Now, for some Webby winners …

Vinton Cerf, Roger Ebert, Amy Poehler and OK Go, a foursome of talent — united by the Internet, one of the forums they use to ply their trade — were tapped for top honors today, as the winners of the 14th annual Webby Awards were announced. (

Cerf, whom many people call the "father of the Internet," is co-designer of the basic platforms the Internet operates on. He’s now vice president and chief Internet evangelist for Google. The Webby Awards honored Cerf with a Lifetime Achievement Award. Frankly, I’m surprised he wasn’t one of the first recipients of this honor, given that he helped lay the building blocks used to transmit data across cyberspace.

Ebert, of the Chicago Sun-Times, was honored with a special achievement award for his contributions to the craft of online writing and journalism. The journalist is best known for his film criticism, has leveraged the power of the Internet to reach his fans in new ways. Ebert lost his ability to speak following surgery for cancer, but his voice continues to be heard online. Visit his site:

Poehler was named best actress by the Webby Awards for her performance in the Web series "Smart Girls at the Party" ( on the On Networks. The program features interviews with young girls in their "tweens," highlighting their accomplishments and efforts to improve their communities.

The musical group OK Go is a true product of the Internet and has harnessed the viral aspects of online video to increase its audience. The band probably caused many treadmill-related accidents with its Web hit, "Here It Goes Again," which has been viewed on more than 2.5 million times. Don’t miss the band’s latest video sensation, "This Too Shall Pass – Rube Goldberg Machine," viewed more than 12.3 million times. The group also received a special achievement award.

The Webby Awards gala is scheduled for June 14 in New York and will be hosted by B.J. Novak, co-executive producer and star of NBC’s comedy "The Office." Winners of the Webby Awards and People’s Voice Awards in more than 70 categories will be honored, and recipients will deliver acceptance speeches of five words or fewer. The Webby Awards celebrate Internet achievement and are given by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, a 550-member group of Web experts.

News Headlines
pos-2 — ads_infeed_1
post-4 — ads_infeed_2
Local Spotlight
Home Front Page Footer Listing
You May Like

You May Like