Dining Guide: Asian

Each week Neon spotlights a different cuisine in the Dining Guide, with Asian restaurants this week. Restaurants are rated on a letter-grade scale, from A to F. Opinions by R-J critic Heidi Knapp Rinella (H.K.R.) are indicated by initials. Price symbols are based on the cost of an average entree: $ = entrees between $10 and $20; $$ = entrees between $10 and $20; $$$ = entrees between $20 and $30; and $$$$ = entrees more than $30.

ARCHI’S THAI KITCHEN,
BISTRO AND CAFE

6360 W. Flamingo Road; 880-5550, and 6345 S. Rainbow Blvd. and 9350 W. Sahara Ave.

Signature dishes: Pad Thai, curries

BASIL ‘N LIME

3665 S. Fort Apache Road; 255-2581

The thing we liked most about Basil ‘n Lime was that the meats clearly were cooked along with dishes such as Tom Kha Gai, instead of being prepared separately and thrown in after the order is made. Such care also showed in the lively decor in shades of green with dark-brown furniture, and in such other dishes as Pad Thai, lemongrass prawns, sticky rice with coconut ice cream and a refreshing Thai iced tea. (4/30/10 H.K.R.)

Overall: A

$

BENIHANA

Las Vegas Hilton, 3000 Paradise Road; 732-5755

Signature dishes: teppanyaki-style beef, shrimp, etc.

CATHAY HOUSE

5300 Spring Mountain Road; 876-3838, and at the Palms, 4321 W. Flamingo Road

Signature dishes: dim sum, barbecued pork

CHINA MAMA

3420 S. Jones Blvd.; 873-1977

Four words of advice if you go to China MaMa: steamed juicy pork buns. These plump, dumplinglike babies are real — and they’re spectacular. Also worthy of note: the creamy chicken corn soup, green-onion pancake and beef roll. The place isn’t big on atmosphere — it is, after all, a former bank, and you can pretty much make out all of the features except for the vault — but the food and prices are tough to beat. (11/6/09 H.K.R.)

Overall: A

$

GALANGA THAI EATERY

505 E. Windmill Lane; 270-2493

The fact that the Thai iced tea was served in a mix-it-yourself format immediately impressed us with Galanga Thai Eatery’s attention to detail, and the sauce selection with the appetizer plate just reinforced it. We also loved the eggplant basil and sticky rice with vanilla ice cream and liked the Pad Thai with pork. (3/18/11 H.K.R.)

Overall: A-

$

HUE THAI

5115 Spring Mountain Road; 221-4841

It’s all about the bread at Hue Thai — at least as far as the banh mi are concerned, because the crisp-crusted baguettes really show off the meats and vegetables in these Saigon Sub sandwiches. The house special is a winner (although we like the charbroiled pork as well), as is the full-bodied build-your-own pho and the curry chicken/French roll combo. (12/17/10 H.K.R.)

Overall: B+

$

I LOVE SUSHI

11041 S. Eastern Ave.; 990-4055

I Love Sushi is a “fusion” sushi restaurant, of the genre that are refining and redefining the art to be more in keeping with American tastes. To that end, there’s a heavy reliance on tuna and salmon, but we’re not complaining. We liked the Joe’s Special, Sex on the Beach, the I Love Sushi Special, the Lisa Hand Roll and the Tornado. And a vanilla mochi for dessert. And there’s teriyaki, teppanyaki and yakisoba, in case sushi’s not your thing. (7/21/11 H.K.R.)

Overall: A

$$

JOYFUL HOUSE

4601 Spring Mountain Road; 889-8881

Signature dishes: braised shark fin, abalone

KOBE SUSHI BISTRO

6375 S. Rainbow Blvd.; 898-9998

Signature dishes: Monkey Special, Omelet Roll

KUNG FU PLAZA

3505 S. Valley View Blvd.; 247-4120

Kung Fu Plaza may have a clientele that’s not quite as ethnically Asian as some of the other spots in and around China Town Plaza, but we figure that’s because it’s been open since 1973 and has built up a locals following in that time. At any rate, we liked it for a spirited Tom Kha Chicken and crunchy beef Pad Thai, plus personable service. (11/5/10 H.K.R.)

Overall: B

$

LEMONGRASS CAFE

8820 S. Eastern Ave.; 463-1300

If your scope of Vietnamese food is limited to banh mi and pho you can stretch your horizons at Lemongrass Cafe, which has a broad menu and does it well. We liked the Bun Cha Gio (vermicelli with fried egg rolls), Bi Cha Bo Nuong (lemongrass beef), Banh Mi Bo Koh (Vietnamese-style beef stew) and starters of Goi Cuon (spring rolls) and Banh Xeo (Vietnamese crepe). (9/10/10 H.K.R.)

Overall: B+

$

MARSSA

Loew’s Lake Las Vegas, 101 Montelago Blvd., Henderson; 567-6125

Signature dishes: agedashi tofu, opakapaka lau lau

NAKED FISH’S SUSHI & GRILL

3945 S. Durango Drive; 228-8856

Signature dishes: For Sizzle My Nizzle, lobster tempura salad

NITTAYA’S SECRET KITCHEN

2110 N . Rampart Blvd.; 360-8885

We were off to a good start with the house fruit-infused water (red apple, kiwi, orange and lemon on the evening of our visit), and we liked everything that was to follow, which was the World Famous Spinach Salad, pork and vegetable egg rolls, cilantro steak skewers, grilled mango shrimp, shrimp satay, beef jerky and fried bananas. (1/21/11 H.K.R.)

Overall: A-

$$

NOBU

Hard Rock Hotel, 4455 Paradise Road; 693-5000

Signature dishes: black cod with miso, dessert bento box

ORCHIDS GARDEN

5485 W. Sahara Ave.; 631-3839

Signature dishes: dim sup, chicken-and-sweet-corn soup

OYSHI SUSHI

7775 S. Rainbow Blvd.; 646-9744

We realized too late that Oyshi Sushi’s all-you-can-eat deal is a pretty good one but no matter; we’ll keep that in mind for next time. On this first go-round we liked the grilled beef asparagus, Simply Shrimp roll with shrimp cooked in two styles, Red Rock roll with spicy tuna and fresh tuna and a rib-eye steak teriyaki dinner that turned out to be the rare bargain that actually is one. (12/4/09 H.K.R.)

Overall: A-

$$

PIN KAOW

1972 N. Rainbow Blvd.; 638-2746, and 7835 S. Rainbow Blvd. and 9530 S. Eastern Ave.

We did Pin Kaow at lunch, when $6.95 would get you a special that included soup (an offbeat but tasty cucumber on the day of our visit), egg rolls and wontons, plus entree. We had a Thai beef salad and a pork curry and both were delightful — though no more so than the decor, in which the prodigious use of wood and flowers has helped the restaurant transcend its strip-center location. (11/13/09 H.K.R.)

Overall: B

$

PING PANG PONG

Gold Coast, 4000 W. Flamingo Road; 367-7111

Signature dishes: dim sum, tea-smoked duck

PING PONG

2955 E. Sunset Road; 228-9988

We thought the food at Ping Pong was pretty spicy, on the 1-to-10 or mild-to-hot Thai-restaurant continuum, but we (at least the less timid of us) thought it was pretty special, too. That included Pad Thai that was so moist as to be almost creamy (which is a good thing), kickin’ Tom Ka Gai, grilled chicken curry, beef jerky and a dessert of sticky rice with coconut ice cream. (6/18/10 H.K.R.)

Overall: A-

$

RAKU

5030 W. Spring Mountain Road; 367-3511

Signature dishes: agedashi tofu, brown-sugar bubbly pudding

SAM WOO BAR-B-Q

China Town Plaza, 4215 Spring Mountain Road; 368-7628 or 368-7638

Signature dishes: char siu (Chinese barbecued pork), roast duck

SHABU-SHABU PARADISE

1716 W. Horizon Ridge Parkway, Henderson; 385-4567

We couldn’t figure out why Shabu-Shabu Paradise wasn’t packed on the evening of our visit, aside from the confusion that may stem from its “Japanese fondue” subtext. That’s accurate, but only to a point; shabu-shabu is generally lighter than fondue, and more healthful. It’s done flawlessly at Shabu-Shabu Paradise, where we enjoyed the half-shrimp and half-scallop and half-beef and half-chicken shabu-shabu combos. (8/31/10 H.K.R.)

Overall: A

$$

SHIBUYA

MGM Grand, 3799 Las Vegas Blvd. South; 891-3001

Signature dishes: kampachi sushi with yuzu juice and black truffle oil, braised Kobe short rib and foie gras

SPICY TUNA SUSHI

10345 S. Eastern Ave; 722-2424

Like other fusion sushi places in the area Spicy Tuna offers numerous creative rolls and other sushi; unlike the others, it wasn’t crowded on the evening of our visit. And we thoroughly enjoyed most of our choices, such as the garlic-butter edamame, bacon maki, SJW Special, Monkey Special, Screaming Orgasm and Dr. George Special, though we found the spicy tuna roll surprisingly ordinary. (1/22/10 H.K.R.)

Overall: A-

$$

SUSHI TWISTER

5666 Boulder Highway; 433-8892

A Boulder Highway strip center across from a weekly-rental hotel may seem an unexpected spot for a fusion-sushi joint, but Sushi Twister’s there and it’s thriving. We’d say that’s on the strength of creative, well-executed rolls like the Sushi Twister, Crispy Vacation, Cowgirl and Magic Mountain, plus a broad selection of nigiri sushi and more. (7/1/11 H.K.R.)

Overall: B+

$$

SUSHIWA

790 Coronado Center Drive, Henderson; 263-5785

Signature dishes: Henderson Roll, Korean Barbecue Roll

TA TA ASIAN BISTRO

1450 W. Horizon Ridge Parkway, Henderson; 565-8900

Signature dishes: Monkey Special Roll, Paradise Roll

TAO ASIAN BISTRO

The Venetian, 3377 Las Vegas Blvd. South; 388-8338

Signature dishes: roasted shishito peppers with yuzu, white tuna sashimi

ad-high_impact_4
Entertainment
Artist Joshua Vides created a "White Wedding" chapel for Billy Idol's Las Vegas residency
Artist Joshua Vides created a "White Wedding" chapel for Billy Idol's Vegas residency (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Try the Burning History cocktail at Zuma In Las Vegas
Try the Burning History cocktail at Zuma In Las Vegas (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
CES final night showcases Drake at XS Nightclub
Drake performed for CES attendees and club-goers at XS Nightclub in Encore at Wynn Las Vegas in the early morning hours of Friday, Jan. 11, 2019. (John Katsilometes Las Vegas Review-Journal)
CES Happy Hour party at Hangover Suite at Caesars Palace
Conventioneers mingled during the Hardware Massive CES 2019 Happy Hour Bash at The Hangover Suite at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas. (K.M. Cannon/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @KMCannonPhoto
CES 2019 Has A Cordless Hair Dryer
CES Has A Cordless Hair Dryer (Janna Karel/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
CES Opening Party in Omnia Nightclub at Caesars Palace
CES conventioneers packed Omnia Nightclub at Caesars Palace, and let loose as they danced to DJs into the night. (K.M. Cannon/Las Vegas Review-Journal) @KMCannonPhoto
Print intricate designs, your pet or your face on your nails
Print intricate designs, your pet or your face on your nails (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
CES 2019: Panel talks Impossible Burger 2.0
Panel talks Impossible Burger at CES during launch at Border Grill on Monday, Jan. 7. (Ben Hager/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Momofuku Makes A Cocktail With Bok Choy And Beets
Momofuku Makes A Cocktail With Bok Choy And Beets (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
The Dream of AJ Montgomery
AJ Montgomery lost part of his leg in a vehicle accident but found his dream as a performer in “Le Reve.” (John Przybys/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Kelly Clinton-Holmes of the Stirling Club
John Katsilometes chats with Kelly Clinton-Holmes, director of the Stirling Club's New Year's Eve entertainment.
Month-by-month entertainment coming in 2019
“True Detective” Season 3, HBO (Jan. 13) Travis Scott, T-Mobile Arena (Feb. 6) Robbie Williams, Encore Theatre at Wynn Las Vegas (March 6, 8, 9, 13, 15 and 16) “Game of Thrones” Season 8, HBO (April) Electric Daisy Carnival, Las Vegas Motor Speedway (May 17-19) “Fiddler on the Roof,” The Smith Center (June 4-9) “The Lion King” (July 19) Psycho Las Vegas, Mandalay Bay (Aug. 16-18) Life is Beautiful, downtown Las Vegas (Sept. 20-22) “Tim Burton @ the Neon Museum” (Oct. 15) “Frozen 2” (Nov. 22) “Star Wars: Episode IX” (Dec. 20)
Lacey Huszcza invites you to find something to love at the Las Vegas Philharmonic
Lacey Huszcza, executive director of the Las Vegas Philharmonic talks about the orchestra's wealth of programming. (Janna Karel/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Gina Marinelli offers La Strega preview
Gina Marinelli used a pop-up New Year’s Eve dinner at Starboard Tack to preview items she’ll feature at her new Summerlin restaurant, La Strega. (Al Mancini/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
New Year’s Eve at Sparrow + Wolf
Sparrow + Wolf’s New Year’s Eve party was a sort of official unveiling of its newly renovated space. (Al Mancini/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Las Vegas NYE Fireworks - VIDEO
The full show: A spectacular view from the rooftop of the Trump International Hotel as 80,000 pyrotechnics illuminated the Las Vegas Strip at the stroke of midnight. Fireworks by Grucci choreographed launches from the Stratosphere, the Venetian, Treasure Island, Caesars Palace, Planet Hollywood, Aria and MGM Grand.
Debra Kelleher Of The Stirling Club
Debra Kelleher, DK Hospitality President talks with Johnny Kats about the reopening of the Stirling Club.
Richard Ditton Of The Stirling Club
Richard Ditton, an investment partner of the Stirling Club talks with Johnny Kats about the reopening of the club.
NYE at the Stirling Club
John Katsilometes reports from the reopening of the Stirling Club on New Year's Eve 2018.
Michael Stapleton of the Stirling Club
Michael Stapleton, COO of the Stirling Club talks with Johnny Kats about the reopening of the club.
Recap the Countdown on Fremont Street — VIDEO
Nearly 40,000 people packed Fremont Street to enjoy America's Party Downtown. As the tradition stands, Las Vegas Mayor Carolyn Goodman counted down the clock on the 3rd Street Stage, alongside her husband and former mayor, Oscar Goodman.
New Year's Eve live from the Las Vegas Strip Bellagio Fountains - Video
Reporter Aaron Drawhorn near the Bellagio Fountains as hundreds of thousands gather to celebrate New Year's Eve in Las Vegas
Ryan Reaves describes the flavors in Training Day beer
Ryan Reaves talks about the flavor of Training Day, the new beer from 7Five Brewing that was launched at the PKWY Tavern on West Flamingo Road. (Al Mancini/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Ryan Reaves describes his new beer
Golden Knights winger Ryan Reaves talks about his new beer from 7Five Brewing at a launch party at PKWY Tavern on West Flamingo Road. (Al Mancini/Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Vegas' five biggest NYE concerts
Imagine Dragons at The Chelsea at The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas, Lady Gaga at The Park Theater at Park MGM, Maroon 5 at the Mandalay Bay Events Center, Bruno Mars at T-Mobile Arena, and Tenacious D at The Joint at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino.
Celebrate New Years Day, Hangover Day and Bloody Mary Day at Cabo Wabo
Celebrate New Years Day, Hangover Day and Bloody Mary Day at Cabo Wabo (Janna Karel Las Vegas Review-Journal)
Michael Symon, chef and owner of Mabel's BBQ, talks about his first Las Vegas restaurant
Michael Symon, chef and owner of Mabel's BBQ, talks about his first Las Vegas restaurant. Bizuayehu Tesfaye @bizutesfaye
New American Eagle flagship on the Las Vegas Strip lets you customize your clothing
American Eagle flagship on the Las Vegas Strip lets you customize your clothing
Bellagio Conservatory display is Majestic Holiday Magic
Majestic Holiday Magic at the Bellagio Conservatory
Las Vegas Ready for 2019 NYE Fireworks Show
The city of Las Vegas is ready to celebrate "America's Party" with a new and improved fireworks show that will pay tribute to the Golden Knights.
TOP NEWS
News Headlines
Home Front Page Footer Listing
Circular
You May Like

You May Like