45°F
weather icon Partly Cloudy

Local rule must be authorized by USGA

Q. I'm a WSNGA member and have a question on local rules as opposed to USGA rules. The course I play every week has a rule printed on the scorecard that says, "No one should hit a ball off the tree roots on the course and it is a free drop without penalty." Does that mean everyone must adhere to this rule if they are playing in league play under USGA rules. In other words, do we have to follow this course local rule instead of playing by USGA rules? -- Geri DeMarco

A. Geri, if you are playing by USGA rules you do not have to adhere to this rule on the back of the course scorecard. A rule of golf must not be waived by a local rule. However, if a committee considers that local abnormal conditions interfere with the proper playing of the game to the extent that it is necessary to make a local rule that modifies the Rules of Golf, the local rule must be authorized by the USGA. Decision 33-8/8 in the Decision on the Rules of Golf states: May a committee make a local rule providing relief without penalty if a player's stroke is interfered with by exposed tree roots? The answer is no. A local rule is authorized only if an abnormal condition exists. The existence of exposed tree roots is not abnormal.

Q. I play with a gentleman who, when marking his ball on the putting green, places the marker in front of the ball instead of behind it. Is this a penalty since he would be touching his line of putt when marking his ball? -- Steve Halverson

A. Such a procedure is not recommended but is not a breach of Rule 16-1a. However, if in the process the player does something to the putting green that might influence the movement of the ball when played (presses down a raised tuft of grass), he is in breach of Rule 1-2. The note to Rule 20-1 provides that "the position of a ball to be lifted should be marked by placing a ball-marker, a small coin or other similar object immediately behind the ball." This is a recommendation of the best practice to mark your ball, but there is no penalty for failing to act in accordance with this as long as the ball is replaced in its original position.

Q. Last week I played with two players who hit their tee shots into the same area of the desert. Both balls were found but because both were playing identical balls and neither had put an identification mark on his ball, they could not determine which ball was which. I said since neither of them could identify which ball was his, both balls were lost. Was I right? -- Ted Wright

A. Yes, you were right and this underlines the advisability of the player putting an identification mark on his ball. I bet you weren't a very popular person for the rest of the round.

Sue May is a U.S. Open rules official, a member of the USGA Senior Women's committee and tournament director of the Women's Trans National Championship. Address your rules questions to suemay@cox.net.

MOST READ
Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.
THE LATEST
MORE STORIES