Golden Knights hit season’s midpoint in amazing fashion

Updated January 8, 2018 - 12:21 am

The numbers have been showcased from one coast to the next, the gaudy accomplishments and historical significance and implausible results produced by the Golden Knights thus far this NHL season.

But those are big picture facts about an inaugural season going the way nobody could have imagined. The quick snapshots are just as important.

Depending on the opponent, even more so.

If the forecast of a Knights’ playoff appearance ultimately proves accurate, recent games have more than offered the sort of intensity and drama that accompanies the postseason.

It was no different Sunday.

The Knights departed for their off week by beating the Rangers 2-1 before a season-high 18,234 at T-Mobile Arena, another close and impressive victory in a place where there have been many.

“(Momentum) is a great thing,” said Knights forward James Neal, who scored his 18th goal of the season. “Rest, recover, take your mind off hockey for a little bit. For us, it’s a grind. With all the travel we have and games piling up (in the season’s second half), this will be good for us.”

So now comes those mandatory rest days, where I’m not sure if rumors are true, but players could supposedly be sentenced to 20 years of hard labor should they even think about lacing up a pair of skates and touching ice.

Or something like that.

The Rangers were much like the Predators and Blues of the last week, teams that offered the Knights and their fans a good sense of what games in April (and perhaps beyond) could look and feel like.

Not all such matchups produced victories — St. Louis was just better on home ice Thursday night — but wins against Nashville and now New York did.

There was a common theme to all of it: Marc-Andre Fleury is playing out of his mind right now.

“Another close game, you know,” the Knights goalie said after stopping 28 of 29 shots against the Rangers. “Two good teams. Not much room on the ice. Fast teams. Very proud of how our guys stepped up and stuck with it all night long. We got a big win.

“Every night, the strength of our team is how hard we play. It has been great.”

You can’t overstate the importance Fleury has played — even with missing him two months and 25 games with a concussion — in where the Knights exist at the season’s midpoint. His presence in goal creates a palpable confidence in those in front of him. He plays like a guy with three Stanley Cups, and his teammates respond to it.

The lone goal allowed Sunday occurred when Fleury picked up Mika Zibanejad’s wrist shot too late and it sailed past him. The lone blemish on an otherwise terrific performance.

And now, the Knights have hit their bye week:

First place in the Western Conference.

Second place overall in the NHL.

Owner of 60 points.

Twenty-nine wins, 18 at home.

They have destroyed most all benchmarks for a new franchise, the current points percentage higher at the midpoint mark than any expansion team in either the NBA, MLB or NFL/AFL.

That’s all big picture stuff.

On Sunday, Vegas was again just as good in one of those quick snapshots.

“Pretty amazing,” Knights coach Gerard Gallant said of the 41-game start. “We’ve played great hockey from the first night. We’ve competed and battled and we are beating good hockey teams.

“We’re ready for a week off. The guys are looking forward to it. We push them all the time. But we need a break and to get away from hockey, come back Friday and get ready for Saturday.”

That’s when Edmonton and the world’s fastest (and perhaps) best player in Connor McDavid visits. It might not be as much a snapshot — the Oilers sit in sixth place in the Pacific Division with 39 points — but it is a team that handed Vegas an 8-2 thrashing back on Nov. 14.

Thus, the second half begins against the team that has to this point delivered the Knights their worst loss and, get this, only divisional setback. It’s a different sort of motivation than playing the Blues or Predators or Rangers at this point, but incentive all the same.

“Come back and get ready to go for a good push,” Neal said.

Toward, yes, a playoff berth.

Pretty amazing, is right.

Contact columnist Ed Graney at egraney@reviewjournal.com or 702-383-4618. He can be heard on “The Press Box,” ESPN Radio 100.9 FM and 1100 AM, from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. Monday through Friday. Follow @edgraney on Twitter.

ad-high_impact_4
Golden Knights Videos
Alex Tuch reacts to his new contract
Vegas Golden Knights right wing Alex Tuch reacts to his new contract with the team and explains what his goals are.
Golden Edge: VGK Practice 10-18-2018
Adam Hill, David Schoen, and Ben Gotz discuss the Golden Knights practice, Deryk Engelland's status, and Tomas Hyka's path to the team
Golden Knights Talk To Media After Thursday Practice
Golden Knights talk to media in the locker room after practice on Thursday.
Gallant Talks After Practice On Thursday
Golden Knights head coach Gerard Gallant goes over how the lines are developing at practice.
Gerard Gallant On Win Against Sabres
Gerard Gallant talks after practice about the Golden Knights win over the Buffalo Sabres and the teams overall performance.
Cody Eakin On His Personal Improvement As A Golden Knight
Cody Eakin talks about his improvement as a Golden Knight this season and the work he put in over the summer.
Golden Edge: Knights Mood Improved After Win Against Sabres
Adam Hill, David Schoen and Ben Gotz go over how the Golden Knights are feeling after their win against the Buffalo Sabres while Alex Tuch gets a workout on the ice.
Golden Edge: Karlsson Scores First Goal; Knights Beat Sabres
Adam Hill, Ben Gotz and David Schoen go over the Golden Knights win over the Buffalo Sabres.
Golden Knights On 4-1 Win Against Buffalo
The Golden Knights react to their first win after the road trip against the Buffalo Sabres.
Golden Edge Mailbag - October 16th, 2018
Ben Gotz and Adam Hill answer your Golden Knights questions.
Golden Edge: Eakin Scores Winning Goal During Final Road Trip Game
Golden Knights beat reporter David Schoen goes over the Knights final game of the road trip against the Philadelphia Flyers
Would the NFL be accepted abroad?
Review-Journal columnist Ed Graney takes to the streets of London, England, ahead of the Oakland Raiders facing the Seattle Seahawks to find out if the NFL is accepted, if the game is understood and what its fan base is like outside of the United States.
Golden Edge: Phil Kessel Has Hat Trick in Win Over Knights
The Pittsburgh Penguins defeat the Las Vegas Golden Knights 4-2. Ben Gotz and David Schoen report from Pittsburgh.
Golden Edge: Knights Lose First Stanley Cup Rematch
The Golden Knights lose 5-2 against the Washington Capitals and fall to 1-3 on the season. David Schoen and Ben Gotz report from Washington.
Golden Edge: Mailbag — October 9, 2018
Adam Hill is joined by Ben Gotz via skype from Washington, D.C. to answer questions submitted from Golden Knights fans.
Gallant on Washington Capitals rematch
Golden Knights Coach Gerard Gallant plays down the connection between Wednesday's game against the Washington Capitals and the Stanley Cup Final results last season.
VGS themed games from AGS at G2E Global Gaming Expo
A Golden Knights-themed slot machine was on display Tuesday at the G2E Global Gaming Expo as AGS showed two products that came out of a 3-year contract with the Knights. A video roulette game featuring a Knights helmet and an enormous slot machine were on the floor along with Knights cheerleaders, the Drumbots and Chance, the Knights' mascot. (Mat Luschek/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Golden Edge: Knights Fall to Sabres 4-2
The Sabres defeat the Golden Knights 4-2 with 3 goals in the second period. Ben Gotz and David Schoen report from Buffalo.
Golden Edge: Knights Beat Wild In Shootout
Ben Gotz and David Schoen go over the Knights comeback win against the Minnesota Wild. The Knights won 2-1 in a shootout against the Minnesota Wild. (October 7, 2018)
Golden Edge: Knights Fall In Season Opener
Elaine Wilson, Adam Hill, Ben Gotz and David Schoen go over the Golden Knights 5-2 loss to the Philadelphia Flyers in their season opener. (Videographer: Heidi Fang, Edited By: Nathan Asselin)
Golden Knights React To Season Opener Loss
Golden Knights react to their 5-2 loss against the Philadelphia Flyers.
Gold Carpet Before Golden Knights Season Opener
John Katsilometes is on the gold carpet before the Golden Knights season opener.
Golden Knights talk after practice
Marc-Andre Fleury, Max Pacioretty and Cody Eakin in the locker room on Wed. October 3, 2018.
Golden Edge: Last Practice Before Season Opener
Adam Hill and David Schoen at City National Arena during the Golden Knights' morning skate and media day before the opener Thursday against the Philadelphia Flyers.
Media Day: Gerard Gallant and George McPhee Presser
Head coach Gerard Gallant and GM George McPhee talk about Alex Tuch, Cody Eakin, Nate Schmidt, and the start of season number two for the franchise.
Golden Edge: Mailbag — October 2, 2018
Ben Gotz and Adam Hill answer questions submitted from Golden Knights fans.
Vegas Golden Knights show support at blood drive
Members of the Vegas Golden Knights NHL team showed up for a community blood drive on the first anniversary of the Las Vegas shooting, Oct. 1, 2018. (Mat Luschek/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Golden Edge: Knights Beat Kings 2-0
Adam Hill and David Schoen report from T-Mobile Arena after the Knights beat the Kings 2-0.
Golden Edge: Shea Theodore Returns to Practice
Adam Hill, Ben Gotz, and David Schoen are at the Golden Knight's practice where Shea Thedore is suited back up for the first time this season.
Golden Edge: Mailbag — September 25, 2018
Ben Gotz and Adam Hill answer questions submitted from Golden Knights fans.
Golden Edge: Knights Lose 5-3, but re-sign Shea Theodore
Bryan Salmond is in studio while Ben Gotz, Adam Hill and David Schoen report from T-Mobile Arena on the Knights preseason game vs. the Colorado Avalanche.
Golden Edge: Knights Lose 5-3 but Re-Sign Shea Theodore
Bryan Salmond is in studio and Ben Gotz, Adam Hill, and David Schoen report from T-Mobile arena on the Knights preseason game vs the Colorado Avalanche.
Golden Edge: Knights Rally To Win During Shootout
Golden Knights beat reporter David Schoen goes over the Golden Knights shootout win against the San Jose Sharks.
Nevada Task Force One Cheers Golden Knights
Nevada Task Force One Cheers Golden Knights
Lucas Elvenes is ranked as one of the Golden Knights' top prospects
Lucas Elvenes is ranked as one of the Golden Knights' top prospects after a breakout season in Sweden. He slid to the fifth round in the 2017 draft after being projected to be selected much higher. “I wasn’t happy about being a fifth-rounder. But it was good for me, too, because I didn’t have so much pressure when I came here," Elvenes said. Elvenes posted five goals and 16 points in 28 games while playing in the top league in Sweden. The Knights signed Elvenes to a three-year, entry-level contract in June.
Golden Knights rookie camp - Day 2
The Golden Knights held their second day of rookie camp at City Arena in Las Vegas. Bizuayehu Tesfaye/Las Vegas Review-Journal @bizutesfaye
William Karlsson and the Golden Knights are headed to arbitration
Of all the salary arbitration cases in the NHL this summer, none is more compelling than the one involving William Karlsson and the Golden Knights. Karlsson is seeking $6.5 million annually in arbitration. The Knights countered with an offer of $3.5 million annually. Karlsson's arbitration hearing is scheduled for Saturday in Toronto. During the hearing, the player and team present evidence. The arbitrator then has 48 hours to render a decision, and the team decides on a one- or two-year contract. Karlsson’s agent and the Knights can continue to negotiate a new contract prior to the hearing.
TOP NEWS
News Headlines
Add Event
Home Front Page Footer Listing
Circular
You May Like

You May Like