weather icon Clear

3 dozen legislative candidates get free rides to general election

Three dozen legislative candidates, incumbents and challengers alike, can rest up through the primary season and save their best for the November general election.

Candidates who drew no challengers from their own party, but who face contenders from the opposing party or independents, will not be on the June 14 primary ballot.

In Southern Nevada, 11 state Senate hopefuls — including five incumbents — will bypass the primary. There are 25 free rides in Clark County Assembly races.

In Senate District 1, Pat Spearman, D-North Las Vegas, is seeking a second term. She will face Republican challenger Arsen Ter-Petrosyan, who also has no primary opponent, come fall.

Senator Minority Leader Aaron Ford, D-Las Vegas, is seeking re-election to a second term in District 11. His GOP challenger, Jonathan Frazier, also advances without a primary.

District 3 incumbent Tick Segerblom, D-Las Vegas, and his Republican contender, Dennis Palmerston, both jump to the general election.

Democrats hold overwhelming voter registration advantages in those three districts.

Republican state Sen. Scott Hammond and Democratic challenger Alexander Marks also get a free pass to the general election ballot in GOP-leaning District 18.

Pete Goicoechea, a Eureka Republican whose sprawling District 19 includes a sliver of rural Clark County, skates in June to face Independent American candidate Janine Hansen in the fall. Other Senate challengers who will skip the primary are Carrie Buck, a Republican, in District 5; and Nicole Cannizzaro, a Democrat, in District 6.

In the Assembly, 16 Clark County Democratic candidates, including nine incumbents, face no primary opposition and will head straight to the general election.

They are: District 1, Daniele Monroe-Moreno; District 7, Dina Neal; District 8, Jason Frierson; District 9, Steve Yeager; District 12, James Ohrenschall; District 14, Maggie Carlton; District 16, Heidi Swank; District 17, Tyrone Thompson; District 23, Gary Jordahl; District 28, Edgar Flores; District 29, Lesley Cohen; District 35, Justin Watkins; District 37, Sean Lyttle; and District 42, Irene Bustamante Adams.

Two Democratic incumbents have no opposition at all and will need only one vote in November to declare victory — Nelson Araujo in District 3 and Olivia Diaz, District 11.

On the Republican side, nine candidates who automatically advance to the general election are: District 6, Marion Maffatt; District 7, Jennifer Fawzy; District 8, Norman Ross; District 10, Shelly Shelton; District 15, Stan Vaughan; District 17, Ronald Newsome; District 20, Carol Linton; District 28, Wesley Cornwell; and District 42, Howard Scheff.

Contact Sandra Chereb at schereb@reviewjournal.com or 775-461-3821. Find @SandraChereb on Twitter.

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.
7 ways autocomplete can get smarter

Autocomplete is one of the best (or depending on how hastily you push ‘send’ – worst) things in the world. We rely on it so much that Google plans to let us autocomplete whole emails. Here are seven ways predictive input can improve. 1. Recognizing names from previous emails Jakub Kokoszka has a tough name to […]

Movie posters might soon be based on your clicks

You may have thought you left Blockbuster behind, but the basic way we browse movies hasn’t changed all that much. We peruse poster after poster, kind of like walking the aisles of a ‘90s-era video store. That one poster image, meant to appeal to as many people as possible, is often all we see before […]

What I’ll be covering at NAB 2018

The National Association of Broadcasters show kicks off this weekend in Las Vegas.  The show focuses on new and emerging technologies and trends in relation to the media and entertainment industries. As it’s not open to the public, I’ll be at the Las Vegas Convention Center on Saturday, Monday and Wednesday to share some of […]

EXECUTIVE TRAVEL: Forget Strip flash; some prefer lake’s panache

If you get called to a board meeting at Lake Las Vegas, you might want to bring your swimsuit. That’s the term Westin at Lake Las Vegas marketing director Matt Boland uses for upright paddleboard races, one of many team-building exercises offered regularly at the resort.

After $4,700 in live poker career winnings, James Romero, 27, wins nearly $2 million

It was a 15-year celebration of The World Poker Tour at Bellagio for the Five Diamond World Poker Classic. The largest field size in WPT Five Diamond’s history was created when 791 entries were tallied, and it was James Romero, 27, of Portland, Oregon, who won his first WPT title.

Auto electronics at SEMA and AAPEX: A brave new world

The Specialty Equipment Market Association celebrated its 50th annual SEMA show at Las Vegas Convention Center this month by showcasing a car culture of “do-it-yourself” garage mechanics who share a passion for customizing vehicles.