Auto Club 500
Site: Fontana, Calif.
Schedule: Friday, qualifying (Speed Channel, 3:30 p.m.); Sunday, race (FOX, 2 p.m.).
Track: Auto Club Speedway(D-shaped oval, 2 miles, 14 degrees banking in turns).
Race distance: 500 miles, 250 laps.
Last race: Matt Kenseth was declared the winner of the Daytona 500 after rain halted the running of The Great American Race with 48 laps to go. Kenseth used a huge push from Kevin Harvick to slide past Elliott Sadler 54 laps from the finish, just seconds before Aric Almirola spun to bring out a caution. After two caution laps, NASCAR sent the drivers to pit road. The race was called after 152 of 200 laps. It was just the fourth rain-shortened 500 in race’s 51-year history, and first since Michael Waltrip’s 2003 victory.
Last year: Carl Edwards charged past reigning champ Jimmie Johnson with 13 laps remaining to win the rain-delayed Auto Club 500. Johnson came out of the final pit stop in the lead with 26 laps remaining, but Edwards came from third to grab the eighth win of his career. The race was stopped that night after 87 of the scheduled 250 laps and resumed the next day.
Fast facts: Kenseth, winless in 2008, won the February events at Fontana in 2006 and 2007 for Roush Fenway, which has won six times at the track. … Three-time defending champion Johnson finished 31st last week. He placed 39th and 27th in the previous two Daytona 500s, respectively, before rebounding to win the title. He won the most previous event at Auto Club Raceway on Aug. 31. … Tony Stewart is winless in 15 career starts at Fontana but has three top-five and seven top-10 finishes there. … Dale Earnhardt Jr., who finished 27th at Daytona, has four career DNFs at Auto Club Speedway.
Next race: Shelby 427, March 1, Las Vegas.
On the Net: www.nascar.com

Stater Bros. 300
Site: Fontana, Calif.
Schedule: Saturday, qualifying (Speed Channel, 9:30 a.m.), race (ESPN2, 4 p.m.).
Track: Auto Club Speedway (D-shaped oval, 2 miles, 14 degrees banking in turns).
Race distance: 300 miles, 150 laps.
Last race: Tony Stewart celebrated a second straight season-opening Nationwide Series win at Daytona International Speedway. Stewart passed 23 cars in 11 laps to get back into contention after pitting with 30 laps to go in the 120-lap event. Then he hung onto the lead as Kyle Busch, Carl Edwards and Clint Bowyer fought for position.
Last year: Stewart was dominant in winning his second straight Nationwide race, holding off hard-charging Busch. Stewart made it look easy in the rain-postponed race at Auto Club Speedway as he led 136 of the 150 laps on the 2-mile track.
Fast facts: Jason Keller was the only Nationwide regular to finish in the top 10 at Daytona. His ninth-place finish was his best showing in a season-opener since placing in that spot in 2004. … Greg Biffle’s winless streak reached 75 races despite his fifth-place finish last week. His last Nationwide victory came in the 2006 event. … Roush Fenway cars have six career Nationwide wins at Auto Club Speedway. Mark Martin and Carl Edwards combined to sweep the Fontana events in 2005.
Next event: Sam’s Town 300, Feb. 28, Las Vegas
On the Net: www.nascar.com

San Bernardino County 200
Site: Fontana, Calif.
Schedule: Friday, qualifying (Speed Channel, 1:30 p.m.); Saturday, race (FOX, Noon).
Track: Auto Club Speedway (D-shaped oval, 2 miles, 14 degrees banking in turns).
Race distance: 200 miles, 100 laps.
Last race: Todd Bodine used Kyle Busch’s friendly tap to take the season-opening race at Daytona International Speedway, becoming the first repeat winner in the event’s 10-year history. Busch tried to go low on the last lap while getting into turn one and didn’t make it before nudging into Bodine’s bumper. Bodine made his truck as wide as possible and held on.
Last year: Kyle Busch was dominant in the San Bernardino County 200, leading 51 of the 100 laps. He was out front going into a round of green flag pit stops late in the event and retook the lead for good on lap 91 with a lead of almost 3.5 seconds over Bodine.
Fast facts: Bodine has at least one truck win in six consecutive years. … No Daytona winner has gone on to take the season title. … Rookie J.R. Fitzpatrick finished fourth at Daytona, while fellow freshmen Tayler Malsam and Chase Austin placed 10th and 13th, respectively. … Johnny Benson has finished outside the top 10 just once in five truck starts at Fontana, a 12th-place effort in 2005.
Next event: Kroger 250, March 28, Martinsville, Va.
On the Net: www.nascar.com

Arizona Nationals
Site: Chandler, Ariz.
Schedule: Friday, qualifying, 12:30 p.m.; Saturday, qualifying, 11 a.m. (Sunday, ESPN2, midnight, tape); Sunday, eliminations, 10 a.m. (ESPN2, 4 p.m., tape).
Track: Firebird International Raceway.
Last race: Doug Kalitta earned his first Top Fuel victory in more than a year at the rain-delayed Kragen O’Reilly Winternationals, the first event of the NHRA season. Ron Capps won the Funny Car competition, and Jason Line won Pro Stock at the Auto Club Raceway at Pomona.
Last year: Larry Dixon beat Dave Grubnic in the Top Fuel final of the Checker Schuck’s Kragen Nationals. Jack Beckman took the Funny Car category, and V. Gaines won in Pro Stock for the first time in seven years.
Fast facts: Kalitta had a winning run of 3.822 seconds and a top speed of 308.57 mph to beat top qualifier Antron Brown. … Capps’s first elimination win last year came during the fifth event. It was his first victory overall since Madison, Ill., on May 6, 2007. … Greg Anderson claimed 20 bonus points at Pomona after besting his two-year-old national record with a 6.258-run during the second round. … Line sealed his victory at first at Pomona by outrunning Mike Edwards with a track-record speed of 211.63 mph.
Next race: ACDelco Gatornationals, March 15, Gainesville, Fla.
On the Net: www.nhra.com

News Headlines
Local Spotlight
Home Front Page Footer Listing
You May Like

You May Like