weather icon Clear
RJ App
Vegas News, Alerts, ePaper

Locals to run in Nike event

Several area runners will be competing at the Nike Cross Nationals Southwest Regional qualifier in Tempe, Ariz., on Saturday.

The top two teams and top five individuals not on those teams in the two championship races advance to the Nike Cross Nationals on Dec. 6 in Portland, Ore.

Members of the Centennial girls team will compete in the championship race as the Centennial Hills Track Club. Members of Shadow Ridge’s girls team will compete in the race as the Shadow Racing Club.

Arbor View’s Katie Carrell is scheduled to run as an individual.

In the boys championship race, Centennial’s Nathan Williams, who was third at state this season, will run as an individual.

The Shadow Racing Club is scheduled to compete as a team.

The Southwest meet includes athletes from Arizona, Utah, Colorado, New Mexico, Wyoming and Nevada.

4A VOLLEYBALL HONORS — After a dominating season, Durango’s Hayley Spelman has been named the Southwest League Most Valuable Player by league coaches.

The 6-foot-6-inch Stanford recruit helped the Trailblazers reach the Class 4A state semifinals.

The other league MVPs were Green Valley’s Sydney Brozovich (Southeast), Rancho’s Sarah Arceneaux (Northeast) and Palo Verde’s Nicole Gneiting (Northwest).

Del Sol’s Albert Ronquillo (Southeast), Rancho’s Allegra Derzon (Northeast), Legacy’s Amber Hansen (Northwest) and Durango’s Bob Kelly (Southwest) were named Coaches of the Year.

2A FOOTBALL HONORS — Darra Russell of Needles (Calif.) and Trent Tibbitts of Lincoln County were named co-Players of the Year by the 2A Southern League football coaches.

Mountain View linebacker Billy Paddack was named Defensive Player of the Year, and Pat Kenny of The Meadows took Offensive Player of the Year honors.

Lincoln County’s Cody Burgess was Lineman of the Year, and Frank DeSantis of The Meadows was named Coach of the Year.

3A SOCCER HONORS — Virgin Valley goalkeeper Jacque Olive was named the 3A Southern League Girls Most Valuable Player by league coaches.

Faith Lutheran’s Sydney Spoon was named Offensive Player of the Year, and teammate Jessica Nelson was Defensive Player of the Year

Virgin Valley’s Terry Ogden and Pahrump Valley’s Greg Leseberg shared the league’s Coach of the Year award.

On the boys side, Faith Lutheran’s Ryan Sniezyk, who scored a school-record 101 career goals, was the MVP.

Alex Karabachev of The Meadows was the Offensive Player of the Year, and Faith Lutheran’s Terry Unruh was the Defensive Player of the Year.

Garry Shackley of The Meadows took the boys coaching honor.

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.
Sports on TV in Las Vegas

Here’s today’s local and national sports schedule, including television and radio listings.