59°F
weather icon Mostly Cloudy

Walker Furniture CEO has giveaway on his Christmas to-do list

Updated December 2, 2019 - 7:26 pm

Vegas Voices is a weekly series featuring notable Las Vegans.

Larry Alterwitz doesn’t wear the red outfit, and he’s way too fit to fill it out properly even if he did. But every year around this time, Alterwitz gives Santa Claus a serious run for his money.

Alterwitz is the guy behind Walker Furniture’s Home for the Holidays, which provides housefuls of furniture to in-need Southern Nevada families. This year marks the program’s 26th year, and Alterwitz expects to deliver furnishings to 35 area families.

The program is a product of the lessons Alterwitz, Walker Furniture’s CEO, learned from his parents, and it reflects both a love of his business and a commitment to the community where he has spent most of his life.

Alterwitz, 66, was born in Gary, Indiana, where home furnishings were his family’s business. His grandparents owned a mattress and upholstery factory in Gary during the ’50s, “and my father decided in the ’60s that he wanted to (have) a retail furniture store, so he opened up United Factory Furniture,” Alterwitz says.

Alterwitz worked in the store as a kid, then worked in the warehouse when he got older. “We believed in working hard and doing the best we can,” he says. “My dad always used to tell me, ‘Never work for money. Work to do the very best you can, and somehow you’ll always be successful.’ ”

The family moved to Las Vegas in 1973 and Alterwitz’s parents purchased Walker Furniture from original owners George and Ruth Walker. Alterwitz wasn’t sure about entering the family business.

“When we moved out here I was 19 or 20 and I was going to go back to Chicago,” he says. “But I said to my father, ‘Give me some tips on being a salesman.’ ”

“I wasn’t the greatest salesman because I was young and I didn’t know anything about it,” Alterwitz says. But he decided that he liked the furniture business, and after his father died in 1990, Alterwitz became Walker Furniture’s CEO.

Home for the Holidays was created in 1994. “I wanted to find a way to give back to the community,” Alterwitz says.

He remembers how his father, in newspaper ads for the store, would “single out a person that had done something to make the community better. That really stuck with me. With that in mind, we decided, what we can do to better help the community … is help people in need with a household of furniture.”

Each year, Alterwitz invites Southern Nevadans to write him and suggest families that could benefit from the program. Helping Hands of Vegas Valley reads and verifies the letters, and recipients are chosen by community leaders. This year’s deliveries are scheduled to begin Dec. 13.

Alterwitz says recipients face circumstances such as medical issues, losses from fires, domestic violence and sexual abuse, while others are single parents struggling to get by.

“We started with 12 households of furniture and we’re up to 35 now,” he says. “It’s a massive undertaking, but it really helps because we’re delivering furniture to people who many times are sleeping on the floor or eating on the floor, that have nothing.”

Review-Journal: What did you think of Las Vegas when you arrived here?

Larry Alterwitz: Being from Indiana, and right on Lake Michigan, it had a lot of trees and forests and things. But I was fascinated by mountains, and I’d never seen a mountain before.

When your parents bought Walker Furniture, why didn’t they change the name?

When my father and mother came out to Las Vegas … George Walker and his wife, Ruth, had Walker Furniture. They started it and it had been around 20 years prior to that, so that means the ’50s. … It was an established business, and he kept the name. I said to him, “Why don’t you change it to Alterwitz Furniture?” He said, “Let’s keep it Walker’s.”

How was working in the family business?

Any time you work in a family business, the benefit is it’s family and you have people who will be with you and love you and support you, and that’s invaluable. But, obviously, like in any family, you have to know how to negotiate your way and make sure everybody has their voice and feels good about what they are doing.

And you liked the furniture business?

I got to like furniture very quickly. And I’ve always wanted to be the best or as good as we can be, and our desire was to offer the largest selection, because I knew how important that was. People want what they want. And I wanted to have great displays that look beautiful so people feel good about what they’re seeing. I knew the importance of having competitive prices because nobody wants to feel like they spent too much … And obviously great customer service. We try so hard on that.

We often don’t think about the psychological effect furniture has in our lives — such as the comfort of sprawling out on a sofa after work or crawling into a warm bed.

If you know somebody was buying something that was of quality, was going to last, was going to look beautiful and … give a lot of comfort, there’s a great sense of satisfaction. Not only are you making a living but you’re making somebody’s life.

It sounds like the business still appeals to you.

I’m glad I have such talented people around me who know how to do design and decoration. Any business, it takes a village. You can’t do it all. I’m surrounded by some really good people.

By now, you probably have customers who have been coming to your store for generations.

There’s nothing better than when somebody comes in and says, “I still have that sofa from 15 years ago” or “I have that bedroom set or that dining room set I bought 30 years ago.” That’s actually very common.

Contact reporter John Przybys at jprzybys @reviewjournal.com or 702-383-0280. Follow @JJPrzybys on Twitter.

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.
Business Videos
Opening ceremony of the first Chick-fil-A restaurant inside a casino
Opening ceremony of the first Chick-fil-A restaurant inside a casino at the Golden Nugget on Monday, Dec. 2, 2019. (Bizuayehu Tesfaye/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @bizutesfaye
Fire damages 7 cars at Las Vegas airport parking garage - VIDEO
Firefighters on Saturday morning extinguished a car blaze that damaged six other vehicles in a parking garage at McCarran International Airport. (James Schaeffer / Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Vegas Changes Everything: Grandma - LVCVA ad
"Grandma" is a new television spot from the Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority prepared to entice visitors to come during the Thanksgiving and Christmas holidays. (Visit Las Vegas/YouTube)
Vegas Changes Everything: Chaos - LVCVA ad
"Chaos" is a new television spot from the Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority prepared to entice visitors to come during the Thanksgiving and Christmas holidays. (Visit Las Vegas/YouTube)
New allegations involved Steve, Elaine Wynn - VIDEO
The new allegations were presented Friday in a motion that included a 2018 affidavit, alleging former hairstylist Jorgen Nielsen tried to convince a friend to say Steve Wynn raped her and that she bore his son. The affidavit also included new allegations suggesting Elaine Wynn and Nielson orchestrated the assault scandal. (Renee Summerour/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Fitness chain Life Time acquires former Sullivan Square site
Fitness chain Life Time has acquired the former Sullivan Square site in Las Vegas for $14 million. The southwest valley property, across the street from Ikea, is little more than a giant hole in the ground. (Bizuayehu Tesfaye/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @bizutesfaye
Fashion Outlets of Las Vegas in Primm outlet mall changing its name - VIDEO
Chad Dillow, co-owner of Step Right Up, is building his attraction at Prizm Outlets, which recently changed it name from Fashion Outlets of Las Vegas, in Primm. It will include 3D trick art, ax throwing, escape rooms and carnival-themed games. (K.M. Cannon/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @KMCannonPhoto
O.J. Simpson files lawsuit against The Cosmopolitan over TMZ story - VIDEO
A lawsuit filed Thursday alleges that The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas defamed O.J. Simpson when hotel employees told TMZ he was kicked out of the casino “for belligerence” in November 2017. (James Schaeffer / Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Phil Maloof on selling his Palms Place penthouse.
Phil Maloof sold his 59th-floor penthouse at Palms Place. (Eli Segall/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Bleutech announces Las Vegas land purchase deal
Bleutech Park Properties reached a purchase agreement for 210 acres at Las Vegas Boulevard and Cactus Avenue, project spokesman Tom Letizia announced Tuesday, Nov. 5, 2019 at a news conference at the M Resort. (Elizabeth Brumley/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Stolen Dodge Challenger found, suspect arrested - VIDEO
A $250,000 custom-built Dodge Challenger was stolen on Oct. 30, 2019, just before it was to be displayed at the Specialty Equipment Market Association trade show in Las Vegas this week. The thief was found by an Nevada Highway Patrol trooper, who rammed the trooper's car with the Challenger and got away. The suspect was ultimately arrested and the car recovered. (Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Terbine's, a tech firm, decision to relocate business from Bay Area to Las Vegas
Terbine's, a tech firm, decision to relocate business from Bay Area to Las Vegas. (Bizuayehu Tesfaye/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @bizutesfaye
A walk through the historic Huntridge Theater in Las Vegas - VIDEO
The Huntridge Theater became a musical venue in 1992 and was a staging ground for groups on the rise and alternative superstars, from Smashing Pumpkins to Sarah McLachlan, the Deftones, Nine Inch Nails, Green Day and Fugazi. The venue has been closed since 2004. This video, taken on Oct. 31, 2019, shows what's left of the theater after 15 years. (David Guzman/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
MGM Resorts International looking to sell another property
MGM Resorts International is working to sell its MGM Grand property on the Las Vegas Strip. (Renee Summerour/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Developer Sam Cherry reveals plans for shareDOWNTOWN.
Mayor Carolyn Goodman and Councilwoman Olivia Diaz will attend this event where plans are revealed for a future apartment complex in the Arts District. (Shea Johnson/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Las Vegas Convention Center expansion update - VIDEO
Take a drive outside of the new Las Vegas Convention Center expansion project. (Severiano Galvan/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Binion's debuts a spinning bar overlooking Fremont Street Experience - VIDEO
Binion's debuted its spinning bar inside the Whiskey Licker Up Saloon. The Rotating bar only goes at one full rotation per 15 minutes overlooking the Fremont Street Experience. (James Schaeffer/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Day 3 of the 2019 Global Gaming Expo
Day 3 of the 2019 Global Gaming Expo took place at the Sands Expo and Convention Center in Las Vegas Wednesday, Oct. 16, 2019. (K.M. Cannon/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @KMCannonPhoto
Southern Nevada could set a new resale-price record in coming months.
The median sales price of previously owned single-family homes – the bulk of the market – was $310,000 in September. Before the economy crashed last decade, prices peaked in June 2006 at $315,000, according to the Greater Las Vegas Association of Realtors.(Bizuayehu Tesfaye/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @bizutesfaye
Walmart container park in Henderson - VIDEO
Henderson could be home to a container park associated with a Walmart Inc. initiative. (Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Resorts World construction update - Video
Resorts World Las Vegas continues its construction on the Las Vegas Strip. Review-Journal studio host Aaron Drawhorn and business reporter Rick Velotta go over the newest updates in the construction. (Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Recession lessons could help Las Vegas face next slump - VIDEO
While the last economic downturn had a dramatic impact on local casinos, most experts expect the industry will be better able to weather the storm during the next recession. (Mat Luschek / Las Vegas Review-Journal)
St. Rose Parkway Construction - Video
St. Rose Parkway continues to have construction along the six-and-a-half mile road. Review-Journal studio host Aaron Drawhorn and business reporter Eli Segall go over the construction projects that are coming to Henderson.
MGM and victims of Oct. 1 reach settlement agreement - VIDEO
MGM Resorts International and lawyers representing potentially thousands of victims of the Oct. 1, 2017, mass shooting on the Las Vegas Strip have reached a tentative settlement of between $735 million and $800 million. (Mat Luschek /Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Live music and EDM dominate the night on day 2 of A’Le’Innstock
After sunset bands rocked the crowds at A’Le’Innstock in Rachel, Nevada on the second night of the event.
iPhone 11 Release
Local Las Vegas long time Apple product consumer shares her excitement for the new iPhone 11 release Downtown Summerlin. (Elizabeth Page Brumley/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Lihi Levin talks about a mobil app Dropit - VIDEO
Lihi Levin, regional manager at Dropit Shopping, talks about a mobil app Dropit. The app lets customers leave their shopping bags at a store then have them delivered the same day to their home or hotel so they can shop without carrying multiple bags all day. (Bizuayehu Tesfaye Las Vegas Review-Journal) @bizutesfaye
North Las Vegas company prepares for Mars - VIDEO
Robert Bigelow and his Bigelow Aerospace manufacturing facility played host to eight NASA astronauts and 60 engineers this week getting to know the company’s B330 autonomous, expandable space station. (Elizabeth Brumley/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
THE LATEST
Trump gets win as Dems, White House forge new North American trade deal

House Democrats and the White House announced a deal on a modified North American trade pact, handing President Donald Trump a major Capitol Hill win Tuesday on the same day that impeachment charges were announced against him. Both sides hailed the deal as a win for American workers.