ad-fullscreen

Hockey player headbutts puck into net … goal doesn’t count

It would’ve been one of the most spectacular goals in NHL playoff history had it counted.

Chicago Blackhawks center appeared to score the winning goal by head-butting the puck into the net at 8:47 of double-overtime Tuesday night against the Anaheim Ducks in Game 2 of the Western Conference finals.

However, Shaw’s heady play was disallowed following a review because of a rule which states “Apparent goals shall be disallowed when the puck has been directed, batted or thrown into the net by an attacking player other than with a stick.”

At least we’ll always have video of the hockey header.

Shaw’s play helped spearhead Chicago’s 3-2 win over Anaheim in triple overtime in the longest game in the Blackhawks’ 89-year history. Marcus Kruger scored the winning goal 16:12 into the third extra session as Chicago evened the series 1-1.

After the game, Shaw said he’d played a little soccer growing up in Canada and thinks head-butt goals should count because of their high degree of difficulty.

“If anyone can pull it off, I think they should call it a goal, just how cool it is,” he said.

Check out the video below.

section-ads_high_impact_4
TOP NEWS
News Headlines
pos-2 — ads_infeed_1
post-4 — ads_infeed_2
Local Spotlight
Home Front Page Footer Listing
Circular
You May Like

You May Like