Marshall excels as Sunset MVP

Before Anthony Marshall ever took the court for Mojave High, Rattlers coach Tony Hopkins knew he was looking at a future star.

“We knew Anthony Marshall was going to be special then because it was written all over him,” Hopkins said. “His maturation has been exactly what we hoped it would be.

“Not only did Anthony not let anybody in the Mojave community down, he didn’t let himself down and he definitely didn’t let his coaches down. He was the one.”

Marshall’s performance this season stood out even in a Northwest League packed with stars. He averaged 25 points, six assists, five rebounds and three blocked shots. For his efforts, area coaches voted the UNLV signee the Sunset Region’s Most Valuable Player. Marshall also was the Northwest League MVP.

“He did whatever we needed him to do in the call of duty,” Hopkins said.

That role changed every year. Marshall started as a freshman alongside two eventual Division I recruits: Donte Poole (Murray State) and Darian Norris (Bradley).

Marshall took on a greater scoring role as a sophomore, though Poole and Norris still led the way. As a junior, with Poole gone, Marshall became the Rattlers’ go-to player, and this season he moved over to point guard to replace Norris.

“Wherever we needed him, he was there,” Hopkins said, and he’s confident Marshall will excel with the Rebels.

“The running and jumping, that aspect of basketball, he can do with the best of them,” Hopkins said. “But his mental approach is so much beyond his years, it’s amazing.”

Marshall was joined on the All-Sunset first team by Cheyenne’s Demetric Williams and Elijah Johnson, Bishop Gorman’s Johnathan Loyd, Durango’s Marcus Falley, Cimarron-Memorial’s Kevin Olekaibe and Palo Verde’s Moses Morgan.

In the Sunrise Region, Desert Pines point guard Pierre Jackson was the coaches’ choice as MVP. Jackson averaged 21 points and 7.5 assists for the Jaguars, who lost in the region semifinals.

Foothill’s Evan Roquemore, Eldorado’s Mitrell Clark, Liberty’s Kenneth Peters and Milos Knezevic, Las Vegas’ Tony Eackles and Silverado’s Wade Collie rounded out the All-Sunrise first team.

Jackson and Clark were voted co-MVPs of the Northeast League. Collie was the Southeast MVP, and Loyd was the Southwest honoree.

Palo Verde’s Jermone Riley (Northwest), Desert Oasis’ Ken Gibson (Southwest), Foothill’s Kevin Soares (Southeast) and Desert Pines’ Chancellor Davis (Northeast) were voted league coaches of the year.

Contact Prep Sports Editor Damon Seiters at or 702-380-4587.

News Headlines
Local Spotlight
Add Event
Home Front Page Footer Listing
You May Like

You May Like