weather icon Mostly Cloudy

UNLV’s Bryce Hamilton named second-team all-district

UNLV sophomore guard Bryce Hamilton was named second-team all-district on Monday by the National Association of Basketball Coaches.

UNR’s Jalen Harris, San Diego State’s Malachi Flynn, Utah State’s Sam Merrill, San Diego State’s Yanni Wetzel and Colorado State’s Nico Carvacho made the District 17 first team. Joining Hamilton on the second team were Boise State’s Justinian Jessup and Derrick Alson Jr., San Diego State’s Matt Mitchell and Utah State’s Neemias Queta.

San Diego State’s Brian Dutcher was named Coach of the Year.

Hamilton averaged 16.0 points and 5.5 rebounds this season.

He recently was named to the District VIII team by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association.

Contact reporter Mark Anderson at manderson@reviewjournal.com. Follow at markanderson65 on Twitter.

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.
UNLV guard Amauri Hardy transferring

UNLV junior guard Amauri Hardy has entered the NCAA transfer portal, and junior forward Cheickna Dembele has been ruled physically unable to play next season.