Franchitti notches second Iowa win

NEWTON, Iowa — Dario Franchitti was disappointed that Saturday’s qualifying for the Iowa Corn Indy 250 was canceled. He thought a few late tweaks made to his No. 10 car had turned it into a “rocket ship.”

Franchitti settled instead for Sunday’s checkered flag — his second victory in two tries at Iowa Speedway.

Franchitti took the lead with 50 laps to go and cruised to victory in the Iowa Corn Indy 250. Franchitti beat Ryan Briscoe by about five seconds to grab his first victory since the Streets of Long Beach in April and move into second place in the IRL standings.

It was the 10th career IndyCar win for the Scot, who took the lead three laps after making his final pit stop on the seventh-eighths-mile oval.

“In the last stop, the changes were fantastic, and I was able to pull away — I had a good gap on (Briscoe),” Franchitti said. “I was able to get through traffic really well.”

Briscoe finished second for the third straight race despite leading for 85 laps. Hideki Mutoh took a season-best third after notching a career best of second in Iowa in 2008.

Dan Wheldon was fourth, and pole sitter Helio Castroneves was seventh.

Danica Patrick took her first lead of the season 38 laps in after Justin Wilson’s spinout brought out a yellow flag. Patrick led for 24 laps but wound up ninth.

FORMULA ONE — At Silverstone, England, Sebastian Vettel won the British Grand Prix, leading Red Bull to a 1-2 finish and claiming his second victory of the season.

The German beat teammate Mark Webber by 15.1 seconds at the Silverstone circuit to duplicate their finish at China in April.

Brawn GP’s Rubens Barrichello was third, but teammate and championship leader Jenson Button finished a season-low sixth in front of home fans.

LOCAL — At Las Vegas Motor Speedway’s Bullring, Dustin Ash and Jeff Connors each won 35-lap Super Late Models features Saturday night in the Chris Trickle Father’s Day Doubleheader.

The event marked the final races for 2003 Bullring track champion Chuck Trickle, 65, who formally announced his retirement. He finished ninth in both races.

Other winners in the NASCAR All-American Series: Matt Johnson (Chargers), Michael Lewis (USAC Focus Midgets), Dylan Kwasniewski (Legends), Nick Parmelee (Thunder Roadsters) and Dallas Simonette (Bombers).

News Headlines
Add Event
Home Front Page Footer Listing
You May Like

You May Like