Councilwomen hold onto seats in primary race

The results of the April 5 Henderson municipal primary elections are in.

Incumbent councilwomen Gerri Schroder, Ward 1, and Debra March, Ward 2, were victorious.

Schroder, who received 54.18 percent of the votes, ran against four other candidates in Ward 1 — Thomas Wagner, who received 32.02 percent; Ed Hamilton, who received 5.91 percent; Ray Mollinado, who received 4.61 percent; and Samuel Cohoon, who received 3.29 percent.

March, receiving 54.10 percent of the votes, ran against two other candidates — John Simmons, who received 32.02 percent, and Kevinn Donovan, who received 13.17 percent.

Advancing to the June 7 elections in Ward 4 are Sam Bateman, who received 30.49 percent of the votes, and Mike Mayberry, who received 26.97 percent.

The four Ward 4 candidates who will not be advancing are John Brislin, who received 15.91 percent of the vote, Joseph Simmons, who received 12.19 percent; Ron Hubel, who received 11.89 percent; and Bobby Rastifard, who received 2.55 percent.

The elections also secured the seat of Municipal Court Department 3 Judge Diana Hampton, who received 71.34 percent of the votes. Hampton ran against William Waters, who received 28.66 percent of the votes.

According to the city clerk’s office, 15,263 people voted in the elections.

Contact Henderson and Anthem View reporter Michael Lyle at or 387-5201.

News Headlines
Local Spotlight
Add Event
Home Front Page Footer Listing
You May Like

You May Like