Schoen go over the Knights 7-2 win over the L.A. Kings.
Nevada Task Force One Cheers Golden Knights
Nevada Task Force One Cheers Golden Knights
Lucas Elvenes is ranked as one of the Golden Knights' top prospects
Lucas Elvenes is ranked as one of the Golden Knights' top prospects after a breakout season in Sweden. He slid to the fifth round in the 2017 draft after being projected to be selected much higher. “I wasn’t happy about being a fifth-rounder. But it was good for me, too, because I didn’t have so much pressure when I came here," Elvenes said. Elvenes posted five goals and 16 points in 28 games while playing in the top league in Sweden. The Knights signed Elvenes to a three-year, entry-level contract in June.
Golden Knights rookie camp - Day 2
The Golden Knights held their second day of rookie camp at City Arena in Las Vegas. Bizuayehu Tesfaye/Las Vegas Review-Journal @bizutesfaye
William Karlsson and the Golden Knights are headed to arbitration
Of all the salary arbitration cases in the NHL this summer, none is more compelling than the one involving William Karlsson and the Golden Knights. Karlsson is seeking $6.5 million annually in arbitration. The Knights countered with an offer of $3.5 million annually. Karlsson's arbitration hearing is scheduled for Saturday in Toronto. During the hearing, the player and team present evidence. The arbitrator then has 48 hours to render a decision, and the team decides on a one- or two-year contract. Karlsson’s agent and the Knights can continue to negotiate a new contract prior to the hearing.
TOP NEWS
News Headlines
Add Event
Home Front Page Footer Listing
Circular
You May Like

You May Like