Rulffes fails to win top superintendent honor

Clark County School District Superintendent Walt Rulffes, one of four finalists for the 2010 National Superintendent of the Year, lost the honor Thursday to Superintendent Elizabeth Molina Morgan of Washington County, Md., according to an announcement by the American Association of School Administrators.

"We are still proud of him," Clark County School Board member Carolyn Edwards said.

She led the Thursday School Board meeting while Rulffes and School Board President Terri Janison were in Phoenix for the announcement, which was made during the National Conference on Education.