Golden Knights owner takes calculated risky by bringing hockey to desert

There is a belief some hold about Bill Foley that might surprise you, that he is the business world’s equal to Brett Favre scrambling from pressure, a billionaire gunslinger who writes checks before analyzing the purchase, who chucks his financial support into countless ventures before fastidiously surveying the entire field.

Who might see the double-coverage that would cause others to check down but really doesn’t give a damn.

Foley prefers another portrayal of his acumen: that he is instead a value buyer who takes calculated risks, who has grown his many companies by obtaining them at their lowest points and then building them into great success stories over time.

“Some people think I’m a bottom-dweller, that I’m too cheap and swimming around the ocean floor grabbing as many little crabs as I can,” Foley said. “It’s not true. I like value. I like things that can really be improved.”

Is there a better example, then, of something that begins with no history at all?

He had never before swum in this part of the ocean, near its floor or otherwise, before emerging as the man who would bring Las Vegas its first major league professional sports team in the form of an NHL expansion franchise.

It made sense that the inception of such a level of sports in Southern Nevada would begin with hockey, always thought to be the ideal test model for whether the town could support such a venture over time.

Reason being,

If such an untapped market without a deep, rich hockey tradition and one that would rely on a tourism base to purchase its share of tickets could make it work, other leagues like the NFL and NBA wouldn’t hesitate to follow.

Already, without a puck having been dropped for real inside T-Mobile Arena, the Raiders have made such plans.

In terms of hockey, the irony of such a historic move is not lost on those closest to Foley, an admitted recluse who isn’t big on large groups or glad-handing others as a way to inspire them. The chairman of Fidelity National Financial is all about commitment and drive and determination, not so much about giving speeches or being front-and-center when the cameras turn on.

But when the Golden Knights open their inaugural season in Dallas on Friday night, the journey that began with Foley gauging local interest with a season ticket drive in February 2015 will have come full circle.

Las Vegas will never be the same, having arrived to a place on the global sports map it never knew.

“I’ve been approached with other opportunities as a minority owner in sports, but always felt like I should be in the front of the plane and not the back when it comes to this,” Foley said. “From the minute we got the franchise, I was all in. That’s why we moved to Las Vegas. We’re embedded here now. I’m not going to be an absentee owner. I believe that if I can bring my business instincts and my knowledge of business to this franchise, we will be one of the best hockey clubs in terms of how things are run.

“I also believe we can have a very strong, competitive team.”

The latter would be proven over time.

Perhaps a very long time.

Of the nine teams added to the NHL between 1991-2001, the Florida Panthers had the best inaugural season at 33-34-17 in 1993. But it also took Philadelphia just six years to go from expansion side in 1967 to Stanley Cup champion, a timeline Foley has publicly stated as a goal for the Knights to match.

That’s probably a best-case scenario — even a stretch for one — and Foley knows it. But while some in his world of finance might consider him that 72-year old gunslinger, a $500 million expansion fee and the millions more he has and will continue to pour into his franchise hardly speaks of someone who will try and win on the cheap.

“My budget will be the salary cap,” he said. “We will sign those free agents along the way that are needed to help the core group of players we will build our team with through the draft. I absolutely will spend the money needed to win.”

On the day NHL owners voted in favor of adding a 31st team, the culmination of a 2½-year pursuit by a graduate of the United States Military Academy at West Point, Foley talked most about community and his franchise being a major extension of how Las Vegas now would be perceived. He promised the team would be dedicated, focused and taking no prisoners.

That it would produce early success.

That it was more personal for him than any of his business ventures.

At its inception, the Vegas Golden Knights was a mere dream for the guy who some believe swims at the bottom of the ocean when pursuing interests.

This time, it turns out, he snagged one hell of a crab.

Contact columnist Ed Graney at egraney@reviewjournal.com or 702-383-4618. He can be heard on “The Press Box,” ESPN Radio 100.9 FM and 1100 AM from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. Monday through Friday. Follow @edgraney on Twitter.

ad-high_impact_4
Golden Knights Videos
Coach Gallant Speaks with the Media After Practice
City National Arena | November 15, 2018.
Golden Edge: Fleury Shuts Out Anaheim
Vegas Golden Knights beat the Anaheim Ducks 5-0. Marc-Andre Fleury gets his third shutout on the season in his shiny new pads. Adam Hill, Dave Schoen, and Ben Gotz report from T-Mobile Arena.
Gallant on the Golden Knights win over the Ducks
Gerard Gallant discusses how key the home victory over the Anaheim Ducks was for the Vegas Golden Knights.
Golden Knights after their 5-0 win over the Anaheim Ducks
Vegas Golden Knights players talk about the 5-0 win on their home ice over the Anaheim Ducks.
Gerard Gallant On Haula And Stastny Status
Golden Knights head coach Gerard Gallants speaks after practice about the status of Erik Haula and Paul Stastny.
Golden Edge: Alex Tuch Interview
Adam Hill and Ben Gotz interview Golden Knights forward Alex Tuch.
Golden Edge Mailbag With Alex Tuch
Golden Knights' Alex Tuch is LIVE in-studio for our VGK Mailbag with reporters Ben Gotz and Adam Hill!
Golden Edge: November 12 Practice
Ben Gotz and David Schoen discuss Nate Schmidt's return to practice, Gallant's absence, and Erik Haula's injury.
Nate Schmidt On Suspension
Golden Knights Defenseman Nate Schmidt talks about his suspension.
Golden Edge: Knights Coming Home After Loss To Boston
Golden Knights beat writer David Schoen goes over the Knights loss to the Boston Bruins.
Golden Edge: Pacioretty makes his return to Montreal
Max Pacioretty makes his return to Montreal, but it is former Golden Knight Tomas Tatar who scores the game winner for the Canadiens defeating the Knights 5-4. David Schoen reports from Montreal.
Golden Edge: Knights Beat Senators On The Road
Golden Knights beat reporter David Schoen goes over the Golden Knights win against the Senators.
Knights defenseman Nate Schmidt discusses his suspension
Golden Knights defenseman Nate Schmidt discusses his suspension after practice in Ottawa (Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Gallant on Toronto loss
Gallant on Pacioretty
Gallant on how season has gone
Pacioretty on possible return
Golden Edge: Knights Shutout the Hurricanes
The Golden Knights defeat Carolina 3-0, with Marc-Andre Fleury marking his 50th career shutout. Adam Hill and Ed Graney report from T-Mobile Arena.
Marc-Andre Fleury and William Carrier on the Knights Win Over Carolina
November 3, 2018 at T-Mobile Arena.
Coach Gallant Presser
Gerard Gallant speaks after the Knights defeat Carolina 3-0 at T-Mobile Arena November 3, 2018.
Golden Edge: Knights Feeling Blue After Loss In St. Louis
Golden Knights beat reporter David Schoen goes over the Knights 5-3 loss to the St. Louis Blues.
Gallant and Marchessault on Perron
Coach Gerard Gallant and Golden Knights Jonathan Marchessault comment on former Knights player David Perron (Dave Schoen/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Coach Gerard Gallant on former Knights player David Perron
Coach Gerard Gallant on former Knights player David Perron (Dave Schoen/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Marchessault on Perron
Gallant on consistency after a loss to the Nashville Predators
Coach Gerard Gallant says the Golden Knights are playing well in stretches, but consistency has been a problem. (David Schoen/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Fleury on commercial
Marc-Andre Fleury talks about a commercial that features him in disguise as Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins.
Fleury on wig
Marc-Andre Fleury puts on a blond wig at the end of practice to get some laughs.
Golden Edge: Knights Fall To Predators
Golden Knights beat reporter David Schoen goes over the Knights 4-1 loss to the Nashville Predators.
Golden Edge Mailbag - October 30, 2018
Adam Hill and Ben Gotz answer your burning questions about the Golden Knights.
Golden Edge: Marchessault Hits Penalty Shot in OT
The Golden Knights defeat the Ottawa Senators 4-3 in overtime. Ben Gotz, Adam Hill, and David Schoen report from T-Mobile Arena.
Gallant says team's tenacity led to OT win over the Senators
Vegas Golden Knights head coach Gerard Gallant discusses the Golden Knights win over the Ottawa Senators in overtime and how Ryan Reaves and Alex Tuch's contributions helped.
Golden Knights talk OT win, ready for road games
The Vegas Golden Knights talk about winning in overtime against the Ottawa Senators and how they will carry over that momentum on their upcoming road games.
Golden Edge: Knights Fall To Tampa, Pacioretty Exits Game
Adam Hill, Ben Gotz and David Schoen go over the Knights loss to the Tampa Bay Lightning.
Golden Knights locker room post following loss to Lightning
The Vegas Golden Knights agreed following their loss to the Tampa Bay Lightning that they need to play more aggressive and be more consistent throughout the game to come out victorious.
Gallant says Golden Knights need to play hungrier
Following the Vegas Golden Knights loss to the Tampa Bay Lightning head coach Gerard Gallant says the team needs to play hungrier and be more consistent to get wins.
Golden Edge: Knights Fall Short to Canucks in Shootout
The Golden Knights lose 3-2 in a shootout to the Vancouver Canucks, but announce after the game that they have signed Nate Schmidt to a 6 year contract extension. Adam Hill, David Schoen, and Ben Gotz report from T-Mobile Arena.
Golden Knights coach Gallant on team's loss to Vancouver, Schmidt's new deal
Following the Golden Knights 3-2 loss to the Canucks, head coach Gerard Gallant addressed the missed opportunities and also spoke about Nate Schmidt's new contract with the team.
VGS themed games from AGS at G2E Global Gaming Expo
A Golden Knights-themed slot machine was on display Tuesday at the G2E Global Gaming Expo as AGS showed two products that came out of a 3-year contract with the Knights. A video roulette game featuring a Knights helmet and an enormous slot machine were on the floor along with Knights cheerleaders, the Drumbots and Chance, the Knights' mascot. (Mat Luschek/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Golden Knights talk after practice
Marc-Andre Fleury, Max Pacioretty and Cody Eakin in the locker room on Wed. October 3, 2018.
Vegas Golden Knights show support at blood drive
Members of the Vegas Golden Knights NHL team showed up for a community blood drive on the first anniversary of the Las Vegas shooting, Oct. 1, 2018. (Mat Luschek/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Nevada Task Force One Cheers Golden Knights
Nevada Task Force One Cheers Golden Knights
Lucas Elvenes is ranked as one of the Golden Knights' top prospects
Lucas Elvenes is ranked as one of the Golden Knights' top prospects after a breakout season in Sweden. He slid to the fifth round in the 2017 draft after being projected to be selected much higher. “I wasn’t happy about being a fifth-rounder. But it was good for me, too, because I didn’t have so much pressure when I came here," Elvenes said. Elvenes posted five goals and 16 points in 28 games while playing in the top league in Sweden. The Knights signed Elvenes to a three-year, entry-level contract in June.
Golden Knights rookie camp - Day 2
The Golden Knights held their second day of rookie camp at City Arena in Las Vegas. Bizuayehu Tesfaye/Las Vegas Review-Journal @bizutesfaye
TOP NEWS
News Headlines
Add Event
Home Front Page Footer Listing
Circular
You May Like

You May Like