UNLV blanked on All-Mountain West football team

For the first time in school history, no UNLV football players were voted to the first- or second- All-Mountain West Conference team.

The Rebels had at least one player make the first or second team every year since they began conference play in 1982 in the Big West.

Junior defensive back Will Chandler and senior offensive lineman Matt Murphy received honorable mention in the league balloting announced Tuesday.

MWC champion and third-ranked Texas Christian (12-0) dominated the honors with nine players on the first team and five on second team. Senior quarterback Andy Dalton was chosen Offensive Player of the Year, junior linebacker Tank Carder was Defensive Player of the Year, and senior return specialist Jeremy Kerley was Special Teams Player of the Year.

San Diego State (8-4) won the two other major awards. Running back Ronnie Hillman was Freshman of the Year, and Brady Hoke was Coach of the Year.

UNLV (2-10) ends its season at No. 25 Hawaii (9-3) at 7:30 p.m. PST Saturday.

Contact reporter Mark Anderson at manderson@reviewjournal.com or 702-387-2914.

News Headlines
Local Spotlight
Add Event
Home Front Page Footer Listing
You May Like

You May Like