Rebels’ coaching hire sets off cyberstorm

UNLV fans and basketball fans in general took to Facebook, Twitter and the ReviewJournal.com comment boards to voice their opinions after Dave Rice was selected over Reggie Theus to coach the Rebels. Some of their thoughts are below.

What a great hire for UNLV. As a byu student and fan, im sad to see Rice go. He has been a fantastic recruiter and great offensive mind. No unlv fan should be upset with this; if you are, you dont know college basketball or you enjoyed byu whooping you this year! — drhasm wrote on April 10, 2011, 06:44 PM

Today was the end of UNLV ever being able to reach the Final Four. Anyone who doesn’t believe that knows nothing of college basketball. UNLV will be a mid major school now for a long time in hoops. I’d love to know how many black head coaches Livengood has hired at the schools he’s been at. Sorry REGGIE, you never had a chance… — ricky77333 wrote on April 10, 2011, 12:10 PM

The best thing that could come of this would be for all of the message board geeks to realize that your opinion only matters to yourself. I for one am glad that the AD doesn’t use the RJ comment section for his research. Spout off all you want, it is your right. Just don’t be surprised when the educated, professional people making the decisions don’t agree with you. Good Luck to Dave Rice and UNLV. — Local Fan wrote on April 10, 2011, 01:17 PM

This is a garbage hire. What a slap in the face of Reggie Theus and all the long time rebel fans. Bradley and Fresno st didn’t even want Rice. .. Good bye attendance, we will get zero 5 star recruits, this program will sustain for a couple of years with Lon’s leftovers then will be a NIT team every year. The majority of the people in southern Nevada wanted Theus. This is a sick joke that Livengood has played on all of us. Lucky for him hes gone in one more year. — Native4life wrote on April 10, 2011, 05:33 PM

The usual stuff coming out regarding the UNLV fans? in Las Vegas. It should be you are a fan not matter who is coach or what sport. The Rebels should be #1 in everyone’s hearts in this city. … believe we need someone we know that has the ethics to abide my the governing rules of the NCAA and keep us out of trouble, as well as getting our student athletes involved in curricular activites to keep their grades up to enable them to graduate. David Rice is a perfect example of how the system can work. … We needed someone to grow with the team…this is an excellent choice. — Corinne.Claypool wrote on April 11, 2011, 11:31 AM

really excited for my former teammate/roommate Dave Rice being named head coach at the "V" Reggie Theus also deserving of being a HC — GregAnthony50

Sad Dave Rice is gone, but it was inevitable. I hope he does well at UNLV, even though the thought of Rebel success makes me gag in my mouth — aolsen

All of you naysayers shut up. As for these comments about race and religion factoring in, grow up. If you don’t want anything to do with the program fine. As a UNLV alumnus, and donor to the university, I support Coach Rice. IF YOU DONT LIKE RICE THAN ROOT FOR ANOTHER SCHOOL. you people are not real fans anywy. — hopeandchange wrote on April 10, 2011, 04:10 PM

First things first with #Unlv coach, Dave Rice. Get a better haircut. He has the head of a lego person. — Jake Runyon

The Rebels will be Runnin’ again under new head coach Dave Rice. Thank God!!! — joshmeeter

I hope you are ready for this…. Prove to the people that wanted Theus your the right choice… We want more than one and done in the tourney get us back to the final four..

— It.is.what.it.is wrote on April 11, 2011, 7:39 PM

What a travisty. A rigged hire of a Coach, over Reggie Theus. The AD & President of UNLV ought to interview personnel for the NCAA, Janitors! Theus now knows how Jerry was treated by the President of UNLV & AD. As a former Scholarship donner I will never spend another dime on UNLV Basketball. … Rice couldn’t recruit or attract the quality of player Theus would have brought in. Let the bleeding hearts for Rice explain the next few years & lact of attendance, and/or quality players. — Robert.Christie wrote on April 10, 2011, 05:09 PM

Dave Rice’s opening remarks could not have been better in terms of honoring the people who built the program into national prominence. — TheMTN_Bill

TOP NEWS
News Headlines
Add Event
Home Front Page Footer Listing
Circular
You May Like

You May Like