Nevada’s daily-overtime requirement will change this summer, Nevada Labor Commissioner Michael Tanchek announced today.
As of July 1, more hourly workers will qualify for overtime pay based on an eight-hour work day rather than a 40-hour work week. The expanded daily rules will apply to people who receive health benefits from their employers and earn less than $9.83 per hour, and to people who don’t receive health benefits on the job and who make less than $11.33 an hour.
Nevada is one of just six states with a daily overtime requirement on top of a weekly mandate, Tanchek noted.
The daily-overtime requirement is tied to the state’s minimum wage. With the minimum wage set to rise in the summer, more employers will need to observe the daily-overtime law, Tanchek said.