NCA announces award winners in ceremony

The Nevada Contractors Association, a nonprofit industry trade group, recently named the winners of its 11th annual Contractor of the Year Awards.

Las Vegas Paving Corp. was named 2010 Contractor of the Year for completing the state’s first design-build road job — a $242 million widening of Interstate 15, six months ahead of schedule.

Aggregate Industries won the Heavy Highway/Civil Project of the Year for $67 million McCarran Interstate 515/Galleria Drive interchange, and M.J. Dean Construction received Building Project of the Year honors for a $760 million expansion of the Hard Rock Hotel.

Other award winners include: Wells Cargo Construction, Subcontractor of the Year; ECCO Equipment Corp., Associate of the Year; APCO Equipment, Supplier of the Year; Sletten Construction, Safest Contractor of the Year; and Rick Ewing, Las Vegas Paving Corp., Recruiter of the Year.

"We’re proud to celebrate the outstanding achievements of this year’s award recipients," said outgoing NCA Chairman Mike Olson of Olson Precast Co. "These are the industry’s highest and most coveted honors, recognizing innovation, leadership, and excellence in construction."

An awards ceremony took place Nov. 30 at the Rio All-Suite Resort Casino, Convention Center, attracting more than 350 industry leaders, business professionals and elected officials. TV personality Nathan Tannenbaum served as master of ceremonies, with Brookings Mountain West co-director Dr. Robert Lang as keynote speaker.


Contractors Association names 2011 board of directors

The Nevada Contractors Association, a nonprofit trade group, recently named Sean Stewart of Aggregate Industries as 2011 chairman. Brent Conrad of Werdco B.C. is vice chairman and Travis Burton of Perini Building Co. is secretary/treasurer.

Other 2011 board members include: Mike Olson, Olson Precast Co.; Mike Dean, M. J. Dean Construction; Kris Sundell, Stewart & Sundell Concrete; Guy Wells, Wells Cargo; Howdy Wells, Wells Cargo; Berlyn Miller, Berlyn Miller & Associates; Pat Miyahira, Maui One Excavating; Paul Bunker, Aztech Inspection Services; Jack Schaefer, Schaefer & Associates; and Pat Ward, Southern Nevada Paving.


continued from page þe

Sun City Aliante community gets association designation

The Community Associations Institute of Nevada, a trade organization representing homeowners associations statewide, has announced that all seven board members of the Sun City Aliante Community Association have earned their Dedicated Community Association Leader designation. The board members are Judith Hanson, Jerry Overton, Mark Pallans, Don Schaefer, Mark Smith, Rita Worrell and Owen Egge.

To earn and maintain DCAL designation, members must complete a battery of courses that address managing homeowners associations.

The Nevada chapter of CAI serves the educational, business and networking needs of volunteer leaders and professionals throughout the Las Vegas and Reno areas. With more than 850 members including nearly 150 business partners, more than 300 professional managers and more than 400 community association volunteers, the chapter is one of the largest and most active of the 60 chapters in the nation. Visit for more information.

News Headlines
Local Spotlight
Home Front Page Footer Listing
You May Like

You May Like