McMillin chases Trophy-Truck title as SCORE series stops in Primm

Third-generation desert racer Andy McMillin could gain considerable ground toward winning his first SCORE Trophy-Truck season championship Saturday in Primm.

The 23-year-old from National City, Calif., has won two of this year’s three SCORE races after claiming last year’s Baja 1000 finale. Only one race remains after Primm.

McMillin, the points leader in the Trophy-Trucks class for 850-horsepower unlimited production trucks, will face stiff challenges in the 31-truck class from reigning event and season champion Robby Gordon and Las Vegan Rob MacCachren, an eight-time SCORE season champion.

Racing begins at 6 a.m. Saturday behind Buffalo Bill’s. The premier Trophy-Trucks and Class 1 categories will start the first of four laps at 1 p.m. on the 68.6-mile course.

The only area designated for spectators will be at the start-finish line.

■ INDYCAR SCHEDULE — The IndyCar Series has scheduled a news conference for today at the Milwaukee Mile in West Allis, Wis., to announce its 2011 event lineup.

Las Vegas Motor Speedway is on the cusp of landing the Oct. 16 series finale, but that will not be determined until series chief executive Randy Bernard meets with the Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority to discuss its interest in sponsoring the event.

It already has been confirmed that the series will not return to Watkins Glen, N.Y.; Kansas City, Kan.; Joliet, Ill.; and Homestead, Fla. Tracks in those cities are owned by International Speedway Corp., whose stock is controlled by the France family, which owns NASCAR.

LVMS is owned by Speedway Motorsports Inc., which will host IndyCar races next year at its tracks in Fort Worth, Texas; Loudon, N.H.; Sparta, Ky.; and Sonoma, Calif.

Contact reporter Jeff Wolf at or 702-383-0247.

News Headlines
Local Spotlight
Add Event
Home Front Page Footer Listing
You May Like

You May Like